Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Gertrude Berg Papers

An inventory of her papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Berg, Gertrude, 1899-1966.
Title: Gertrude Berg Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1930-1962
Quantity: 99 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American Jewish radio and television actress; author, producer of The Goldbergs. Correspondence, clippings, and other material in scrapbooks; radio and television scripts for productions of The Goldbergs, House of Glass, Mrs. G. Goes to College, etc.; interviews and articles about Gertrude Berg.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Mrs. Gertrude Berg was born in New York City on October 3, 1899, the daughter of Jacob and Diana Edelstein. She married Lewis Berg in 1918 and has 2 children, Cherney and Harriet. She first appeared in radio as actress-author-producer of the program The Goldbergs in 1929. She also wrote the program Kate Hopkins and was writer-producer of The House of Glass in 1935. Mrs. Berg was a collaborator on the film Make a Wish with Bobby Breen, and was Mollie in the filmThe Goldbergs. She appeared in the television series The Goldbergs and also in the series Mrs. G. Goes to College. She has appeared in the Broadway production of A Majority of One and also in summer stock productions. Mrs. Berg received the Antoinette Perry Award in 1959 and is the author of Molly and Me and Memoirs of Gertrude Berg.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Gertrude Berg Papers are divided into six series. The incoming Correspondence has been maintained in the scrapbooks established by the recipient; there is some overlapping of dates within the books, also some correspondence scrapbooks deal with specific subjects; scrapbooks include letters, cards, press clippings, magazines and other memorabilia. The correspondence covers a period from 1931 to 1961 and consists of ten books; the scrapbooks have been numbered for ease of access.

Subject file contains an autograph book, play programs, publicity, souvenir programs, and newspapers relating to Roosevelt.

General scrapbooks (1930-1957), are collections of press notices from newspapers, magazines, etc. related to Berg's professional activities, while Scrapbooks - specific subjects consist of material relating to paticular projects or productions. There is some overlapping of dates.

Radio and television scripts contains more than a thousand scripts from radio and television productions and spans more than thirty years. Individual scripts may consist of the original, typescripts, carbon copies, and mimeographed copies with revisions, or any combination thereof. The name of the program is given followed by the date of the script, whether it was daily, weekly, or a special show. The majority of the scripts are for The Goldbergs, House of Glass, and Mrs. G. Goes to College, but also included are special scripts and scripts dealing with special subjects (e.g., scripts for movies, plays, summer stock, interviews, and other subjects).

Published materials contains published materials by and about Gertrude Berg and covers the years from 1932-1960.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The incoming Correspondence, in the scrapbooks established by the recipient, are arranged chronologically; there is some overlapping of dates within the books

The Subject file is arranged alphabetically by type of material.

General scrapbooks that cover a range of dates are arranged chronologically, while Scrapbooks - specific subjects are arranged alphabetically by topic.

Radio and television scripts are arranged chronologically within their respective years. Special scripts within a given year are arranged alphabetically after the regular scripts. Scripts dealing with special subjects are arranged alphabetically at the end of the series.

Published material is arranged alphabetically by title of the magazine in which it appeared.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Berg, Gertrude, 1899-1966.
Berg, Gertrude, 1899-1966. -- Goldbergs.
Berg, Gertrude, 1899-1966. -- House of glass.
Berg, Gertrude, 1899-1966. -- Mrs. G. goes to college.

Subjects

Actors, United States.
Jewish actors.
Jews, American.
Radio authorship.
Radio programs.
Radio scripts.
Radio serials.
Television actors and actresses.
Television scripts.

Places

United States, Popular culture.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Interviews.
Programs (documents)
Scrapbooks.
Scripts (documents)

