Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Philip Bergman Papers

A description of his Papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Bergman, Philip S.
Title: Philip Bergman Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1956-1995
Quantity: 30 linear feet
Abstract: Collection contains audio tape, videotape, film, personal papers, professional papers and photography related to ABC News producer and journalist Philip S. Bergman.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Philip Stewart Bergman was an American journalist and television news producer. Bergman spent the bulk of his professional career with ABC News, producing news documentaries and stories for a variety of programs including 20/20, Nightline, World News Tonight and the ABC Saturday Evening News with Ted Koppel.

Philip Bergman was born October 21, 1933 in New York, New York. After attending City College of New York, Bergman began his professional career as a reporter and editor at the Newark Star-Ledger and later worked as a reporter for United Press International. Bergman did a short stint in the U.S. Army (1957-1958) where he served as an Army correspondent. In 1962, Bergman joined ABC as a writer for WABC-TV News, and from 1964-1967 he produced WABC-TV's late night news program. In 1976, Bergman took the helm as Executive Producer for the ABC Saturday Evening News, beginning a working relationship with ABC anchor Ted Koppel that would last for many years. After several years as a Senior Producer for ABC's World News Tonight, where he supervised all feature and series shooting and editing--which included the "Special Assignment Series" and on the road segments with Hughes Rudd--Bergman went on to produce stories and segments for other prominent network news programs, including Nightline and 20/20. While serving as Senior Producer in the Long Form Documentary Unit at ABC (1988-1989), Bergman was involved in the production of "Burning Question: The Poisoning of America", an Emmy Award-winning news special on the state of the natural environment, investigating such issues as illegal dumping, air pollution, ozone depletion and acid rain.

Over the course of his long career, Phil Bergman won numerous awards including 5 national Emmy Awards, 2 national Headline Awards, a Christopher Award, and an Aviation and Space Writer's Award for Television and Radio. Phil Bergman was the brother of Jules Bergman, the ABC News Science Editor from 1961-1987 famous for his coverage of the American space program.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Philip Bergman Papers contains over 200 media items related to Bergman-produced television stories and segments (audio tape, film and videotape) and approximately 18 linear feet of papers, also primarily related to Bergman's professional television career and specific story and segment productions. A small portion of the papers and virtually all of the photography in the collection relates to Bergman's pre-television career as a print journalist, prior to joining ABC News.

Media items in the collection include audio tapes, film and videotapes. "Audio" tapes primarily contain original interviews done by Phil Bergman for television stories and segments and include original interviews with Muhammad Ali, Jimmy the Greek, Henry Kissinger and others. There are also audio interviews done for pieces on air safety and a New York City cop story done for 20/20. Additional audio tapes were collected to provide background information or as potential selections for segment soundtrack elements. The bulk of the "Moving image" items (videotape and film) in the collection are dub-recordings of Bergman-produced television segments and stories created for a variety of ABC News programs. There are also videotape and film items collected as background and research material, or for potential inclusion in produced pieces

Most of the materials in the Papers portion of the collection relate to Phil Bergman's professional career or to specific Bergman-produced stories and segments. The "Professional papers" material includes program binders, program research materials, reporter's notebooks, as well as general network communications and programming data. In addition to a small batch of personal correspondence, "Personal papers" also contains material related to Bergman's pre-television career, including writings and story ideas. Virtually all of the "Photography" relates to Bergman's time in college, in the military, and his pre-television days as a print journalist. "Memorabilia" in the collection includes press materials related to national political conventions (1964, 1976), the Reagan Inauguration (1981), the press kit for President Nixon's trip to Belgium in 1974, and various items Bergman collected over the course of his career at ABC News.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Media items related to Philip Bergman-produced stories are sorted by type (audio and moving image) and grouped together according to related program, when known. Items with uncertain affiliation are grouped together under "Individual interviews" (audio) and "Individual Bergman pieces" (moving image). Research and background media items are grouped separately. The Papers are arranged as: Awards, Memorabilia, Personal papers, Photography, Professional papers and Reporters notebooks. Collection materials were rehoused from original containers but largely remain in original order. Most collection materials have not been re-foldered.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Research access to the tapes requires advance notice in order to produce a working copy.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Bergman, Philip S.

Corporate Bodies

ABC News.

