TABLE OF CONTENTS


Overview of the Collection

Biographical History

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Restrictions

Subject and Genre Headings

Administrative Information

Inventory

Personal papers

Trial documents 1945-1946

Miscellaneous documents

Additions

Personal papers - originals

Index to volumes

Ask a question
Request a visit

Francis Biddle Collection of International Military Tribunal Nuremberg Trial Documents and Related Material

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University



Overview of the Collection

Creator:
Title: Francis Biddle Collection of International Military Tribunal Nuremberg Trial Documents and Related Material
Inclusive Dates: 1928-1960
Bulk Dates: 1945-1946
Quantity: 9 linear ft.
Abstract: Biddle (1886-1968) was U.S. Attorney General under Franklin D. Roosevelt, and a member of the International Military Tribunal at Nuremberg. Personal papers including correspondence, a journal entitled "Notes on Conference" describing preparation for the war crimes trials of the International Military Tribunal at Nuremberg, 1945-1946, on which Biddle served; also photograph album of the trials. Bulk of collection consists of trial documents including notes and minutes, indictments, eleven volumes of evidence notes, defense documents, about fifty volumes of trial proceedings, memoranda, appeals, and material on Katyn Forest Massacre. Also includes published material on aspects of international law as related to the trial.
Language: Majority in English, some in French and German
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Francis Biddle, lawyer, Attorney General of the United States under President Franklin D. Roosevelt, and member of the International Military Tribunal at Nuremberg, was born in Paris, France, on May 9, 1886, the son of Algernon Sydney and Frances (Robinson) Biddle, and was brought to America in infancy. He attended Haverford School from 1895 to 1899 and Groton School from 1899 to 1905. From Harvard College he received his B.A. cum laude in 1909.

After receiving his LL.B. cum laude from the Harvard Law School in 1911, Mr. Biddle served as private secretary to Supreme Court Justice Oliver Wendell Holmes from 1911 to 1912. He practiced law in Philadelphia, first with Biddle, Paul and Jayne, 1912-1915, and then with Barnes, Biddle and Myers, 1917-1939. Mr. Biddle was appointed special assistant to the United States Attorney for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania, 1922-1926, first chairman of the National Labor Relations Board, 1934, and chief counsel of the joint Congressional committee to investigate the Tennessee Valley Authority, 1938-1939. He was judge for the United States Circuit Court of Appeals, 3d Circuit, 1939-1940, Solicitor General of the United States, 1940-1941, and Attorney General from September 1941 to June 1945. He was appointed United States member of the International Military Tribunal in Nuremberg, to which service most of the papers in this collection refer. Mr. Biddle was also a member of the Permanent Court of Arbitration.

Among his writings are The Llanfear Pattern, a novel, 1927; Mr. Justice Holmes, 1942; Democratic Thinking and the War, 1944; The World's Best Hope, 1949; The Fear of Freedom, 1951; Justice Holmes, Natural Law and the Supreme Court, 1961; the memoirs A Casual Past, 1961, and In Brief Authority, 1962; and contributions to a number of legal publications. Mr. Biddle died at his home on Cape Cod on October 4, 1968.

Return to the Table of Contents


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Francis Biddle Collection of International Military Tribunal Nuremberg Trial Documents and Related Material is divided into three sections: Personal papers, Trial documents and Miscellaneous documents. Box 19 contains additional personal papers and trial documents.

Personal papers consist of incoming and outgoing correspondence, 1945-1953, arranged chronologically; a journal, "Notes on Conference," in which Mr. Biddle described the preparations for the trial; and a pictorial album of Nuremberg autographed by all the judges at the Trial. Originals of certain letters and the journal, photocopied for preservation, have been placed at the end of the collection and use has been restricted.

Trial documents, 1945 - 1946, include material relative to the organization and proceedings of the trial of the major war criminals before the International Military Tribunal at Nuremberg, Germany. There are two sets of papers for the organizational meetings which have been interfiled chronologically. One set, herein called notes, contains verbatim records of the proceedings. The second set, herein called minutes, contains a summary of the proceedings. From October 9, 1945 through November 15, 1945, there are often two sets of papers for each date, i.e., both notes and minutes. Thereafter, from November 16, 1945 through August 30, 1946, only minutes are available. Supporting material was maintained in Mr. Biddle's original order within the organizational meetings. "Notes on Evidence" is a ten-volume bound typescript summary of evidence heard each day at the trial with personal comments on the proceedings by Biddle. The Trial of Major War Criminals before the International Military Tribunal at Nuremberg, published under the Allied Control Authority for Germany (42 vols., Nuremberg, 1946-1949) is the official printed text in English of the proceedings of the trial. Also included are the following documents: a typescript copy of the "Rulings of the Tribunal," with an index whose page references indicate the item numbers of the rulings; memoranda to members of the International Military Tribunal; "Drafts of Judgement" and notes on judgement containing discussions by the judges on the judgement of defendants and for organizations considered criminal. There are also other documents relating to the trial, including some published material consisting of books, articles, and papers arranged alphabetically by author or title.

Miscellaneous documents include published material dealing mainly with aspects of international law as it relates to the trial, arranged alphabetically by author or title.

Return to the Table of Contents


Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions

Some restrictions on reproduction.

Return to the Table of Contents


Subject Headings

Persons

Biddle, Francis, 1886-1968

Corporate Bodies

International Military Tribunal

Subjects

Nuremberg Trial of Major German War Criminals, 1945-1946
War crime trials, Germany (West), Nuremburg

Genres and Forms

Correspondence
Journals
Legal files
Memoranda
Photographs

Occupations

Trials

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:
Francis Biddle Collection of International Military Tribunal Nuremberg Trial Documents and Related Material,
Special Collections Research Center, Syracuse University Library

Acquisition Information

Gift of Francis Biddle, June 1965 and the Estate of Katherine Chapin Biddle, 1979.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: unknown
Revision history: 14 Sep 2006 - converted to EAD (AMCon)