Occupations

Actors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Gertrude Berg Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Gertrude E. Berg, 1965-1966.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: May 1966
Revision history: 20 May 2007 - converted to EAD (AMCon); 19 Feb 2013 - scrapbooks boxed and container numbers updated (MBD)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence (10 scrapbooks)
Oversize 1 Correspondence Scrapbook No. 1 1931-1932
Box 57 Correspondence Scrapbook No. 2 (Special Letters)1932-1954
Oversize 2 Correspondence Scrapbook No. 3 1933-1934
Oversize 2 Correspondence Scrapbook No. 4 1935
Box 57 Correspondence Scrapbook No. 5 (Special Letters and Church Letters)1937-1953
Box 57 Correspondence Scrapbook No. 6 1939-1941
Box 57 Correspondence Scrapbook No. 7 1941-1949
Box 57 Correspondence Scrapbook No. 8 1948-1950
Box 57 Correspondence Scrapbook No. 9 (Special Letters)1953-1956, 1960-1961 - includes folder with misc. correspondence 1960-1961
Box 57 Correspondence Scrapbook No. 10 : Israel 1956
Subject file
Box 1 Biographical
Box 1 Autograph book
Box 1 Play programs
Publicity publications
Box 1 The Goldbergs
Box 1 House of Glass
Box 1 General
Box 2 Souvenir programs (5 folders)
Box 2 War newspapers - Roosevelt's speech and death
General scrapbooks
Box 58 General Scrapbook No. 1 1930
Oversize 3 General Scrapbook No. 2 1931-1932
Box 58 General Scrapbook No. 3 1931-1932
Box 58 General Scrapbook No. 4 1931-1932
Oversize 3 General Scrapbook No. 5 1931-1933
Box 58 General Scrapbook No. 6 1933
Box 58 General Scrapbook No. 7 1933
Box 59 General Scrapbook No. 8 1934
Box 59 General Scrapbook No. 9 1934
Box 59 General Scrapbook No. 10 1934-1935
Oversize 4 General Scrapbook No. 11 1935
Box 59 General Scrapbook No. 12 1935
Oversize 4 General Scrapbook No. 13 1935
Oversize 5 General Scrapbook No. 14 1935
Box 60 General Scrapbook No. 15 1936
Oversize 5 General Scrapbook No. 16 1936
Box 60 General Scrapbook No. 17 1937
Box 60 General Scrapbook No. 18 1937
Box 61 General Scrapbook No. 19 1937-1938
Box 61 General Scrapbook No. 20 1938-1939
Box 61 General Scrapbook No. 21 Aug 1939-Dec 1940
Oversize 6 General Scrapbook No. 22 1941
Oversize 6 General Scrapbook No. 23 1941-1947
Oversize 6 General Scrapbook No. 241949-1950
Oversize 6 General Scrapbook No. 25 1950
Oversize 6 General Scrapbook No. 26 1950
Oversize 6 General Scrapbook No. 27 1950
Oversize 7 General Scrapbook No. 28 1950-1951
Oversize 7 General Scrapbook No. 29 1950-1951
Oversize 7 General Scrapbook No. 30 1950-1951
Oversize 7 General Scrapbook No. 31 1950-1951
Oversize 7 General Scrapbook No. 32 1950-1951
Oversize 7 General Scrapbook No. 33 1950-1951
Oversize 7 General Scrapbook No. 341950-1951
Oversize 7 General Scrapbook No. 35 1951
Oversize 7 General Scrapbook No. 36 1951
Oversize 7 General Scrapbook No. 37 1951
Oversize 8 General Scrapbook No. 38 1951-1952
Oversize 17 General Scrapbook No. 39 1952
Oversize 8 General Scrapbook No. 40 1953
Oversize 9 General Scrapbook No. 41 1954-1957
Scrapbooks- Specific subjects
Box 62 Aprons (Subject Scrapbook No. 1) 1950-1959
Box 62 Arsenic and Old Lace (Subject Scrapbook No. 2) 1956
Oversize 17 Broadway Talks Back (Subject Scrapbook No. 3) 1946
Box 62 Cookbook (Subject Scrapbook No. 5) 1955
Oversize 10 The Goldbergs (comic strip) (Subject Scrapbook No. 4) 1944
Oversize 10 The Goldbergs (movie) (Subject Scrapbook No. 7) 1949-1951
