Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Leonard Bocour Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Bocour, Leonard, 1910-1993.
Title: Leonard Bocour Papers
Dates: 1953-1964
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Biographical material, incoming and outgoing correspondence, and paint orders. Incoming letters of Walter Burt Adams, David Aronson, Aaron Bohrod, Warren Brandt, Alexander Brook, Lawrence Calcagno, Bernard Chaet, David C. Driskell, Herman Maril, Gregorio Prestopino, Walter Quirt, and others.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

American art collector, businessman, founder of Bocour Artist Colors Incorporated.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Spanning 1953 to 1964, the Leonard Bocour Papers consists of biographical material and correspondence of the paint manufacturer, lecturer, art collector, artist, and founder of Bocour Artist Colors Incorporated (b. 1910). Comprised of incoming letters, outgoing typescript carbons, and paint orders, the Correspondence-Subject Files documents Bocour's personal and professional relationships with various art organizations and artists (Walter Burt Adams, David Aronson, George Biddle, Aaron Bohrod, Warren Brandt, Alexander Brook, Lawrence Calcagno, Bernard Chaet, David C. Driskell, Jo Hopper, Walter Kamys, Rockwell Kent, Herman Maril, Edward Millman, Gregorio Prestopino, Walter Quirt, and others).

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Collection is arranged alphabetically by correpondent's last name.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Adams, Walter Burt.
Aronson, David, 1923-2015.
Bocour, Leonard, 1910-1993.
Bohrod, Aaron.
Brandt, Warren, 1918-2002.
Brook, Alexander, 1898-1980.
Calcagno, Lawrence, 1913-1993.
Chaet, Bernard.
Driskell, David C.
Maril, Herman.
Prestopino, Gregorio.
Quirt, Walter, 1902-1968.

Corporate Bodies

Bocour Artist Colors Incorporated.

Subjects

Art -- Collectors and collecting
Artists.
Paint industry and trade -- United States.
Paint.

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Leonard Bocour Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: ASE
Date: Jun 1994
Revision history: 27 May 2005 - EAD file created (MRR)

Return to top

Inventory

Biographical Material
Box 1 Biographical material on Leonard Bocour
Correspondence-subject files
Box 1 A (1 folder)
Box 1 Adams, Walter Burt 1958
Box 1 Aronson, David 1958, 1963
Box 1 B (1 folder)
Box 1 Beerbohm, Marvin 1958
Box 1 Biddle, George 1964
Box 1 Bohrod, Aaron 1958
Box 1 Brandt, Warren 1958
Box 1 Brook, Alexander 1958
Box 1 Busa, Peter 1963
Box 1 C-F (1 folder)
Box 1 Calcagno, Lawrence 1958
Box 1 Chaet, Bernard R. 1957-1958, 1964
Box 1 Covington, Harrison W. 1963
Box 1 Daly, Norman 1963
Box 1 Danes, Gibson A. 1963
Box 1 Dodd, Lamar 1963
Box 1 Driskell, David C. 1963
Box 1 Feldman, Walter 1963
Box 1 G-K (1 folder)
Box 1 Green, Myra 1963
Box 1 Holbrook, Hollis H. 1963
Box 1 Hopper, Jo 1963
Box 1 Kamys, Walter 1958
Box 1 Kaufman, Irving 1958
Box 1 Kent, Rockwell undated
Box 1 L-M (1 folder)
Box 1 Lahee, Arnold Warburton 1958
Box 1 Laird, Don 1958
Box 1 Leighton, Thomas C. 1958
Box 1 Loew, Michael 1956-1957
Box 1 Lord, Jack 1964
Box 1 Maril, Herman 1958
Box 1 Massin, Eugene 1958
Box 1 Mesches, Arnold 1958
Box 1 Millman, Edward 1958
Box 1 Mulcahy, Freda 1958
Box 1 N-P (1 folder)
Box 1 Noland, Kenneth Clifton 1958
Box 1 Prestopino, Gregorio 1958
Box 1 Price, Helen F. 1953, 1958
Box 1 Q-Z, unidentified (1 folder)
Box 1 Quirt, Walter 1958
Box 1 Quisgard, Liz Whitney 1958
Box 1 Williams, Esther 1963
Box 1 Wilson, Dora 1958

Return to top