Return to the Table of Contents


Inventory

Personal papers
Box 1 Correspondence 1945-1953
Box 1 Notes on Conference October 2-November 17, 1945 - repro. ts rev., 45 p.
Box 1 Nuremberg, by Charles W. Alexander 1946 - autographed album, illus., 50p.
Trial documents 1945-1946
London Agreement
Box 1 (London) Agreement... Prosecution and Punishment of the Major War Criminals of the European Axis London, 8th August, 1945 - Miscellaneous No. 10, pub. mat. 9 p. (2 autographed copies)
Indictment
Box 1 (London) Indictment presented to the International Military Tribunal ... at Berlin on the 18th of October 1945 - pub. mat., 50 p. (2 authographed copies)
Box 1 International Military Tribunal Indictment No. 1. Societe Egyptienne de Droit International. Brochure No. 1 November, 1945 - pub. mat., 70 p. (autographed copy)
Box 1 International Military Tribunal No. 1 undated - pub. mat. 43 p.
Box 1 Rules Relating to Court Procedure undated - pub. mat. rev., 2 p.
International military tribunal
Organizational meetings
Notes and minutes
Box 1 October 9, 1945 - Notes, 5:00 P.M., ts., 4 p.; Minutes, 5:00 P.M., tsc, 5p.
Box 1 October 10, 1945 - Notes, 11:00 A.M., ts, 9 p.; Minutes, 11:00 A.M., tsc. 3 p.; Notes, 2:00 P.M., ts, 20 p.
Box 1 October 11, 1945 - Notes, 10:30 A.M., ts, 12 p.; Minutes, (morning meeting) tsc, 1 p.; Notes, 2:00 P.M., ts, 7 p.
Box 1 October 12, 1945 - Notes, 10:30 A.M., ts, 13 p.; Notes, 3:00 P.M., ts, 30 p.; Minutes, 3:00 P.M., tsc, pr. mat., 5 p.
Box 1 October 13, 1945 - Notes, 10:30 A.M., ts, 16 p.; Minutes, 10:30 A.M., tsc, 2 p.; Notes, 2:15 P.M., ts, 11 p.; Minutes, 2:15 P.M., tsc, 1 p.
Box 1 October 14, 1945 - Notes, 3:00 P.M., ts, 38 p.; Minutes, 3:00 P.M., tsc, 2 p.
Box 1 October 15, 1945 - Notes, 3:00 P.M., ts, 24 p.; Minutes, 3:00 P.M., tsc, 2 p.
Box 1 October 16, 1945 - Notes, 3:15 P.M., ts, 23 p.; Minutes, 3:00 P.M., tsc rev, 2 p.
Box 1 October 17, 1945 - Notes, 10:40 A.M., ts, 39 p.; Minutes, 10:30 A.M., tsc, 2 p.; Minutes, 4:00 P.M., tsc, 2 p.
Box 1 October 18, 1945 - Notes, (first public session) 10:30 A.M., ts, pr. mat., 6 p.; Minutes, 10:30 A.M. tsc, 1 p.
Supporting material
Box 1 Statement by the presiding member of the tribunal at the opening meeting undated - pr. mat., 2 p.
Box 1 Letter with attached list of German lawyers submitted by the U. S. members October 14, 1945 - ts, tsc, 2 p., n.d.
Box 1 List of German lawyers undated - pr. mat., 1 p.
Box 1 Motion for certain procedural orders undated - tsc, 8 p.
Box 1 Court orders undated - pr. mat., 15 p.
Box 1 Rules of the International Military Tribunal undated - pr. mat., 4 p.
Box 1 Statement by the presiding member of the tribunal after receipt of the indictment undated - pr. mat., ts., 15 p.
Box 1 Organizational plan of secretariat undated - tsc, 1 p.
Notes and minutes
Box 1 October 19, 1945 - Notes, 10:45 A.M., ts, 9 p.; Minutes, 10:30 A.M., tsc rev, 2 p.
Box 1 October 20, 1945 - Minutes, 10:30 A.M., tsc, 1 p.
Box 1 October 21, 1945 - Minutes, (Meeting in Mr. Biddle's study) tsc, 3 p.
Supporting material
Box 1 Memorandum for the American secretary October 23, 1945 - tsc, 5 p,
Box 1 Applications submitted by defendants undated - tsc rev, 1 p.
Box 1 Defendant's applications forms undated - pr. mat., 2 p.
Notes and minutes
Box 1 October 29, 1945 - Notes, 10:10 A.M., ts, 18 p.; Minutes, 10:10 A.M., tsc, 2 p.; Notes, 2:30 P.M., ts, 20 p.; Minutes, 2:30 P.M. tsc, 2 p.
Box 1 October 30, 1945 - Notes, 10:00 A.M., ts, 23 p.; Minutes, 10:00 A.M., tsc, 2 p.; Notes, 2:10 P.M., ts, 11 p.; Minutes, 2:15 P.M., tsc, 3 p.
Box 1 October 31, 1945 - Notes, 10:10 A.M., ts, 18 p.; Minutes, 10:00 A.M., tsc, 3 p.; Notes, 2:15 P.M., ts, 26 p.; Minutes, 2:00 P.M., tsc, 4 p.
Box 1 November 1, 1945 - Notes, 10:00 A.M., ts, 11 p.; Minutes, 10:00 A.M., tsc, 2 p.
Box 2 November 6, 1945 - Notes, 11:10 A.M., ts, 17 p.; Minutes, 11:00 A.M., tsc, 3 p.; Notes, 2:00 P.M., ts, 16 p.; Minutes, 2:30 P.M., tsc, 3 p.
Box 2 November 8, 1945 - Notes, 10:00 A.M., ts, 14 p.; Minutes, 10:00 A.M., tsc, 4 p.; Minutes, 4:00 P.M., ts, 2 p.
Box 2 November 9, 1945 - Notes, 2:15 P.M., ts, 13 p.; Minutes, 2:15 P.M., tsc, 3 p.
Box 2 November 12, 1945 - Notes, 10:40 A.M., ts, 18 p.; Minutes, 10:30 A.M., tsc, 3 p.
Box 2 November 13, 1945 - Notes, 10:30 A.M., ts, 12 p.; Minutes, 10:00 A.M., tsc, 2 p.; Notes, 4:30 P.M., ts, 5 p.; Minutes, 4:30 P.M., tsc, 16 p.; Notes, 9:00 P.M., ts, 22 p.; Minutes, 9:00 P.M., tsc, 3 p.
Box 2 November 14, 1945 - Notes, 2:20 P.M., ts, 29 p.; Minutes, 2:00 P.M., tsc, 3 p.
Box 2 November 15, 1945 - Notes, 11:00 A.M., ts, 15 p.; Minutes, 11:15 A.M., tsc, 2 p.; Minutes, (executive session) 3:45 P.M., tsc, 2 p.; Minutes, (administrative session) 5:40 P.M., tsc, 1 p.
Minutes
Box 2 November 16, 1945 - Executive session, 10:30 A.M., tsc, 2 p.; Administrative session, 12:40 P.M., tsc, 1 p.; Executive session, 2:15 P.M., tsc, 3 p.
Box 2 November 17, 1945 - Administrative session, 11:00 A.M., tsc, 2 p.; Administrative session, 2:00 P.M., tsc, 3 p.
Box 2 November 19, 1945 - Executive session, 10:00 A.M., tsc, 1 p.; Executive session, 4:00 P.M., tsc, 4 p.
Box 2 November 21, 1945 - Executive session, 4:30 P.M., ts, 1 p.; 5:15 P.M., tsc, 2 p.
Box 2 November 24, 1945 - Executive session, 2:30 P.M., tsc, 2 p.