Oversize 17 The Goldbergs (movie) (Subject Scrapbook No. 8) 1950-1951
Oversize 17 The Goldbergs (movie) (Subject Scrapbook No. 9) 1951
The Goldbergs (TV show)
Oversize 11 Publicity and Promotion (Vol. 1) 1949
Oversize 12 Station Cooperation (Vol. 2) 1949
Oversize 13 Network Cooperation [no volume number] 1949
Oversize 14 Publicity and Promotion (Vol. 3) 1949
Oversize 15 Publicity and Promotion (Vol. 4) 1949
Oversize 16 Publicity and Promotion (Vol. 5) 1949
Oversize 17 Misc. publicity stills
Box 62 Guild films (Subject Scrapbook No. 6) 1955-1957
Box 63 Majority of One (play) (Subject Scrapbook No. 10) 1959
Box 63 Summer stock (Subject Scrapbook No. 12) 1956
Box 63 Summer stock (Subject Scrapbook No. 13) 1957
Box 63 Me and Molly (TV show) (Subject Scrapbook No. 14) 1948
Radio and T.V. Scripts (Total 1001)
1929
Box 3 Effie & Laura
1930
Box 3 The Goldbergs
Jan. 15
Feb. 26
March 19, 26
April 2, 16, 23, 30
May 7, 14
July undated
Sept. 19, 29
Oct. 6, 27
Nov. 3, 10, 17
Dec. 1, 20, 27
1931
Box 3 The Goldbergs
Jan. 17
Feb. 7, 14, 21, 28
Mar. daily shows
April daily shows
May daily shows
July daily shows
Sept. daily shows
Oct. daily shows
Nov. daily shows
Dec. daily shows
Box 3 1931 The Goldbergs, bound volumes
Episodes 79-104
Episodes 105-130
Episodes 131-156
Episodes 183-208
Episodes 209-234 (Jan. 20, 1932)
1932
Box 4 The Goldbergs, bound volumes
Episodes 235-260
Box 4 The Goldbergs
Jan. 1, 2, 4-9, 1-16, 18-23, 25-30
Feb. 1-6, 8-13, 15-20, 22-27
Mar. 1-6, 8-13, 15-19, 21-26, 28-31
April 1-6, 8-13, 15-20, 22-27, 29-30
May 2-16, 17-31
June
July 1-15, 16-31
August 1-15
Box 5 The Goldbergs
August 16-31
Sept. 1-8, 9-15, 16-21, 22-30
Oct. 2-15 (original), 1-15, 17-31 (original), 17-31
Nov. 1-18 (original), 1-18, 21-30 (original), 21-30
Dec. 1-15, 15-31
1933
Box 6 The Goldbergs
Jan. 1-13, 16-31
Feb. 1-15, 16-28
Mar. 1-15, 16-31
Apr. 3-14, 17-28
May 1-16, 17-31
Box 7 The Goldbergs
June 1-15, 16-31
July 3-14, 17-31
Aug. 1-15, 16-31
Sept. 1-15, 18-28
Oct. 2-13, 16-31
Box 8 The Goldbergs
Nov. 1-17, 20-30
Dec. 1-15, 18-29
1934
Box 8 The Goldbergs
Jan. 1-15, 16-31
Feb. 1-16, 17-28
Mar. 1-15, 16-30
Apr. 2-16
Box 9 The Goldbergs
Apr. 17-30
May 1-15, 17-31
June 1-15, 18-28
July 2-12
Box 9 Special subjects
Affairs of Molly, Episode 1-2
Auditions - Hotel Hideway
Mail – Letters re. Broadcasts
1935
Box 9 House of Glass
Apr. 17, 24
May 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
June 5, 12
Box 10 House of Glass
June 19, 26
July 3, 10, 17, 24, 31
Aug. 7, 14, 21, 28
Sept. 4, 11, 18, 25
Oct. 2, 9, 16, 23, 30
Nov. 6, 13, 20, 27
Dec. 4, 11
Box 11 House of Glass
Dec. 18, 25
Special subjects
Box 11 Auditions
Fifth Wheel, 1st & 2nd episodes
Goldberg, Nov. 15
House of Glass, March and April
Ma Ma Talks, August 1
Zeigfield, 1st & 2nd episodes
Box 11 Mail - Breakdown of fan mail for House of Glass
1936
Box 11 The Goldbergs
Jan. 20-24, 27-31
Feb. 3-7, 10-14, 17-21
Box 12 The Goldbergs
Feb. 24-28
Mar. 2-6, 9-13, 16-20, 23-27, March 30-April 3
Apr. 6-10, 13-17, 20-24, 27-May 1
Box 13 The Goldbergs
May 4-8, 11-15, 18-22, 25-29
June 1-5, 8-12, 16-19, 22-26, 29-July 3
July 6-10
Box 13 Ma Ma Talks
Jan. 22, 29
Feb. 5-12, 19, 26
March 4, 11, 18, 25
April 1
Box 14 Ma Ma Talks
Apr. 8, 15, 22, 29
May 6, 13, 20, 27
June 3, 10, 17, 24
Special subjects
Box 14 Auditions
Aunt Libby - Oct. 27
Goldberg, Colgate-Palmolive, Peet
Goldbergs, Mr. Kesson Robbins - Sept.
House of Glass, Dec. 8