Associated Titles

20/20 (Television program)
ABC Saturday evening news (Television program)
ABC world news tonight (Television program)
Nightline (Television program)

Subjects

Broadcast journalism.
Documentary television programs.
Television broadcasting of news -- United States.
Television news programs.
Television producers and directors.

Genres and Forms

Audiotapes.
Correspondence.
Film reels.
Memorabilia.
Papers.
Phonograph records.
Photographs.
Videotapes.

Occupations

Television producers and directors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Philip Bergman Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Jason Bergman, 2016.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MBD
Date: 8 Feb 2016
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Media 1968-1995
Audio 1968-1992
Air Crash story interviews
Box 21 Air Crash TS755: Execs/Ken Burton (FC1-2) Audio; 1/4 inch audio cassette; 00:30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_181)
Box 21 Air Crash TS755: Execs Interviews (FC 2) Audio; 1/4 inch audio cassette; 00:30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_182)
Box 21 Air Crash TS755: Ken Burton (FC 4) Audio; 1/4 inch audio cassette; 00:30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_183)
Box 21 Air Crash: Witkowski Interview (14-15)/Coleman Interview (16) Audio; 1/4 inch audio cassette; 00:90:00 (ID#: bergman_p_184)
Box 21 Air Crash: Coleman Interview (17-18) Audio; 1/4 inch audio cassette; 00:90:00 (ID#: bergman_p_185)
Box 21 Air Crash TS755: Gus Sarkos Audio; 1/4 inch audio cassette; 00:30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_186)
Box 21 Air Crash Safety: Gale Zukor (1-2) Audio; 1/4 inch audio cassette; 00:60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_187)
Box 21 Interview: Scott Jackson-Survivor 6/6/1992 (1A) 6/6/1992 Audio; 1/4 inch audio cassette; 00:45:00 (ID#: bergman_p_188)
Box 21 Air Crash Safety: Barbara Boxer Interview (1) Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_189)
Box 21 Air Safety: Stews Best End 20/20 (LA) (1)/Stews 20/20 (2) Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_190)
Box 21 Dave Koch Interview/Downs Stand Up/Dave Chittum Interview Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_191)
NY Cop story interviews
Box 21 NYC Cop TS612: Queens Walk/Talk 6/16/1990 Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:45:00 (ID#: bergman_p_192)
Box 21 NYC Cop TS612: Joy Ciarcia (Diane) (A-B) Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_193)
Box 21 NYC Cop TS612: Joy Ciarcia (Kuhn) (A-B) Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:27:00 (ID#: bergman_p_194)
Box 21 NYC Cop TS612: Robert Biangazzo (20/20 Police Addicts) (1) Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:45:00 (ID#: bergman_p_195)
Box 21 NYC Cop TS612: Robert Biangazzo (20/20 Police Addicts) (2) Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:45:00 (ID#: bergman_p_196)
Box 21 NYC Cop TS612: Robert Biangazzo (20/20 Police Addicts) (4) Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:45:00 (ID#: bergman_p_197)
Box 21 NYC Cop TS612: Robert Biangazzo (20/20 Police Addicts) (5) Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:45:00 (ID#: bergman_p_198)
Individual interviews
Box 21 Muhammad Ali (Drew Bodeini) (1-2) Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_199)
Box 21 Ali (1-2) Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_200)
Box 21 Jimmy the Greek ("Use this on film") Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_201)
Box 21 Jimmy the Greek Film Interview ("Use in film") Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_202)
Box 21 Jimmy the Greek (Oct 68)/Johnny George 10/1968 Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_203)
Box 21 Kissinger (ABC Radio News) Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_204)
Box 21 Kissinger (ABC Radio News) Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_205)
Box 21 [Kissinger?] (ABC Radio News) Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_206)
Box 21 Clay-Marciano Filming (Humor) Audio; 1/4 inch audio tape; 00:20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_207)
Box 21 Marciano on Clay Audio; 1/4 inch audio tape; 00:05:00 (ID#: bergman_p_208)
Box 21 P. Bergman Interview with Wayne Newton (1) Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:45:00 (ID#: bergman_p_209)
Box 21 P. Bergman Interview with Wayne Newton Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_210)
Box 21 Jay Sarno Roll No. 1 (Side 1-2) 1968 Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_211)
Box 21 Jay Sarno Roll No. 2 (Side 1) 1968 Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_212)
Box 21 Jay Sarno: Joey Boston/Caesers Circus 1968 Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_213)
Box 21 Dr. Siner II Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_214)
Miscellaneous (unidentified)
Box 21 Inter Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_215)