Box 2 November 28, 1945 - Executive session, 4:30 P.M., tsc, 4 p.; 4:30 P.M., ts, 1 p.
Box 2 December 1, 1945 - 2:30 P.M., tsc, 2 p.
Box 2 December 2, 1945 - 3:00 P.M., tsc, 4 p.
Box 2 December 8, 1945 - 10:00 A.M., ts, 2 p.
Box 2 December 15, 1945 - 10:00 A.M., tsc, 9 p.
Box 2 December 17, 1945 - 5:15 P.M., tsc, 2 p.
Box 2 December 19, 1945 - 5:15 P.M., tsc, 3 p.
Box 2 December 20, 1945 - 4:15 P.M., tsc, 5 p.
Box 2 January 6, 1946 - 10:00 A.M., tsc, 2 p.
Box 2 January 12, 1946 - 10:00 A.M., tsc, 3 p.
Box 2 January 14, 1946 - 2:00 P.M., tsc, 6 p.
Box 2 January 26, 1946 - 10:00 P.M.?, tsc, 6 p.
Box 2 February 9, 1946 - 11:30 P.M.?, tsc, 4 p.
Box 2 February 16, 1946 - 10:00 A.M., ts, 2 p.
Box 2 February 18, 1946 - 4:00 P.M., ts, 1 p.
Box 2 February 19, 1946 - 5:15 P.M., ts, 1 p.
Box 2 February 20, 1946 - 3:00 P.M., tsc, 1 p.
Box 2 February 21, 1946 - 5:00 P.M., tsc, 1 p.
Box 2 March 4, 1946 - 3:30 P.M., ts, 2 p.
Box 2 March 6, 1946 - 4:00 P.M., ts, 1 p.
Box 2 March 12, 1946 - 9:30 A.M., ts, 1 p.; 4:30 P.M., tsc, 2 p.
Box 2 March 22, 1946 - 2:00 P.M., tsc, 3 p.
Box 2 March 23, 1946 - 11:30 A.M., tsc, 1 p.
Box 2 March 28, 1946 - 2:00 P.M., ts, 1 p.
Box 2 April 2, 1946 - 5:15 P.M., tsc, 1 p.
Box 2 April 4, 1946 - 5:15 P.M., tsc, 1 p.
Box 2 April 6, 1946 - 1:30 P.M., tsc, 3 p.
Box 2 April 10, 1946 - 5:20 P.M., tsc, 1 p.
Box 2 April 13, 1946 - 11:10 A.M., tsc, 1 p.
Box 2 April 15, 1946 - 9:30 A.M., tsc, 1 p.
Box 2 April 17, 1946 - 5:45 P.M., tsc, 2 p.
Box 2 April 27, 1946 - 10:00 A.M., tsc, 2 p.
Box 2 May 4, 1946 - 12:45 A.M.?, ts, 1 p.
Box 2 May 6, 1946 - 5:00 P.M., ts, 1 p.
Box 2 May 11, 1946 - 12:30 A.M. ?, ts, 1 p.
Box 2 May 13, 1946 - 4:55 P.M., tsc, 2 p.
Box 2 May 22, 1946 - 5:20 P.M., tsc, 2 p.
Box 2 May 29, 1946 - 4:30 P.M., tsc, 1 p.
Box 2 May 30, 1946 - 5:00 P.M., tsc, 3 p.
Box 2 May 31, 1946 - 5:25 P.M., ts, 2 p.
Box 2 June 5, 1946 - 5:35 P.M., tsc, 1 p.
Box 2 June 7, 1946 - 4:30 P.M., ts, 2 p.
Box 2 June 12, 1946 - 5:00 P.M., ts, 1 p.
Box 2 June 19, 1946 - 5:20 P.M., ts, 3 p.
Box 2 June 24, 1946 - 5:25 P.M., tsc, 1 p.
Box 2 June 27, 1946 - 2:10 P.M., tsc, 1 p.
Box 2 July 3, 1946 - 5:00 P.M., ts, 3 p.
Box 2 July 10, 1946 - 2:00 P.M., tsc, 1 p.
Box 2 July 11, 1946 - 4:00 P.M., ts, 1 p.
Box 2 July 17, 1946 - 2:00 P.M., tsc, 3 p.
Box 2 July 20, 1946 - 10:00 A.M., tsc, 1 p.
Box 2 July 24, 1946 - 5:20 P.M., ts, 1 p.
Box 2 August 8, 1946 - 2:00 P.M., tsc, 1 p.
Box 2 August 14, 1946 - 2:00 P.M., ts, 2 p.
Box 2 August 19, 1946 - 2:00 P.M., ts, 1 p.
Box 2 August 27, 1946 - 5:15 P.M., tsc, 1 p.
Box 2 August 30, 1946 - 11:15 A.M., ts, 1 p.
Documents for the defense
Box 2 Criminal Organization, evidence, (The Neave Report) August 15, 1946 - pr. mat., 205 p.
Notes of evidence
Box 3 Vol. I, United States and United Kingdom October 31, 1945-January 16, 1946 - ts, bound,295 p. (Vol. 2)
Box 3 Vol. II, The French Republic, The Union of Soviet Socialist Republics and Argument on Criminal Organizations January 17, 1946-March 4, 1946 - ts, bound, 166 p. (Vol. 3)
Box 3 Vol. III, Herman Wilhelm Goring, Rudolph Hess, Joachim von Ribbentrop, Wilhelm Keitel, Ernst Kaltenbrunner, Alfred Rosenberg March 8, 1946-April 17, 1946 - ts, bound, 285 p. (Vol. 4)
Box 4 Vol. IV, Hans Frank, Wilhelm Frick, Julius Streicher, Hjalmar Schact, Walter Funk, Karl Donitz, Erich Raeder, Baldur von Schirach April 18, 1946-May 28, 1946 - ts, bound, 280 p. (Vol. 5)
Box 4 Vol. V, Fritz Sauckel, Alfred Jodl, Artur Seyss-Inquart, Franz von Papen, Albert Speer, Constantin von Neurath, Hans Fritzsche, Martin Bormann May 28, 1946-July 3, 1946 - ts, bound, 288 p. (Vol. 6)
Box 4 Vol. VI, Closing Arguments, Defense Counsel, Prosecution July 4, 1946-July 30, 1946 - ts, bound, 215 p. (Vol. 7)
Box 5 Vol. VII, Political Leadership, SD, Reich Cabinet, SS, General Staff and High Command, SA July 30, 1946-August 31, 1946 - ts, bound, 170 p. (Vol. 8)
Box 5 Organizations - ts, bound, 178 p. (Vol. 9)
Box 5 Defendants - ts, bound, 379 p. (Vol 10)
Box 6 Summaries of Evidence - ts, bound, 264 p. (Vol. 11)
Trial of The Major War Criminals before the International Military Tribunal; Nuremberg 14 November 1945 - 1 October 1946 - Nuremberg, Germany, International Military Tribunal, 1947. 42 Volumes
Box 6 Vol. I, Official Documents - 367 p. (Vol. 12)
Box 6 Vol. II, Proceedings 14 November 1945 - 30 November 1945 - 496 p. (Vol. 13)
Box 6 Vol. III, Proceedings 1 December 1945 - 14 December 1945 - 601 p. (Vol. 14)
Box 6 Vol. IV, Proceedings 17 December 1945 - 8 January 1946 - 572 p. (Vol. 15)
Box 7 Vol. V, Proceedings 9 January 1946 - 21 January 1946 - 573 p. (Vol. 16)
Box 7 Vol. VI, Proceedings 22 January 1946 - 4 February 1946 - 567 p. (Vol. 17)
Box 7 Vol. VII, Proceedings 5 February 1946 - 19 February 1946 - 602 p. (Vol. 18)
Box 7 Vol. VIII, Proceedings 20 February 1946 - 7 March 1946 - 630 p. (Vol. 19)
Box 7 Vol. IX, Proceedings 8 March 1946 - 23 March 1946 - 710 p. (Vol 20)
Box 7 Vol. X, Proceedings 25 March 1946 - 6 April 1946 - 652 p. (Vol. 21)
Box 8 Vol. XI, Proceedings 8 April 1946 - 17 April 1946 - 608 p. (Vol. 22)
Box 8 Vol. XII, Proceedings 18 April 1946 - 2 May 1946 - 631 p., (Vol. 24)
Box 8 Vol. XIII, Proceedings 3 May 1946 - 15 May 1946 - 631 p., (Vol. 24)