Box 14 Mail - Breakdown of fan mail
1937
Box 14 The Goldbergs
Sept. 13-17, 20-24, 27-Oct. 1
Oct. 4-8, 11-15, 18-22, 25-29
Nov. 1-5, 8-12, 15-19, 22-26
Box 15 The Goldbergs
Nov. 29-Dec. 3
Dec. 6-10, 13-17
Box 15 Special subjects
Auditions - The Swinging Kid
1938
Box 15 The Goldbergs
Jan. 3-7, 10-14, 17-21, 24-28, 31-Feb. 4
Feb. 7-11, 14-18, 21-25, 28-March 4
Mar. 7-11, 14-18, 21-25, 28-Apr. 1
Box 16 The Goldbergs
Apr. 4-8, 11-15, 18-22, 25-29
May 2-6, 9-13, 16-20, 23-27, 30-June 1
June 6-10, 13-17, 20-24, 27-July 1
July 4-8, 11-15, 18-22, 25-29
Aug. 1-5, 8-12, 15-19
Box 17 The Goldbergs
Aug. 22-26, 29-Sept. 2
Sept. 5-9, 12-16, 19-23, 26-30
Oct. 3-7, 10-14, 17-21, 24-28, 31-Nov. 4
Nov. 7-11, 14-18, 21-25, 28-Dec. 2
Dec. 5-9, 12-16, 19-23, 26-30
1939
Box 18 The Goldbergs
Jan. 2-6, 9-13, 16-20, 23-27, 30-Feb. 3
Feb. 2-10 (not used), 6-10, 13-17, 20-24, 27-March 3
Mar. 6-10, 13-17, 20-24, 27-31
Apr. 4-7, 10-14, 17-21, 24-28
May 1-5, 8-12
Box 19 The Goldbergs
May 15-19, 22-26, 29-June 2
June 5-9, 12-16, 19-23, 26-30
July 3-7, 10-14, 17-21, 24-28, 31-Aug. 4
Aug. 7-11, 14-18, 21-25, 28-Sept. 1
Sept. 4-8, 11-15
Box 20 The Goldbergs
Sept. 18-22, 25-29
Oct. 2-6, 9-13, 16-20, 23-27, 30-Nov. 3
Nov. 6-9, 13-17, 20-24, 27-Dec. 1
Dec. 4-8, 11-15, 18-22, 25-29
Special subjects
Box 20 Auditions
America's children, April
Sunshine Inn, Za Zu Pitts, July
Box 20 Campbell Playhouse - Counsellor at Law, Jan. 6
1940
Box 21 The Goldbergs
Jan. 1-5, 8-12, 15-19, 22-26, 29-Feb. 2
Feb. 5-9, 12-16, 19-23, 26-March 1
Mar. 4-8, 11-15, 18-22, 25-29
Apr. 1-5, 8-12, 15-19, 22-26, 29-May 3
May 6-10, 13-17, 20-24, 27-31
Box 22 The Goldbergs
June 3-7, 10-14, 17-21, 24-28
July 1-5, 8-12, 15-19, 22-26, 29-Aug. 2
Aug. 5-9, 12-16, 19-23, 26-30
Sept. 2-6, 9-13, 16-20, 23-27, 30-Oct. 4
Oct. 7-11, 14-18
Box 23 The Goldbergs
Oct. 21-25, 28-Nov. 1
Nov. 4-8, 11-15, 18-22, 25-29
Dec. 2-6, 9-13, 16-20, 23-27, 30-Jan. 3, 1941
Box 23 Special subjects
House of Glass, for T.V. - May 1940
1941
Box 23 The Goldbergs
Jan. 6-10, 13-17, 20-24, 27-31
Feb. 3-7, 10-14, 17-21, 24-28
2, 1942Mar. 3-7, 10-14, 17-21, 24-28
Box 24 The Goldbergs
Mar. 31-April 4
Apr. 7-11, 14-18, 21-25, 28-May 2
May 5-9, 12-16, 19-23, 26-30
June 2-6, 9-13, 16-20, 23-27, 30-July 4
July 7-11, 14-18, 21-25, 28-Aug. 1
Aug. 4-8, 11-15, 18-22, 25-29
Box 25 The Goldbergs
Sept. 1-5, 8-12, 15-19, 22-26, 29-Oct. 3
Oct. 6-10, 13-17, 20-24, 27-31
Nov. 3-7, 10-14, 17-21, 24-28
Dec. 1-5, 8-12, 15-19, 22-26, 29-Jan 2, 1942
Box 25 Kate Hopkins
Apr. 7-11, 14-18
Box 26 Kate Hopkins
Apr. 21-25, 28-May 2
May 5-9, 12-16, 19-23, 26-30
June 9-13, 16-20, 23-27, 30-July 4
July 7-11, 14-18, 21-25, 28-Aug. 1
Aug. 4-8, 11-15, 25-29
Sept. 1-5, 8-12, 15-19, 22-26, 29-Oct. 3
Oct. 6-10, 13-17, 20-24, 27-31
Nov. 3-7
Box 27 Kate Hopkins
Nov. 10-14, 17-21, 24-28
Dec. 1-5, 8-12, 15-19, 22-26, 29-Jan. 2, 19428
Spot announcements
1942
Box 27 The Goldbergs
Jan. 5-9, 12-16, 19-23, 26-30
Feb. 16-20, 23-27
Mar. 2-6, 9-13, 16-20, 23-27, 30-April 3
Apr. 6-10, 13-17
Box 28 The Goldbergs
Apr. 20-24, 27-31
May 4-8, 11-15, 18-22, 25-29
June 1-5, 8-12, 15-19, 22-26, 29-July 3
July 6-10, 13-17, 20-24, 27-31
Aug. 3-7, 10-14, 17-21, 24-28, 31-Sept. 4
Box 29 The Goldbergs
Sept. 7-11, 14-18, 21-25, 28-Oct. 4
Oct. 5-9, 12-16, 19-23, 26-30
Nov. 2-6, 9-13, 16-20, 23-27, 30-Dec. 4
Dec. 7-11, 14-18, 21-25, 28-Jan. 1, 1943
Box 30 Kate Hopkins
Jan. 5-9, 12-16, 19-23, 26-30
