Finding Aids
printer friendly version

S. Fillmore Bennett Manuscript

An inventory of his item at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Bennett, Sanford Fillmore, 1836-1898.
Title: S. Fillmore Bennett Manuscript
Inclusive Dates: 1892
Quantity: 1 item
Abstract: Signed, handwritten manuscript of "The Sweet By and By," the popular Christian hymn written by the American physician and lyricist.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

S. Fillmore Bennett was a physician and lyricist, best known for his popular Christian hymn "The Sweet By and By," for which J. P. Webster wrote the music. The chorus of this piece is as follows:

In the sweet by-and-by,
We shall meet on that beautiful shore
In the sweet by-and-by
We shall meet on that beautiful shore

Bennett copied the song for H. A. Lorberg on April 20, 1892.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The S. Fillmore Bennett Manuscript collection contains a signed, handwritten copy of the hymn, "The Sweet By and By."

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Bennett, Sanford Fillmore, 1836-1898.

Subjects

Hymns, English -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Hymns.

Occupations

Lyricists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

S. Fillmore Bennett Manuscript,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of George and Lena Arents.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: SEH
Date: 08 Nov 1993
Revision history: 04 Sep 2008 - converted to EAD (LDC)

Return to top

Inventory

Writings
SC 111 "The Sweet By-and-By" 20 Apr 1892 - signed handwritten manuscript

Return to top