Box 8 Vol. XIV, Proceedings 16 May 1946 - 28 May 1946 - 633 p., (Vol. 25)
Box 8 Vol. XV, Proceedings 29 May 1946 - 10 June 1946 - 668 p. (Vol. 27)
Box 8 Vol. XVI, Proceedings 11 June 1946 - 24 June 1946 - 673 p. (Vol. 27)
Box 9 Vol. XVII, Proceedings 25 June 1946 - 8 July 1946 - 661 p. (Vol. 28)
Box 9 Vol. XVIII, Proceedings 9 July 1946 - 18 July 1946 - 510 p. (Vol. 29)
Box 9 Vol. XIX, Proceedings 19 July 1946 - 29 July 1946 - 618 p. (Vol. 30)
Box 9 Vol. XX, Proceedings 30 July 1946 - 10 August 1946 - 646 p. (Vol. 31)
Box 9 Vol. XXI, Proceedings 12 August 1946 - 26 August 1946 - 632 p. (Vol. 32)
Box 9 Vol. XXII, Proceedings 27 August 1946 - 1 October 1946 - 590 p.(Vol. 33)
Box 10 Vol. XXIII, Chronological Index, Subject Index - 732 p. (Vol. 34)
Box 10 Vol. XXIV, Document Index, Name Index and Errata - 780 p. (Vol. 35)
Box 10 Vol. XXV, Documents in Evidence - 001-PS, 607 p. (Vol. 36)
Box 10 Vol. XXVI, Documents in Evidence - 405-PS to 1063(d)-PS, 705 p. (Vol. 37)
Box 10 Vol. XXVII, Documents in Evidence - 104-PS to 1739-PS, 612 p. (Vol. 38)
Box 10 Vol. XXVIII, Documents in Evidence - 1742-PS to 1849-PS, 603 p. (Vol. 39)
Box 11 Vol. XXIX, Documents in Evidence - 1850-PS to 2233-PS, 725 p. (Vol. 40)
Box 11 Vol. XXX, Documents in Evidence - 2239-PS to 2582-PS, 612 p. (Vol. 41)
Box 11 Vol. XXXI, Documents in Evidence - 2605-PS to 3054-PS, 636 p. (Vol. 42)
Box 11 Vol. XXXII, Documents in Evidence - 3058-PS to 3728-PS, 603 p. (Vol. 43)
Box 12 Vol. XXXIII, Documents in Evidence - 3729-PS to 3993-PS, 594 p. (Vol. 44)
Box 12 Vol. XXXIV, Documents in Evidence - 4004-PS to 195-C, 787 p., (Vol. 45)
Box 12 Vol. XXXV, Documents in Evidence - 039-D to 906-D, 700 p. (Vol. 46)
Box 12 Vol. XXXVI, Documents in Evidence - 908-D to 224-F, 717 p. (Vol. 47)
Box 13 Vol. XXXVII, Documents in Evidence - 257-F to 180-L, 717 p. (Vol. 48)
Box 13 Vol. XXXVIII, Documents in Evidence - 185-L to 1216-RF, 746 p. (Vol. 49)
Box 13 Vol. XXXIX, Documents in Evidence - 1218-RF to JN, 636 p. (Vol. 50)
Box 13 Vol. XL, Documents in Evidence, Bormann-11 to Raeder-7 - 607 p. (Vol. 51)
Box 14 Vol. XLI, Documents in Evidence, Raeder-8 to Streicher-21 - 560 p. (Vol. 52)
Box 14 Vol. XLII, Documents in Evidence, Col. Neave Report to Affidavit SS-87 - 664 p. (Vol. 53)
Box 14 International Commission Against Concentration Camp Practices, Bulletin, December 1955 - pr. mat., 74 p.
Memoranda
Box 14 Memorandum concerning a letter from President Harry S. Truman to Mr. Biddle in answer to Mr. Biddle's report to the President. November 12, 1946 - (official release) pr. mat
Box 14 Secret memorandum by Herbert Wechsler, Assistant Attorney General, on a War Department Proposal that the German leaders be tried for "Conspiracy to achieve domination of other countries..." December 29, 1944 - tsc,
Box 14 Memorandum to Judge Biddle and Judge Parker regarding organizational problems October 5, 1945 - ts
Box 14 Memorandum to Judge Biddle and Judge Parker regarding counsel for defendants October 27, 1945 - ts, Nurnberg
Box 14 Memorandum to Sir David Maxwell-Fyfe, regarding the Indictment October 16, 1945 - ts
Box 14 Memorandum of General Nikitchenko to the members of the International Military Tribunal, regarding the length of the trial and its effect on public opinion May 27, 1946 - Translation from Russian, tsc
Box 14 2 Memoranda in French by Donnedieu de Vabres, Member of the French Republic July 8, 1946 - regarding the pleas of Mr. Kleefish [n.d.] and Professor Jahreiss, ts
Box 14 Fragment of Memorandum initiated by M. de Vabres July 16, 1946 - regarding the technical rules of the law of conspiracy. tsc, (in French)
Box 14 "Memorandum of the Soviet Member IMT" July 17, 1946 - regarding the "Conception of Conspiracy". Translated from Russian, tsc
Box 14 One unsigned and undated memorandum regarding the reduction of the accusation - ts, (in French)
Box 14 One recommendation in French, unsigned and undated.
Box 14 Index to Rulings of the Tribunal, Rulings of the Tribunal undated - ts, 131 p. (cover with "Mr. Justice Biddle" in red removed)
Drafts of judgment
Box 14 Suggested Framework of the Judgment of the Tribunal undated - tsc annotated, 72 p.
Box 14 Views on Count 1, The Common Plan or Conspiracy undated - tsc, 5 p.
Box 14 The Common Plan and Agressive War undated - Draft A, ts rev, 48 p.
Box 14 The Common Plan and Agressive War undated - Draft B , tsc rev, 59 p.
Box 14 Fragment undated - tsc, 2p.
Notes on judgment
Box 14 Meetings of the Tribunal to discuss Judgment June 27 - September 26, 1946 - ts, 67p.
Appeals from judgment
Box 14 Martin Bormann October 2, 1946 - pr. mat, 7 p.
Box 14 Karl Doenitz October 3, 1946 - pr. mat., 4 p.
Box 14 Hans Frank October 4, 1946 - pr. mat., 14p.
Box 14 Wilhelm Frick October 4, 1946 - pr. mat., 2p.
Box 14 Walter Funk October 4, 1946 - pr. mat., 6p.
Box 14 Gestapo - Geheime Schutzpolizei October 5, 1946 - pr. mat., 4 p.
Box 14 Hermann Goering October 4, 1946 - pr. mat., 4p.
Box 14 Rudolf Hess October 2, 1946 - pr. mat., 47 p.
Box 15 Alfred Jodl October 4, 1946 - pr. mat., 14p.
Box 15 Wilhelm Keitel October 5, 1946 - pr. mat., 2p.
Box 15 Constantin Freiherr von Neurath October 5, 1946 - pr. mat., 2 p.
Box 15 The Political Leaders Corps October 5, 1946 - pr. mat., 2p.