Feb. 2-6, 9-13, 16-20, 23-27
Mar. 2-6, 9-13, 16-20, 23-27, 30-Apr. 3, 1943 Special subjects Listen America Jan. 4, 1942 The Treasury Star Parade- Treasury Dept.,
Aug. 11, 1942 Victory Front
Nov. 23-27, 1942
1943
Box 30 The Goldbergs
Jan. 4-8, 11-15, 18-22, 25-29
Feb. 1-5, 8-12, 15-19, 22-26
Mar. 1-5
Box 31 The Goldbergs
Mar. 8-12, 15-19, 22-26, 29-Apr. 2
Apr. 5-9, 12-16, 19-23, 26-30
May 3-7, 10-14, 17-21, 24-28, 31-June 4
June 7-11, 14-18, 21-25, 28-July 2
July 5-9, 12-16
Box 32 The Goldbergs
July 19-23, 26-30
Aug. 2-6, 9-13, 16-20, 23-27, 30-Sept. 3
Sept. 6-10, 13-17, 20-24, 27-Oct. 1
Oct. 4-8, 11-15, 18-22, 25-29
Nov. 1-5, 8-12, 15-19
Box 33 The Goldbergs
Nov. 22-26, 29-Dec. 3
Dec. 6-10, 13-17, 22-24, 27-31
Box 33 Special subjects
Auditions - Potash & Perlmutter, Oct. 20, 1943
Mr. Dunninger Program, Nov. 7
Goldbergs - Special Night Show, Feb. 8
What Price Victory, Apr. 12
1944
Box 33 The Goldbergs
Jan. 3-7, 10-14, 17-21, 24-28, 31-Feb. 4
Feb. 7-11, 14-18, 21-25, 28-Mar. 3
Mar. 6-10, 13-17, 21-24
Box 34 The Goldbergs
Mar. 27-31
Apr. 3-7, 10-14, 17-21, 24-28
May 1-5, 8-12, 15-19, 22-26, 29-June 2
June 5-9, 12-16, 19-23, 26-30
July 3-7, 10-14, 17-21
Box 35 The Goldbergs
July 24-28, 31-Aug. 4
Aug. 7-11, 14-18, 21-25, 28-Sept. 1
Sept. 4-8, 11-15, 18-22, 25-29
Oct. 2-6, 9-13, 16-20, 23-27, 30-Nov. 3
Box 36 The Goldbergs
Nov. 6-10, 13-17, 20-24, 27-Dec. 1
Dec. 4-8, 11-15, 18-22, 25-29
Box 36 Special subjects
Auditions - Ma Ma Talks, Dec. 13, 1944
Double or Nothing, June 2, 1944
Guess Who, June 3, 1944
Ivriah Luncheon, May 23, 1944
V-Day Script, Sept. 19, 1944
1945
Box 36 The Goldbergs
Jan. 1-5, 8-12, 15-19, 22-26, 29-Feb. 2
Feb. 5-9, 12-16
Box 37 The Goldbergs
Feb. 19-23, 26-Mar. 2
Mar. 5-9, 12-16, 19-23
Box 37 Special subjects
Name You Will Remember, by William Lang
1946
Box 37 Special subjects
Audition - The Goldbergs, Dec. 6
1947
Box 37 Special subjects
Audition - Penny, Jan. 21
1948
Box 37 Special subjects
Audition - The Goldbergs, T.V., 1948
Whistle, Daughter, Whistle, by Ernest Kinoy
1949
Box 37 The Goldbergs
Jan. 17, 31
Feb. 7, 14, 21, 28
Mar. 7, 14, 21, 28
Apr. 4, 11, 25
Box 38 The Goldbergs
May 2, 9, 23, 30
June 6, 13, 27
Aug. 29
Sept. 5, 12, 19, 26
Oct. 3, 7, 10, 17, 24, 31
Nov. 7, 14, 21
Box 39 The Goldbergs
Nov. 28
Dec, 2, 4, 12, 16, 19, 23
Box 39 Special subjects
Broadway Talks Back, ANTA Program, 1949
Red Feather U.S.A., Oct. 15, 1949
1950
Box 39 The Goldbergs - T.V. (day and night programs) and radio, arranged by T.V. date; see below for just radio scripts.
Jan. 2, 9, 16, 23, 24, 30
Feb. 6, 13, 20, 27
Box 40 The Goldbergs - T.V. (day and night programs) and radio, arranged by T.V. date; see below for just radio scripts.
Mar. 6, 13, 20, 27
Apr. 3, 10, 17, 24
May 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
June 5, 12, 19, 26
Sept. 25
Oct. 2
Box 41 The Goldbergs - T.V. (day and night programs) and radio, arranged by T.V. date; see below for just radio scripts.
Oct. 9, 16, 23, 30
Nov. 6, 13, 20, 27
Dec. 4, 11, 18, 25
Box 41 The Goldbergs - Radio only
Jan. 6, 13, 20, 27
Feb. 4, 11, 18, 25
Mar. 4
Box 42 The Goldbergs - Radio only
Mar. 11, 18, 25
Apr. 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
May 6, 13, 20, 27
June 2, 10, 17, 24
1951
Box 43 The Goldbergs - T.V. shows
Jan. 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
Feb. 5, 12, 19, 26
Mar. 5, 12, 19, 26
Apr. 2, 9, 16, 16, 23, 30
May 7, 14, 21
Box 44 The Goldbergs - T.V. shows