Box 21 FBI Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_216)
Box 21 Mon. Aug. 10 Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_217)
Box 21 W 9/23 Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_218)
Research and background material
Box 21 Wild Track Music and Background-Circus (Side 1) (Mayhew 69) 1969 Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_219)
Box 21 New Madison Square Garden "Sounds of the Circus" Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_220)
Box 21 David Rubitsky (ATC 891010) 10/10/1989 Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_221)
Box 21 Don Rickles Friar's Roast Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_222)
Box 21 Don Rickles Roast Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_223)
Box 21 Howard Cosell Roast Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_224)
Box 21 Las Vegas Songs 10/24/1990 Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_225)
Box 21 In Las Vegas Songs/America I Love You Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_226)
Box 21 Drugs II - Music Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_227)
Box 21 Drugs II (B) Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_228)
Box 21 Drop Kick Me Jesus Through the Goalpost of Life/Field Goal Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_229)
Box 21 Music [Divorce songs] Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_230)
Box 21 Prince Music Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_231)
Box 21 America Held Hostage song 1/3/1980 Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_232)
Box 21 The Chocolate Song Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:10:00 (ID#: bergman_p_233)
Box 21 When the North Pole Melts (Short Version)/When the North Pole Melts (Long Version) Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:10:00 (ID#: bergman_p_234)
Box 21 Blind Man's Zoo (10,000 Maniacs) 1989 Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_235)
Box 21 Songs I Love to Sing (Slim Whitman) 1980 Audio; 1/8 inch audio cassette; 00:60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_236)
Moving image 1968-1995
20/20 stories
Box 10 Bungee 10/16/1992 Videotape, Betacam-SP, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_001)
Box 1 Divorce Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic SP, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_002)
Box 10 Divorce (Screener) Videotape, Betacam, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_003)
Box 10 Dog Divorce Videotape, Betacam, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_004)
Box 10 Pet Divorce (Sound Bite Pulls) Videotape, Betacam, dub, 60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_005)
Box 10 Extradition 04/19/1991 Videotape, Betacam, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_006)
Box 10 Extradition 04/26/1991 Videotape, Betacam, dub, 60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_007)
Box 10 Friendly Fire (Conform Screener) 07/23/1992 Videotape, Betacam-SP, dub, 13:21 (ID#: bergman_p_008)
Box 10 Friendly Fire ("Death by Friendly Fire") 08/28/1992 Videotape, Betacam, dub, 30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_009)
Box 1 HT Fighting 12/08/1989 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_010)
Box 10 Husbands and Breast Cancer (from show history) 04/07/1995 Videotape, Betacam-SP, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_011)
Box 10 NYC Cop 09/28/1990 Videotape, Betacam, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_012)
Box 10 Tourists 06/24/1994 Videotape, Betacam-SP, dub, 30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_013)
Box 10 Vocanelle Rape [?] Videotape, Betacam, dub, 30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_014)
ABC Saturday Evening News stories
Box 1 Koppel News Saturday (TK 2) 02/19/1977 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_015)
Box 1 Ted Koppel Weekend News (TK 3) 02/26/1977 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_016)
Box 1 Koppel News Saturday (TK 4) 03/05/1977 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_017)
Box 1 Koppel News Saturday (TK 6) 03/19/1977 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_018)
Box 1 Saturday Evening News (TK 10) 04/16/1977 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_019)
Box 1 Weekend News (TK 30) 07/30/1977 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_020)
Hughes Rudd stories
Box 1 95 Year Old Baseball Player 01/25/1980 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_021)
Box 1 Ali Tape Clips 1 03/21/1980 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, submaster, 30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_022)
Box 1 Ali Tape Clips 2 03/21/1980 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, submaster, 30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_023)
Box 1 Ali 04/04/1980 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_024)