Box 15 Erich Raeder October 4, 1946 - pr. mat., 2 p.
Box 15 Joachim von Ribbentrop October 4, 1946 - pr. mat.,15 p.
Box 15 Alfred Rosenberg October 3, 1946 - pr. mat., 5 p.
Box 15 Fritz Sauckel October 5, 1946 - pr. mat., 12p.
Box 15 Baldur von Schirach October 3, 1946 - pr. mat., 1 p.
Box 15 SD - Sichercheitsdienst October 4, 1946 - pr. mat., 3 p.
Box 15 Arthur Seyss-Inquart October 3, 1946 - pr. mat., 18 p.
Box 15 SS - Schutzstaffel October 2, 1946 - pr. mat., 1 p.
Box 15 Julius Streicher October 5, 1946 - pr. mat., 2 p.
Related documents
Box 15 Document relating to the Charter of the Tribunal by Justice Lawrence undated - tsc, rev., 7 p.
Box 15 "The Common Plan of Conspiracy" August 13, 1946 - ts, 4 p.
Box 15 Official release on a proposed heraldic design for the U. S. Chief Council December 13, 1945 - pr. mat., 1 p.
Box 15 Glossary of Legal Terms. undated - French-English, tsc, autographed by Mr. Biddle, 66 p.
Box 15 Document regarding protection to defense council against attack from the press. Attached a letter to Dr. Jahreiss August 2, 1946 - ts, 3 p.
Box 15 "The Instantaneous Multi-Lingual Interpreting System in the International Military Tribunal" undated - tsc., 4 p.
Box 15 "Law as to the Accused Organizations" August 9, 1946 - ts, 3 p.
Box 15 Protocol undated - pr. mat., 1 p.
Box 15 Rules of the International Military Tribunal. undated - pr. mat., 4 p.
Miscellaneous material
Box 15 Dokumentry Obvineniia po delu No. 1. - (Documents of Indictment, part 1.) photograph album, publ. in the U.S.S.R., n.d. captions in English. (Vol. 54)
Box 15 Lager Osventsim undated - (Camp of the Conquered) photograph album, pub. mat., Publ. in the U.S.S.R., (Vol. 55)
Box 15 Arbeit und Wehr. June 1938 - Illustrated newspaper about the German textile industry, pub. mat. (Berlin)
Katyn Forest Massacre. Congressional Hearings of the Eighty-second Congress, Washington, D.C.
Box 15 First Session, (Vol. 56) October 11, 1951
Box 15 Second Session, Part 2, (Vol. 57) February 4-7, 1952
Box 15 Second Session, Part 3, (Vol. 58) March 13-14, 1952
Box 15 Second Session, Part 4, (Vol. 59) April 16-19, 1952
Box 15 Second Session, Part 5, (Vol. 60) April 21-26, 1952
Box 15 Second Session, Part 6, Exhibits 32 & 33, (Vol. 61) 1952
Box 15 Second Session, Part 7, (Vol. 62) June 3-4 and November 11-14, 1952
Box 16 Second Session, Interim Report July 2, 1952
Box 16 Second Session, Final Report December 22, 1952
Published material
Books
Box 16 The Charter and Judgment of the Nurnberg Tribunal. Memorandum. March 3, 1949 - United Nations Publ. New York, (Vol. 63)
Box 16 Descheemaeker, Jaques. Le Tribunal Militaire International des Grandes Criminels de Guerre. 1947 - Paris, Autographed copy. (Vol. 64)
Box 16 Pella, Vespasian V. La Guerre-Crime et les Criminels de Guerre. 1946 - Geneve, (Vol. 65)
Box 16 Le Proces de Nuremberg: l'Accusation Francaise. October 10, 1946 - Documents pour servir a l'Histoire de la Guerre. Paris (Vol. 66)
Box 16 Le Proces de Nuremberg: Exposes Introductifs. 1946 - Documents pour servir a l' Histoire de la Guerre. Paris (Vol. 67)
Box 16 Le Proces de Nuremberg: la Responsabilite Individuelle dans la Perpetration des Crimes contre la Paix. July 1946 - Societe Egyptienne de Droit International. Brochure no. 3
Box 16 [Taylor, Telford] Final Report to the Secretary of the Army on the Nuernberg War Crimes Trials under Control Council Law No. 10. August 15, 1949 - Washington, (Vol. 68)
Box 16 Vabres, H. Donnedieu de. Le Proces de Nuremberg devant les principes modernes du droit penal international. 1947 - Paris, autographed copy (Vol 69)
Articles and papers
Box 16 Allen, Florence E. "The Nuremberg Trial Implements World Law." May 1947 - reprint from The Educational Forum
Box 16 Biddle, Francis. "The Nurnberg Trials," Virginia Law Review, vol. 33, no. 6 November 1947
Box 16 Biddle, Francis. "The Nurnberg Trial," R.A.F. Penrose Jr. Memorial Lecture 1947 - reprint from the American Philosophical Society, vol. 91, no. 3
Box 16 Graven, Jean. "En Assistant au Proces des Criminels de Guerre." July and August 1, 1946 - reprint from Journal de Geneve
Box 16 Jackson, Robert H. "The Jackson Report," text of statement on the signing of the War Crimes Agreement. August 8 1945 - Reprint from The New York Times. London
Box 16 Jackson, Robert H. "Nuremberg in Retrospect: Legal Answer to International Lawlessness," American Bar Association, vol. 35 October 1949
Box 16 Kempner, Robert M.W. "Review: The Nuremberg Trials as Sources of Recent German Political and Historical Material." June 1950 - reprint from The American Political Science Review, vol. XLIV, no. 2
Box 16 Leventhal, Harold. "The Nuernberg Verdict." 1947 - reprint from The Harvard Law Review, vol. LX, no. 6
Box 16 Meltzer, Bernard D. "Comment, a Note on some Aspects of the Nuremberg Debate." April 1947 - reprint from The University of Chicago Law Review, vol. 14, no. 3
Box 16 [Menthon, Francais de.] "Le Proces de Nuremberg." January 17, 1946
Box 16 Morris, James. "Major War Crimes Trials in Nurnberg," North Dakota Bar Briefs, vol. 25, no. 2 April 1949
Box 16 Mossler, Hermann. "Comments on document entitled: 'International Legal Evaluation of the Norway Action'" April 6, 1946 - ts