May 28
June 4, 11, 18
July 3, 10
Box 44 Special subjects
Anti-defamation League, B'nai Brith, Dec. 13, 1951
Big Show, Tallulah Bankhead, 1951
1952
Box 44 The Goldbergs - T.V. shows
Feb. 4-8, 11-15, 18-22 (2 folders), 25-29, (2 folders)
Mar. 3-7 (2 folders), 10-14 (2 folders), 17-21 (2 folders), 24-28 (2 folders)
Box 45 The Goldbergs - T.V. shows
Mar. 31-Apr. 4 (2 folders)
Apr. 7-11 (2 folders), 14-18, 21-25, 28-May 2 (2 folders)
May 5-9 (2 folders), 12-16, 19-23, 26-30
June 2-6, 9-13, 16-20, 23-27, 30-July 4
Box 45 Special subjects
Anti-defamation League of B'nai Brith, May 11, 1952
Big Show, Tallulah Bankhead, Feb. 24, 1952
1953
Box 46 The Goldbergs - T.V. shows
July 17, 24, 31
Aug. 7, 14, 21, 28
Sept. 4, 11, 18, 25
Box 46 House of Glass - T.V. shows
Oct. 23, 30
Nov. 6, 13, 20, 27
Dec. 4, 11, 18, 25
Box 46 Special subjects
The Goldbergs - Guild Filming "Rosie Nose" Oct. 27, 1955
1954
Box 47 The Goldbergs
Apr. 13, 20, 27
May 4, 11, 18, 25
June 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
July 6, 13, 20, 27
Aug. 3
Box 48 The Goldbergs
Aug. 10, 17, 24, 31
Sept. 7, 14, 21, 28 (2 folders)
Oct. 5, 12, 19
Box 48 House of Glass
Jan. 1, 8, 15, 22, 29
Feb. 5, 12
Box 48 Special subjects
Hearts & Hollywood - The Elgin Hour, Nov. 30, 1954
Motherhood and Brotherhood, Nov. 1954
1955
Box 48 The Goldbergs - T.V. - Guild Filming
Script #, Air date:
1, Sept. 22
2, Oct. 6
3, Nov. 17
4, Dec. 1
5, Oct. 20
6
8, Oct. 13
9, Sept. 29
10, Nov. 3
11, Nov. 10
12, Jan. 19, 1956
13
Box 49 The Goldbergs - T.V. - Guild Filming
Script #, Air date:
14, Nov. 24
15
16, Dec. 8
17, Jan. 5, 1956
18, Dec. 29
19
Jan. 12, 1956
20, Feb. 16, 1956
21, Jan. 26, 1956
22, Feb. 9, 1956
23
Rosie's Nose, undated
Box 49 Special subjects
Ed Murrow- interview
Home Show- NBC Cookbook, Nov. 1, 1955
Mind Over Mama- Elgin Hour, May 31, 1955
Week Day Radio- Margaret Truman, Dec. 16, 1955
1956
Box 49 The Goldbergs- T.V.-Guild Filming
Script #, Air date:
24, Mar. 8
25, Feb. 23
26, Mar. 1
27, Mar. 22
28, Apr. 5
29, Mar. 15
30, Mar. 15
31 through 36, undated
Box 50 The Goldbergs- T.V.-Guild Filming
Script #, Air date:
37 through 39, undated
Box 50 Special subjects
Molly Goldberg and the United Way
1957
Box 50 Special subjects
Academy Nominations, Silvers-Berg Spot, Feb. 1957
Arthur Murray
1958
None
1959
None
1960
Box 50 Special subjects
Ed Sullivan Show, April 18
1961
Box 50 Mrs. G. Goes to College
April undated
June 28
July 3, 11, 23, 27
Aug. 15, 16, 23, 30
Sept. 20, 26
Oct. 3, 4, 5, 20, 26, undated
Nov. 6, 7 (2 folders)
Box 51 Mrs. G. Goes to College
Nov. 15, 20, 29
Dec. 18, undated
"The Conference, " undated
Story Outlines: "The Big Thirst," "Excelsior"
Box 51 Special subjects
Aunt Sarah
SOS, Aug. 18
1962
Box 51 The Gertrude Berg Show
Jan. 11, 15, 17, 31
Feb. 5, 14
Special subjects, miscellaneous
Box 51 Comic script 1944 - scripts for promotion
Box 51 Cookbook, Molly Goldberg - mockup copy
Interviews
Box 51 Ben Bernie's Show Oct. 12, 13, 1936
Box 51 Cavalcade of Stars Oct. 18 (no year)
Box 51 Dunninger Show May 31, 1944
Box 51 Listen America Nov. 23, 1941, Jan. 4, 1942, May 26, 1944
Box 51 Margaret Arlen Show May 26, 1944, Oct. 14, 1949
Box 51 Nellie Revell Show Mar. 19, (no year)
Box 51 Paul Whiteman Record Club April 6, 1948
Box 51 Star Dust May 3, 1931, Mar. 4, 1934, May 26, 1940
Box 51 With G. Berg, re: move "The Goldbergs"
Box 51 Miscellaneous
Movie
Box 51 "Main Street to Broadway" - scripts