Box 1 Barn Painter (Mail Pouch Screening Copy) [1] 06/26/1982 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_025)
Box 1 Barn Painter (Mail Pouch Screening Copy) [2] 06/26/1982 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_026)
Box 1 Bells (Rudd)/Sadat (Harper) (Screening Copy Satellite) 07/01/1981 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_027)
Box 1 Bells (with Peter Intro) 07/01/1981 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 10:00 (ID#: bergman_p_028)
Box 1 Bells (Emmy Winner) (Good Copy) 07/01/1981 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 10:00 (ID#: bergman_p_029)
Box 1 Bike/Carter/Priest Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_030)
Box 2 Clown School (Mixed Dub) (For Air) Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_031)
Box 2 Dachau [1] 12/29/1980 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_032)
Box 2 Dachau [2] 12/29/1980 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_033)
Box 2 Dachau (Not for Air) 12/29/1980 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_034)
Box 2 Dead Celebs (Mixed Spot) 01/13/1983 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_035)
Box 2 Detroit: I Want to Go Home (Spec) Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_036)
Box 2 Fireworks 07/04/1980 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 10:00 (ID#: bergman_p_037)
Box 2 Frogs (Frog College) (World News Tonight) [1] 04/12/1983 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 2:37 (ID#: bergman_p_038)
Box 2 Frogs (Frog College) (World News Tonight) [2] 04/12/1983 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 2:37 (ID#: bergman_p_039)
Box 2 Frogs (Frog College) (World News Tonight) [3] 04/12/1983 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 2:37 (ID#: bergman_p_040)
Box 2 Humor Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_041)
Box 2 I Wouldn't Live in NYC (Mixed Show Spot) 08/10/1980 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 10:00 (ID#: bergman_p_042)
Box 2 Jousting Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_043)
Box 2 Kiteman Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_044)
Box 2 Lady Di's Friends (GMA) 03/07/1981 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 10:00 (ID#: bergman_p_045)
Box 2 Make-up/Westmore 11/21/1980 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 4:30 (ID#: bergman_p_046)
Box 2 Miss Piggy (World News Tonight) 02/15/1980 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_047)
Box 2 Miss Piggy (Air Dub) 02/15/1980 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_048)
Box 2 Miss Piggy Interview Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_049)
Box 2 Miss Piggy Interview (Full Interview Intercut) Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_050)
Box 3 Oddities (Edit Master) (Los Angeles 1984) 07/26/1984 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic SP, submaster, 10:00 (ID#: bergman_p_051)
Box 3 Ohio Castle (Edit Master) 11/09/1979 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, submaster, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_052)
Box 3 Ohio Castle (Mixed Dub) 11/09/1979 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_053)
Box 3 Old Rip (The Horn Toad) (Final Cut) [1] 10/30/1979 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 3:35 (ID#: bergman_p_054)
Box 3 Old Rip (The Horn Toad) (Final Cut) [2] 10/30/1979 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 3:35 (ID#: bergman_p_055)
Box 3 Olympic Oddities (Edit Master) (Los Angeles 1984) 08/06/1984 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic SP, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_056)
Box 3 One Man Band (GMA) 1984 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic SP, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_057)
Box 3 One Man Band (Summer Olympics) (Dub w/ Ch.1 Mix) (Los Angeles 1984) 1984 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic SP, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_058)
Box 3 One Man Band (Dub w/ Ch.1 Mix) (Los Angeles 1984) 1984 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic SP, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_059)
Box 3 Polo (West Palm Beach) 04/18/1980 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_060)
Box 3 Pieces From Sarajevo Olympics: Slivovitz (2/7), Folk Music (2/10), Humor (2/19) 02/07/1984 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_061)
Box 3 Reagan Coming In (Transition) (Not for Air: Screening Only) Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 5:00 (ID#: bergman_p_062)
Box 3 Rudd Review (Los Angeles 1984) 1984 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic SP, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_063)
Box 3 Sealands (Mixed) (Copy from 1") 11/03/1980 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_064)
Box 3 Sealed Knot (GMA) (June 21, 22, 23 1981) (Separate Audio) 06/17/1981 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 10:00 (ID#: bergman_p_065)