Box 16 Schact, Hjalmar. "The Nuernberg Trial," excerpt from "Settlement with Hitler" undated - tsc
Box 16 Schact, Hjalmar. "Abrechnung mit Hitler". Hamburg, Germany, Rowohlt Verlag October 1948
Box 16 Schact, Hjalmar. "The Nuernberg Trial, (Excerpt from settlement with Hitler)" - tsc, 13 p. (English translation)
Box 17 Szilard, Leo. "My Trial as a War Criminal" November 11, 1947 - (fiction) tsc
Box 17 (Taylor, Telford) "Did the International Tribunals Convict Germany of Waging Agressive War Against 10 or 12 Other Nations?," May 9, 1950 - tsc
Box 17 Taylor, Telford. "The Nazis go Free," The Nation February 24, 1951
Box 17 Taylor, Telford. "Robert H. Jackson and the Nuremberg Trials." April 1955 - reprint from the Columbia Law Review, vol. 55
Box 17 Walkingshaw, Robert B. "The Nuremberg and Tokyo Trials: Another Step Towards International Justice," American Bar Association Journal, vol. 35 April 1949>
Box 17 Wechsler, Herbert. "The Issues of the Nuremberg Trial," Political Science Quarterly, vol. LXII, no. 1 March 1947
Box 17 (Wechsler, Herbert) "Memoirs of a Conference with President Benes" February 16, 1946 - tsc Mr. Wechsler describes a visit with Mr. Sidney Alderman to Dr. Benes in Prague, February 5, 1946, in which Dr. Benes recalls a conversation with President Roosevelt in 1939.
Box 17 Wechsler, Herbert. Remarks made before the showing of the film "Nuremberg - Its Lesson for To-day, for the Association of American Law Schools. December 28, 1950 - pub. mat. Chicago
Box 17 Wright, Robert Alderson. "Nuremberg", statement on the judgment. August 15, 1947 - pub. mat. (London)
Box 17 Wright, Quincy. "Legal Positivism and the Nuremberg Judgment," The American Journal of International Law undated
Box 17 Wright, Quincy. "Some Important Events in 1946; The Nuremberg Trial." March-April 1947 - reprint from the Journal of Criminal Law and Criminology of Northwestern University, vol. 37, No. 6
Miscellaneous documents
Published material
Box 17 Badkowski, Antoni. Les Problemes de la Sauvegarde de la paix et de la Liqudation des Suites de Guerrexau Point de Vue du Droit Polonais. 1947 - Brussels
Box 17 Cowles, Willard B. "Universality of Jurisdiction over War Criminals." June 1945 - reprint from California Law Review, vol. XXXIII, no. 2
Box 17 "Guerre de 1939, Crimes de Guerre." Gour de Cassation, June 3, 1950. Jurisprudence 1950
Box 17 Jackson, Robert H. Address delivered before the American Society of International Law. Washington, D.C.. April 13, 1945
Box 17 Levy, Albert G.D. "The Law and Prodedure of War Crime Trials." December 1943 - reprint from The American Political Review, vol. XXXVII, no. 6
Box 17 Pella, Vespasian V. "Federalism and Regionalism." October 1950 - reprint from Common Cause: a Journal of One World, vol. 4, no. 3, autographed copy
Box 17 Pella, Vespasian V. "The International Association of Penal Law and the Safeguarding of Peace". 1947 - (French Text and English Sukmary) Paris
Box 17 Radin, Max. "International Crimes." November 1946 - reprint from The Iowa Law Review, vol. 32, no. 1, autographed copy
Box 17 La Revue de Droit International: de Sciences Deplomatiques et Politiques. "Cour Penale Internationale et Code repressif des Nations," by Megalos A. Caloyanni. Geneve, extract no. 4, (1945)
Box 17 Revue de Droit Penal et de Criminology. "The Nuremberg Trial" by Francis Biddle. Reprint from the American Philosophical Society. Brussels, no. 6 March 1948
Box 17 Revue Egyptienne de Droit International. Sommaire. 1945. November 14, 1945 - Autographed by the ed., Alexandria
Revue Internationale de Droit Penal
Box 17 Paris, no. 2 1948
Box 17 Paris, nos. 3-4 1948
Box 17 Paris, no. 1 1949
Box 17 Paris, no. 2 1949
Revue Internationale de Droit Penal
Box 17 Paris, nos. 3-4 1949
Box 17 Paris, no. 2 1950
Box 18 Paris, no. 3 1950
Box 18 Paris, no. 4 1950
Box 18 Paris, no. 1-2 1954
Box 18 Sottile, Antoine. The Problem of the Creation of a Permanent International Criminal Court. 1951 - Extract from Revue de Droit Internationales, no. 4, Geneve
Box 18 Tables Analytiques: de l' Annee 1953 Revue Internationale de Droit Penal. undated - Paris
Box 18 Wehle, Louis B. "Comparative Law's Proper Task for the International Court." October 1950 - reprint from the University of Pennsylvania Law Review, vol. 99, no. 1
Box 18 Wright, Quincy. "Changes in International Law and the Concepts of War and Aggression." June 27, 1944 - ts.
Box 18 Wright, Quincy. "Collective Rights and Duties for the Enforcment of Treaty Obligations." April 28-30, 1932 - reprint from the American Society of International Law, Proceedings
Box 18 Wright, Quincy. "The Concepts of Aggression in International Law." July 1935 - reprint from the American Journal of International Law, vol. 29, no. 3
Box 18 Wright, Quincy. "Congress and the Treaty-Making Powers." 1952 - reprint from the Proceedings from The American Society of International Law
Box 18 Wright, Quincy. "The Crime of 'War-Mongering'," The American Journal of International Law undated
Box 18 Wright, Quincy. "The Interpretation of Multilateral Treaties," The American Journal of International Law undated
Box 18 Wright, Quincy. "International Law and the Totalitarian States." August 1941 - reprint from The American Science Review, vol. XXXV, no. 4