Box 51 "Make a Wish" - final shooting script
Plays-Stage
Box 52 "The Goldbergs" - original mss. & revision (3 folders)
Box 52 "Majority of One" 1959-1960 (3 folders)
Plays-Summer stock
Box 52 "Arsenic and Old Lace" 1956
Box 52 "Matchmaker" 1957 (2 folders)
Box 52 "Solid Gold Cadillac" 1956
Plays-Television
Box 52 Alcoa Hour- "Paris and Mrs. Perlman" Apr. 26, 1956
Box 52 Matinee Theatre- "Golden Door" June 4, 1957
Box 52 The Play of the Week - "The World of Sholom Aleichem" Nov. 30, 1959
United States Steel Hour
Box 52 "Morning Star" Oct. 5, 1952, Feb. 17, 1954 - radio script also
Box 52 "Six o'Clock Call" Jan. 15, 1955
Box 53 "Trouble-In-Law" Apr. 22, 1959
Scripts-Selected scripts
Box 53 Easter scripts 1938-1944
Box 53 Selected Goldberg scripts 1942-1945
Box 53 Yum Kippur 1941-1954
Scripts-Special occasions
Box 53 Allied Jewish Appeal, Philadelphia undated
Box 53 "CARE" Hannukkah Show Dec. 4, 1950
Box 53 Elsa Maxwell Party undated
Box 53 "The Four Seasons" Walter Slezack undated
Box 53 G-Day Rally, Cleveland, Ohio Apr. 9, 1951
Box 53 Goldberg's 20th Anniversary undated
Box 53 "Here Comes Axel"
Box 53 National Council of Jewish Women Award, San Francisco undated
Box 53 Promotional & spot announcements
Box 53 Stop the Music 1950
Box 53 Uncle Schnozzle
Box 53 War Bonds & Loans 1943-1944
Box 53 Synopsis & outlines 1937-1945 (3 folders)
Box 53 Vaudeville Act-"The Goldbergs" undated
Published materials
Box 54 Academy Apr. 1952
Box 54 Achievement May 1951
Box 54 The Advertiser Jan. 1936
Box 54 Advertising agency (2) June, 1948
Box 54 America Mar. 7, 1954
Box 54 The American Nov. 1941, Dec. 1952 (2)
Box 54 The American Hebrew Sept. 4, 1942 (2), Sept. 17, 1943, Oct. 8, 1943
Box 54 American Hebrew and Jewish Tribune Oct. 21, 1932
Box 54 The Billboard (2) Oct. 20, 1934
Box 54 Commentary Apr. 1956
Box 54 Congress Weekly (2) Mar. 5, 1951
Box 54 Congress Weekly Mar. 1951 - Overseas edition
Box 54 Coronet (2) Feb. 1951
Box 54 Cosmopolitan (2) May 1959
Box 54 Cue Aug. 7, 1943, May 21, 1949, Nov. 11, 1950 (2), Jan. 6, 1951, Mar. 10, 1951, Sept. 29, 1951 (2), Feb. 23, 1952, July 4, 1953, July 11, 1953 (2), Sept. 5, 1953, Apr. 17, 1954, May 8, 1954, Feb. 28, 1959
Box 54 The Dumont Tele-Centre June 14, 1954
Box 54 Everywoman's Feb. 1945
Box 54 Fame 1942, 1943, 1950
Box 54 Flair Dec. 1950, Jan. 1951
Box 54 Furniture Age Mar. 1951
Box 54 Glamour (2) Feb. 1951
Box 54 Good Housekeeping Jan. 1951
Box 54 Gotham Life Feb. 21, 1959
Box 54 Holiday Apr. 1955
Box 54 Hollywood Quarterly Jan. 1946
Box 54 The Jewish Forum Mar. 1959
Box 54 The Jewish Tribune Oct. 10, 1930
Box 54 The Jewish Veteran Mar. 1944
Box 54 The Journal of Living Oct. 1943 (2), Apr. 1950
Box 54 Leisure Time Aug. 2, 1953 (2), Dec. 13, 1953
Box 54 Life Dec. 1, 1947, Apr. 25, 1949 (3), Mar. 9, 1959 (2)
Box 54 Look Apr. 26, 1949, Feb. 13, 1951 (2), Feb. 27, 1951 (2), Mar. 1, 1960 (2)
Box 55 McCalls (2) Oct. 1955
Box 55 Majority of One undated
Box 55 Mayfair (2) summer issue 1951
Box 55 The Microphone Sept. 27, 1935
Box 55 The Nation Mar. 7, 1959
Box 55 The National Jewish Monthly Jan. 1955
Box 55 National Parent-Teacher June 1950
Box 55 Newsweek Apr. 11, 1954, Jan. 15, 1951, Mar. 2, 1959
Box 55 The New Yorker Feb. 28, 1959
Box 55 Page One 1951, 1954
Box 55 Panorama Jan. 19, 1959, Feb. 2, 1959
Box 55 Parade June 5, 1949
Box 55 Park East Apr. 1951
Box 55 Playbill- (Sam. S. Shubert Theatre) Feb. 16, 1959