Box 3 Still Photographers (A-Reel) (Edit Master) (Los Angeles 1984) 1984 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic SP, submaster, 10:00 (ID#: bergman_p_066)
Box 3 Still Photographers (B-Reel) (Edit Master) (Los Angeles 1984) 1984 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic SP, submaster, 10:00 (ID#: bergman_p_067)
Box 3 Still Photographers (Mix) (Edit Master) (Los Angeles 1984) 1984 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic SP, submaster, 10:00 (ID#: bergman_p_068)
Box 3 Still Photographers (Dub) (Los Angeles 1984) 1984 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic SP, dub, 10:00 (ID#: bergman_p_069)
Box 3 Still Photographers Profile (LA Olympics) 08/07/1984 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 10:00 (ID#: bergman_p_070)
Box 4 Still Photographers Profile (ABC Olympic Sports Coverage) (Sports Emmy Submission) 08/07/1984 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 10:00 (ID#: bergman_p_071)
Box 4 Super Bowl 01/13/1984 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_072)
Box 4 Trains (Weekend News) 04/01/1983 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 2:39 (ID#: bergman_p_073)
Box 4 Tuckins (Off Air Dub) 05/09/1980 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_074)
Individual Bergman stories (for various programs)
Box 4 Advertising on TV, Parts 1-3 (World News Tonight) (Aired 3/14, 3/15, 3/16) Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_075)
Box 4 Advertising Series Promos Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 10:00 (ID#: bergman_p_076)
Box 4 Altmeyer/CIA, Parts 1-3 03/07/1979 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_077)
Box 4 Bennington Music Professor (GMA) 04/13/1982 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 10:00 (ID#: bergman_p_078)
Box 4 Birth Control, Parts 1-3 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_079)
Box 4 Burning Questions Ethics 06/02/1989 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_080)
Box 4 Cow Billboards 04/13/1984 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 10:00 (ID#: bergman_p_081)
Box 4 Crime/Farmer, Parts 1-3 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_082)
Box 4 Drugs in America (JDS-13) 04/22/1988 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_083)
Box 4 The Elderly 06/07/1979 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_084)
Box 4 Sub Reunion (GMA) 09/17/1982 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 10:00 (ID#: bergman_p_085)
Box 9 Young Handicapper (Koppel 2/14) 02/14/1976 Videotape, 2 inch videotape: Quad, dub, 3:30 (ID#: bergman_p_086)
Box 4 Health Care Costs, Parts 1-5 (World News Tonight) (Aired 2/5-2/9/1979) 02/05/1979 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_087)
Box 4 Hill Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_088)
Box 4 Income Tax Series (Cordtz) Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_089)
Box 9 Jimmy the Greek 11/02/1968 Videotape, 2 inch videotape: Quad, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_090)
Box 10 Jimmy the Greek Profile Videotape, Betacam, dub, 90:00 (ID#: bergman_p_091)
Box 9 Jay Sarno Las Vegas 11/25/1968 Videotape, 2 inch videotape: Quad, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_092)
Box 4 Money Series. Parts 1-4 (Cordtz) (World News Tonight) 06/05/1979 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_093)
Box 9 North-Vincent 08/31/1970 Videotape, 2 inch videotape: Quad, dub, 2:12 (ID#: bergman_p_094)
Box 22 No Smoking (ABC News) Film, 16mm, color negative, sound, 50 feet (ID#: bergman_p_174)
Box 9 Old Folks (Koppel 2/28) 02/28/1979 Videotape, 2 inch videotape: Quad, dub, 3:30 (ID#: bergman_p_095)
Box 5 Pancake Maker (Dub from History) (World News Tonight) 05/18/1984 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 10:00 (ID#: bergman_p_096)
Box 22 Phone Ripofff (ABC News) [with Ted Koppel] Film, 16mm, color, sound, 100 feet (ID#: bergman_p_175)
Box 5 Reasoner Presentation 06/28/1978 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_097)
Box 9 Reynolds/Cuba/McGovern 05/07/1975 Videotape, 2 inch videotape: Quad, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_098)
Box 5 Second to None, Parts 1-11 (Ted Koppel) (World News Tonight: Special Assignment) 06/07/1979 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_099)
Box 5 Sex in Office, Parts 1-3 (Sherr) (World News Tonight) 06/05/1979 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_100)
Box 9 Strasburg RR Videotape, 2 inch videotape: Quad, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_101)
Box 5 Stress: Are We Killing Ourselves? (World News Tonight) (Aired 5/1-5/4) Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_102)
Box 5 Tapes of Wrath 09/11/1983 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_103)
Box 9 Telephone (Saturday News) 01/30/1976 Videotape, 2 inch videotape: Quad, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_104)
