Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Jim Berry Cartoons

An inventory of his cartoons at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Berry, Jim
Title: Jim Berry Cartoons
Inclusive Dates: 1965-1968
Quantity: 2 linear ft.
Abstract: Original cartoons from the Sunday comic strip Berry's World.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

James O. Berry (1932- ), known as Jim Berry, is an American editorial cartoonist and the creator of the Sunday newspaper comic strip Berry's World.

Originally from Chicago, Berry was educated at Dartmouth University and Ohio Wesleyan, where he received his B. A. in 1955. Berry signed on with the NEA syndicate in 1961, as part of their editorial art department, and in 1963 he began Berry's World which would eventually run for some forty years. The feature was a single panel editorial cartoon six days a week, with a full-color comic strip on Sunday. Jim Berry retired in 2003.

Berry's cartoons were widely syndicated, and he received many awards and recognitions over the course of his long career. He won a National Headliners Award in 1967, and has been honored five times by the National Cartoonists Society, including the award for Best Special Feature in 1970 and 1972. He has been honored several times by his alma mater, most recently receiving a citation for distinguished achievement in 1995.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Jim Berry Cartoons collection contains 118 original Sunday cartoons from the newspaper feature strip Berry's World (1965-1968). In addition, there is a single proof sheet for the strip dated March 12, 1967. Sunday cartoon: pasteovers, pencil, pen and ink on paper, dimensions vary approx. 9 ½ x 16 in. to 12 x 22 in.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

All items are in chronological order.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has collections of over one hundred cartoonists. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Berry, Jim.

Corporate Bodies

Newspaper Enterprise Association.

Associated Titles

Berry's world (comic strip)

Subjects

American wit and humor, Pictorial.
Caricatures and cartoons -- United States.
Cartoonists -- United States.
Comic books, strips, etc. -- United States.
Editorial cartoons -- United States.

Places

United States -- Politics and government -- 1963-1969 -- Caricatures and cartoons.

Genres and Forms

Cartoons (humorous images)
Editorial cartoons.

Occupations

Cartoonists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Jim Berry Cartoons,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Jim Berry, 1968.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MM
Date: 21 May 1968
Revision history: 5 Dec 2008 - converted to EAD (MD); 8 Apr 2009 - revised (MD)

Return to top

Inventory

Berry's World
Click here for detailed inventory.
Sunday cartoons (118)
Box 1 1965 - 1968

Return to top