Box 55 Playbill- (Ethel Barrymore Theatre) May 16, 1960
Box 55 Promenade July, 1959
Box 55 Quick Jan. 30, 1950, Mar. 26, 1951 (2)
Box 55 Radio Album Oct. 1949
Box 55 Radio Art Sept. 15, 1933, July 1936
Box 55 Radio Best Aug. 1949, Jan. 1950, Oct. 1950
Box 55 Radio Daily Sept. 21, 1943, Aug. 10, 1955
Box 55 Radio Digest Mar. 1933
Box 55 Radio Guide June 4, 1938, Oct. 22, 1938, Nov. 17, 1939 (2)
Box 55 Radio and Television Mirror Aug. 1941 (2), Feb. 1942, July 1949, Oct. 1949, Jan. 1950 (2), May 1950, Feb. 1956
Box 55 Radioland Mar. 1934
Box 55 Radio Mirror Aug. 1934
Box 55 Radio Parade Jan. 1941
Box 55 Radio Review Dec. 1944
Box 55 Radio Stars Dec. 1935, Apr. 1938, Apr. 1939
Box 55 Radio Television Mirror Mar. 1951
Box 55 The Raster summer issue 1954
Box 55 Recontructionist Dec. 24, 1954
Box 55 Saturday Review June 2, 1956 (2), Mar. 7, 1959
Box 55 Silver Screen Feb. 1951
Box 55 Spectator Aug. 1954
Box 55 Sponser Oct. 8, 1951
Box 55 Table Talk Jan. 13, 1936
Box 55 Telecast Dec. 1949
Box 55 Telecasting Nov. 28, 1949
Box 55 Televiewer July 10, 1953
Box 55 Television Guide Jan. 22, 1949, May 7, 1949, Aug. 6, 1949, Oct. 8, 1949, Jan. 21, 1950
Box 55 Television News Dec. 16, 1950, Feb. 24, 1951, Mar. 17, 1951, Apr. 7, 1951
Box 55 Television World (2) Feb. 20, 1949
Box 55 The Theatre Apr. 1959, May 1959
Box 55 Theatre Arts Sept. 1949, Oct. 1950
Box 55 This Month-in Television May 1949
Box 56 Time Apr. 26, 1943, Dec. 4, 1950, Jan. 29, 1951 (2), Mar. 2, 1959
Box 56 Today's Woman Mar. 1951
Box 56 True Confessions Jan. 1951
Box 56 Tune In Mar. 1943, Nov. 1945
Box 56 T.V. and Radio Magazine May 29, 1955, Oct. 9, 1955, Jan. 22, 1956, Sept. 2, 1956
Box 56 TV-Dial Apr. 14, 1951, May 26, 1951, June 9, 1951
Box 56 TV Digest Nov. 19, 1949 (2), Apr. 29, 1950 (2), June 3, 1950, June 10, 1950 (2), Nov. 11, 1950 (2), Dec. 16, 1950, Apr. 14, 1951 (2), Apr. 19, 1952, May 10, 1952, June 28, 1952, June 4, 1954 (2)
Box 56 TV Family Dec. 11, 1952
Box 56 TV Forecast Dec. 30, 1950, Feb. 3, 1951 (2), Feb. 10, 1951 (2), Oct. 13, 1951, Nov. 17, 1951, Feb. 23, 1952, Mar. 15, 1952, Mar. 22, 1952 (2), Apr. 12, 1952
Box 56 TV Guide Apr. 8, 1950, Dec. 2, 1950 (2), Mar. 3, 1951, July 7, 1951, Aug. 18, 1951, Feb. 1, 1952 (2), Feb. 22, 1952, Feb. 29, 1952 (2), Apr. 4, 1952, Apr. 11, 1952, Apr. 18, 1952, Apr. 25, 1952, May 2, 1952, June 20, 1952, June 20, 1952, June 27, 1952, Sept. 5, 1952, Oct. 10, 1952, May 22, 1952, July 24, 1953 (2), July 31, 1953, Aug. 7, 1953, Aug. 21, 1953, Sept. 18, 1953, July 17, 1954, Aug. 14, 1954, Aug. 28, 1954, Sept. 25, 1954, Nov. 13, 1954, Sept. 17, 1955, Feb. 25, 1956, Sept. 8, 1956, Mar. 5, 19??
Box 56 TV News June 4, 1954
Box 56 TV Post Oct. 10, 1954
Box 56 TV Radio Mirror Aug. 1954
Box 56 TV Review May 19, 1951, Apr. 21, 1951, June 16, 1951
Box 56 TV Screen Feb. 1951 (2), Aug. 1951
Box 56 TV Show May 1951 (2), Aug. 1951 (2), May 1952, Mid-Sept. 1952
Box 56 TV Today Mar. 24, 1951
Box 56 TV Week Feb. 16, 1952
Box 56 TV World Feb. 1954
Oversize 17 Variety (Radio City Number) Dec. 20, 1932
Box 56 Westchester Life May 1954
Box 56 Who's Who in Radio Jan. 1936
Box 56 Who's Who in TV & Radio 1951
Box 56 Who's Who on the Air 1932
Box 56 Woman's Day Nov. 1943, Dec. 1949, June 1950, Nov. 1950
Box 56 Woman's Home Companion (2) Sept. 1955
Box 56 Your Life Aug. 1952
Box 56 Your Video Guide May 12, 1951, Feb. 2, 1952
Box 56 Untranslated Japanese Magazine

Return to top