Box 5 TV Ratings, Parts 1-3 10/23/1977 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_105)
Box 5 Two Income Family, Parts 1-3 (World News Tonight) (Aired 5/29-5/31) Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_106)
Box 10 Victims of Crime (Dub of FT 1139-90) 03/16/1990 Videotape, VHS, dub, 60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_107)
Box 5 Bergman Clips (Telephone, Elderly) 09/14/1976 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_108)
Box 5 Bergman Dub No. 2: Wayne Newton Profile (3:00), Fanconia College (3:30), Profile Kid Handicapper (2:59), Elderly (2:37), Grants Bankruptcy (4:50) Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic SP, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_109)
Box 5 Phil Bergman Magazine, World News Tonight, Nightline Pieces (Resume 5) Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_110)
Nightline stories
Box 5 Boy and Gorilla (TK Open and Spot) (Nightline 01/17/1986) 01/17/1986 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 10:00 (ID#: bergman_p_111)
Box 5 Boy and Gorilla (TK Open and Spot) (Nightline 01/17/1986) 01/17/1986 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 10:00 (ID#: bergman_p_112)
Box 5 Children of War (Nightline 11/09/1984) [1] 11/09/1984 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 4:00 (ID#: bergman_p_113)
Box 5 Children of War (Nightline 11/09/1984) [2] 11/09/1984 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 4:00 (ID#: bergman_p_114)
Box 5 Children of War (Nightline 11/09/1984)/Farmer's Profile (Nightline 01/17/1985) [1] 11/09/1984 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_115)
Box 5 Children of War (Nightline 11/09/1984)/Farmer's Profile (Nightline 01/17/1985) [2] 11/09/1984 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_116)
Box 5 Farmers (Nightline 01/17/1985) [1] 01/17/1985 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 10:00 (ID#: bergman_p_117)
Box 5 Farmers (Nightline 01/17/1985) [2] 01/17/1985 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 10:00 (ID#: bergman_p_118)
Box 5 Farmers: Disappearing Towns (Nightline) 03/14/1985 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 10:00 (ID#: bergman_p_119)
Box 6 Galapagos/Caras (Nightline 05/10/1985) 05/10/1985 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 10:00 (ID#: bergman_p_120)
Box 6 Heart Transplant Patients ("Insider") (Nightline 12/13/1984) 12/13/1984 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 10:00 (ID#: bergman_p_121)
Box 6 Heart Transplant Revisited (Pentaque) (Nightline) 06/12/1985 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 10:00 (ID#: bergman_p_122)
Box 6 Heart Transplant (Spot from Pre-Tape with Chyrons) (Nightline) 10/21/1985 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_123)
Box 6 Homeless (Petaque) (Nightline) 02/14/1985 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 8:02 (ID#: bergman_p_124)
Box 6 Homeless (Screening) (Nightline) 10/17/1985 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 5:01 (ID#: bergman_p_125)
Box 6 Homeless (Koppel Lead-in with Chyrons) (Nightline) 12/04/1985 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 10:00 (ID#: bergman_p_126)
Box 6 Star Spangled Banner (Nightline) 07/04/1983 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 10:00 (ID#: bergman_p_127)
Box 6 Nightline Dubs: Farm Family (1/17/85), Galapagos (5/10/85), Heart Transplant (10/21/85), Homeless (12/4/85) 01/17/1985 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_128)
Box 6 Nightline Spots: Zimmerman (5/31/83), Spelling Bee (6/8-6/9) 05/31/1983 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_129)
Box 6 Nightline 12/23/1985 12/23/1985 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_130)
Research and background material
Box 22 The American Dread Nought (258 38 DN) (unclassified) (Calvin Communications No. 431591) Film, 16mm, color negative, sound, 1200 feet (ID#: bergman_p_176)
Box 22 [Battleships] ((Fox 2513) (1) Film, 35mm, black and white, sound, 100 feet (ID#: bergman_p_180)
Box 6 Battleships No. 1 (Film Transfer) 03/02/1982 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_137)
Box 6 Battleships No. 3 (Film Transfer) 03/03/1982 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_138)
Box 6 Becky Sharp Promo Reel 11/02/1984 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_139)
Box 6 Bonnie and Clyde (1st Hour) (Film Transfer) 02/18/1983 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_140)
Box 6 Butch Cassidy Scenes/Great Train Robbery (Film Transfer) [2 cassettes] 09/02/1984 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 40:00 (ID#: bergman_p_141)
Box 6 Casablanca No. 1 (Film Transfer) Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_142)
Box 6 Casablanca No. 2 (Film Transfer) Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_143)
Box 10 Couples in Conflict Videotape, VHS, dub, 30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_144)
Box 7 Dachau Concentration Camp (Pathe News footage) Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_145)