Box 18 Wright, Quincy. "The Lend-Lease Bill and International Law," The American Journal of International Law undated
Box 18 Wright, Quincy. "Neutrality and Neutral Rights Following the Pact of Paris for the Renunciation of War." 1930 - reprint from the American Society of International Law, Proceedings
Box 18 Wright, Quincy. "The Path to Peace," World Unity Magazine undated
Box 18 Wright, Quincy. "Peace Problems of Today and Yesterday." June 1944 - reprint from The American Political Science Review, vol. XXXVIII, no. 3
Box 18 Wright, Quincy. "Permissive Sanction against Aggression," The American Journal of International Law undated
Box 18 Wright, Quincy. "The Present Status of Neutrality," The American Journal of International Law undated
Box 18 Wright, Quincy. "Responsibility for Injuries to United Nations Officials," The American Journal of International Law undated
Box 18 Wright, Quincy. "Rhineland Occupation and the Enforcement of Treaties." July 1936 - reprint from the American Journal of International Law, vol. 30, no. 3
Box 18 Wright, Quincy. "The Test of Aggression in the Italo-Ethiopian War." January 1936 - reprint from The American Journal of International Law, vol. 30, no. 1
Box 18 Wright, Quincy. "Law Reports of Trials of War Criminals, Vol. II: The Belsen Trial." May-June 1948 - reprint from the Journal of Criminal Law and Criminology of Northwestern University, vol. 39, no. 1
Box 18 Wright, Quincy. "Law Reports of Trials of War Criminals." May-June 1949 - reprint from the Journal of Criminal Law and Criminology of Northwestern University, vol. 40, no. 1
Box 18 Wright, Quincy. "Law Reports of Trials of War Criminals." January-February 1950 - reprint from the Journal of Criminal Law and Criminology of Northwestern University, vol. 40, no. 5
Box 18 Wright, Quincy. Review of Book by M. Donnedieu de Vabres entitled Les Principes Modernes du Droit Penal International. Paris, 1928 undated - ts & tsc
Box 18 Trial of Japanese War Criminals. - Documents.
Additions
Personal papers
Correspondence
Francis Biddle to Katherine Chapin Biddle (wife) and Edmund Randolph ("Randy") Biddle (son) - in two separately numbered sequences that are here interfiled. The letters were written mostly from Nuremberg and constitute a journal. Both series are incomplete.
Box 19 1945 Oct
Box 19 1945 Nov
Box 19 1946 Feb
Box 19 1946 Mar
Box 19 1946 May
Box 19 1946 Jun
Box 19 1946 Jul
Box 19 1946 Aug
Box 19 Fragment
Box 19 Transcripts, typed (incomplete set) 1945-1946 - including transcripts of some letters not found in the preceding 9 folders.
Box 19 Transcripts, typed, of letters, marked "extra" 1945
Box 19 Mary O'B. Johnson (Judge Biddle's secretary) to Katherine Chapin Biddle 1945-1946 - (5 letters)
Box 19 Miscellaneous correspondence 1945-1949 - including letters to Francis Biddle from Mary McLeod Bethune and Leroy H. Watson; carbons of letters from Francis Biddle to George Biddle (brother), General Eisenhower (1945 Oct 30), President Truman (1946 Jan 5 and 1946 Nov 9), and Robert Jackson; a letter in French from Robert Martin to "monsieur le juge" [Parker?]; and an exchange of letters (6 items), 1948-1949, between Francis Biddle and Hans Lamm
"The Nürnberg Trial," ms. of Francis Biddle's autobiography, Book Four, vol. 2, In Brief Authority ca. 1960 - anno. ts
Box 19 Chapters 25-26 - pp. [563]-605
Box 19 Chapters 27-28 - pp. 606-637
Box 19 Chapters 29-30 - pp. 638-688
Box 19 Chapters 31-32 - pp. 689-724
Trial documents
Drafts of judgment
Box 19 Suggestion for Skeleton Opinion 1946 May 9 - tsc, 5 pp.
Box 19 Sir Norman Birkett's draft 1946 Jun 7 - ts, (Note to accompany documents one and two, 2 pp.; Document one, Suggested framework of the judgment, in bare outline, [10]pp.; Document two, Suggested framework of the judgment of the Tribunal , 42 pp.)
Francis Biddle's drafts
Box 19 1946 Jun 27 - tsc, 11 pp. (2 copies)
Box 19 1946 Aug 28 - anno. tsc, 12 pp. ("3d Draft")
Box 19 1946 Sep 2 - tsc, 13pp. ("Fourth Draft") (2 copies)
Box 19 1946 Sep 2 - tsc, [24]pp. ("Quatrième projet") French translation of the fourth draft (2 copies)
Box 19 Note to accompany document undated - (2 copies), anno. tsc, [7]pp. and tsc, 6 pp.
Memoranda
Box 19, Folder 1 Memorandum by James Rowe, Jr. to the American members of the International Military Tribunal on the judges' offices and residences October 25, 1945 - tsc, 3 pp. and 2 duplicate pages
Box 19, Folder 1 Memorandum by Herbert Wechsler to Judge Biddle and Judge Parker on rates of compensation for German lawyers and judges, the freezing of defendants' assets, and other matters October 30, 1945 - tsc, 1 p.
Box 19, Folder 1 Memorandum by Francis Biddle to Mr. Justice Jackson on the delay of the judge's arrival in Berlin October 30, 1945 - tsc, 2 pp.
Box 19, Folder 1 Memorandum by Herbert Wechsler to Colonel Gill transferring a memo to Mr. Justice Jackson from "General Biddle." October 31, 1945 - tsc, 1 p.
Box 19, Folder 1 Memorandum by Herbert Wechsler to Judge Biddle on procedures for the production of a witness or a document November 9, 1945 - ts, 3 pp.
Box 19, Folder 2 Memorandum by Herbert Wechsler to Mr. Justice Birkett on procedural questions and Justice Birkett's "Note on Procedure." February 19, 1946 - tsc, 4 pp.
Box 19, Folder 2 Memorandum by Herbert Wechsler on "The form of the judgment and opinion (Comment on the President's memorandum)." April 12, 1946 - tsc, 8 pp.
Box 19, Folder 2 Memorandum by Herbert Wechsler on "Conspiratorial and accessorial liability under the charter." April 25, 1946 - ts, [21] pp.
Box 19, Folder 3 Memorandum, unsigned, on editing documents for the first conference June 11, 1946 - ts, 1 p.
Box 19, Folder 3 Memorandum by James H. Rowe, Jr. to Judge Biddle on the judge's draft memorandum on the law of aggressive war July 10, 1946 - ts, 1 p.
Box 19, Folder 3 Memorandum, "Comments by James Rowe on Judge Parker's memorandum." July 11, 1946 - tsc, 7 pp.
Box 19, Folder 3 Memorandum by James H. Rowe, Jr. to Judge Biddle, "Comments on FB's Second Draft (7/11/46)." July 19, 1946 - ts, 2 pp.
Box 19, Folder 3 Memorandum by James H. Rowe to Judges Biddle and Parker on security July 19, 1946 - ts, 2 pp.
Box 19, Folder 3 Memorandum, "Comments by James Rowe on Justice Birkett's Draft No. 2." July 26, 1946 - ts, 8 pp.
Box 19, Folder 3 "Memorandum of Soviet Member [I.T. Nikitchenko] of International Military Tribunal," translated from the Russian August 14, 1946 - tsc, 5 pp.
Box 19, Folder 3 "Memorandum on the Nazi regime in Germany" probably by Francis Biddle September 2, 1946 - ts, 5 pp., and tsc, 5 pp.
Box 19, Folder 3 Memorandum by James H. Rowe, Jr. to Judge Biddle on the Schacht, Speer and von Schirach verdicts September 17, 1946 - ts, 1 p.
Box 19, Folder 3 Memorandum by James H. Rowe, Jr. to Judge Biddle urging that the opinion state that the findings are based only on the record of available evidence September 17, 1946 - ts, 1 p.
Box 19, Folder 3 Memorandum by James H. Rowe, Jr. to Judge Biddle on a breach of security, "...the most incredible thing that has happened in an incredible year." undated - ts, 1 p.
Miscellaneous documents
Box 19, Folder 1 Notes on Glueck and the Pact of Paris May 23, 1946 - anno. ts, 3pp.
Box 19, Folder 1 Transcript in English of a letter from Konrad Weidinger, a cabinet-maker, to Francis Biddle August 1, 1946
Box 19, Folder 1 Notes on the definition of conspiracy August 8, 1946 - ts, [4] pp.
Box 19, Folder 1 "Order for Disciplinary Punishment issued against Attorney Ludwig Babel, 15 Dahlmannstrasse, Nuernberg" in an English translation August 14, 1946 - tsc, 18 pp., with a copy of the covering letter dated August 16, 1946
Box 19, Folder 2 Biddle, Francis, dissent on the guilty verdict against Admiral Karl Doenitz on Counts Two and Three undated - tsc, 6 pp., A note in Judge Biddle's hand states, "This was not filed. Probably suggested by Parker."
Box 19, Folder 2 Birkett, Norman, "The common plan or conspiracy." undated - tsc, 4 pp.
Box 19, Folder 2 ? Birkett, Norman, [notes on a draft] undated - ts, 4 pp.
Box 19, Folder 2 De Vabres, Donnedieu, "Note regarding the speech for the defence by Professor Jahrreiss." undated - ts annotated by Judge Biddle, 16 pp.
Box 19, Folder 2 "Note [sur]la qualification de complot." undated - ts, 3 pp., with the same text, holograph, 3 pp.
Box 19, Folder 2 "Remarks on the question of organizations suggested by the speech of Mr. Klefisch." undated - tsc, 12 pp.
Box 19, Folder 2 Unidentified fragment undated - tsc, pp. 2-6
Personal papers - originals
The following items are the originals of photocopies found at the beginning of Box 1. Use of the originals has been restricted because of their physical condition.
Box 19, Folder 2 Correspondence 1946 - 3 letters
Box 19, Folder 2 Notes on Conference October 2-November 17, 1945 - ts rev., 45 pp.
Index to volumes
Box 1 Volume 1: Nuremberg 1946
Box 3 Volume 2-4: Notes of Evidence 1945-1946
Box 4 Volume 5-7: Notes of Evidence 1945-1946
Box 5 Volume 8-10: Notes of Evidence 1945-1946
Box 6 Volume 11: Notes of Evidence 1945-1946
Box 6 Volume 12-15: Trial of the Maior War Criminals Before the International Military Tribunal 1945-1946
Box 7 Volume 16-21:
Box 8 Volume 22-27:
Box 9 Volume 28-33:
Box 10 Volume 34-39:
Box 11 Volume 40-43:
Box 12 Volume 44-47:
Box 13 Volume 48-51:
Box 14 Volume 52-53:
Box 15 Volume 54: Dokumenty Obvineniia po delu, No. 1 undated
Box 15 Volume 55: Lager Osventsim undated
Box 15 Volume 56: Katyn Forest Massacre October 11, 1951
Box 15 Volume 57: February 4-7, 1952
Box 15 Volume 58: March 13-14, 1952
Box 15 Volume 59: April 16-19, 1952
Box 15 Volume 60: April 21-26, 1952
Box 15 Volume 61: 1952
Box 15 Volume 62: June 3-4, November 11-14, 1952
Box 16 Volume 63: The Charter and Judgment of the Nuremberg Tribunal 1949
Box 16 Volume 64: Descheemaeker, Jaques. Le Tribunal Militaire International des Grandes Criminels de Guerre 1947
Box 16 Volume 65: Pella, Vespasian V. La Guerre-Crime et les Criminels de Guerre 1946
Box 16 Volume 66: Le Proces de Nuremberg: l'Accusation Francaise 1946
Box 16 Volume 67: Le Proces de Nuremberg: Exposes Introductifs 1946
Box 16 Volume 68: [Taylor, Telford] Final Report to the Secretary of the Army on the Nuremberg War Crimes Trials under Control Council Law No. 10 1949
Box 16 Volume 69: Vabres, H. Donnedieu de. Le Proces de Nuremberg devant les Principes Modernes du Droit Penal International 1947

Return to the Table of Contents