Box 10 The Day All Hell Broke Loose (National Center for Atmospheric Research and FAA) Videotape, VHS, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_146)
Box 7 Film Preservation Project (UCLA Film and TV Archive) Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 4:50 (ID#: bergman_p_147)
Box 7 Festival of Preservation 1988 (UCLA Film and TV Archive) Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_148)
Box 7 Festival of Preservation 1989 (UCLA Film and TV Archive) Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_149)
Box 10 Friendship One Videotape, VHS, dub, 80:00 (ID#: bergman_p_150)
Box 22 Gag Reel No. 5 (unbleeped) (ABC News) Film, 16mm, color, sound, 300 feet (ID#: bergman_p_177)
Box 7 Galapagos Islands No. 1 (Film Transfer) 05/01/1985 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_151)
Box 7 Galapagos Islands No. 2 (Film Transfer) 05/01/1985 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_152)
Box 7 In Defense of Freedom (Department of Defense) 05/09/1983 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_153)
Box 7 Joe Louis Highlights (Braddock, Schmeling, Galento, Marciano) (Film Transfer) Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_154)
Box 7 Kennedy-Nixon Debate, Part 1 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_155)
Box 7 Kennedy-Nixon Debate, Part 4 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_156)
Box 7 Miss Jones Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_157)
Box 7 Muppet Movie, Part 1 (Film Transfer) Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_158)
Box 7 Muppet Movie, Part 2 (Film Transfer) Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_159)
Box 7 Monster Truck Promotional Footage (US Hot Rod Association) Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 10:00 (ID#: bergman_p_160)
Box 7 Nazi Concentration Camps Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_161)
Box 22 New York-New York (ABC News) (664-66) Film, 16mm, black and white, sound, 1200 feet (ID#: bergman_p_178)
Box 7 NFL Clips (GMA) 01/12/1982 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_162)
Box 8 NFL Funnies Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_163)
Box 8 NFL Hits 01/09/1984 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_164)
Box 8 Perils of Pauline (Film Transfer) Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_165)
Box 8 Playmate Workout Home Video Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_166)
Box 8 Public Enement (1st Hour) (Film Transfer) 02/13/1983 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_167)
Box 22 Secret Fight Marciano-Clay Film, 16mm, black and white, sound, 200 feet (ID#: bergman_p_179)
Box 8 Skydivers 1 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_168)
Box 8 Skydivers 2 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_169)
Box 8 Sport/Olympics (Funny Black and White Shots) 07/18/1984 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_170)
Box 10 A Strategy of Avoidance (National Center for Atmospheric Research and FAA) Videotape, VHS, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_171)
Box 8 Who's On First (Abbot and Costello) 02/07/1983 Videotape, 3/4 inch videotape: U-matic, dub, 20:00 (ID#: bergman_p_172)
Jules Bergman video
Box 10 Jules Bergman (Sunday World News with Sam Donaldson) 02/15/1987 Videotape, VHS, dub, 30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_131)
Box 10 Jules Bergman Obit (CNN) 02/12/1987 Videotape, VHS, dub, 30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_132)
Box 10 Jules Bergman Obit (NBC, CBS, ABC) 02/12/1987 Videotape, VHS, dub, 30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_133)
Box 10 Jules Bergman Obit (Nightline) 02/12/1987 Videotape, VHS, dub, 30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_134)
Box 10 Jules Bergman Obit (World News Tonight, Newsome, GMA, Nightline) 02/12/1987 Videotape, VHS, dub, 30:00 (ID#: bergman_p_135)
Box 10 Jules Bergman Week (3/20/95-3/24/95) 03/20/1995 Videotape, Betacam, dub, 60:00 (ID#: bergman_p_136)
Papers 1956-1995
Oversize 1 Awards
Box 11-12 Memorabilia
Includes: political convention press materials (1964, 1976), the Reagan Inauguration press kit (1981), President Nixon's Belgium trip press kit (1974), patriotic sheet music and 45's, ABC Network publicity material, ABC field tape recorder, printed material.
Box 13-15 Personal papers
Includes: correspondence, family photos, college journalism work and papers, military service records, military service journalism work, writings.
Box Oversize 17-18 2 Photography
Prints and negatives. Includes photographs related to early journalism work (college and military).
Box 12, 15-16 Professional papers
Correspondence, ABC memos and programming data, Phil Bergman publicity and clips, press credentials, program research materials and binders.
Box 19-20 Reporter's notebooks
Original field notebooks related to Phil Bergman-produced stories.

Return to top