Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Belfer LP Collection

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Title: Belfer LP Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1949-1995
Quantity: 58,000 items
Abstract: Collection of 10" and 12" 33 1/3 RPM commercially produced recordings with a focus on American record labels. The 58,000 items contain over 500,000 tracks.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Belfer LP Collection began with the purchase of the Bell brothers' collection in 1963 and has been added to over the years by numerous other donors.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Belfer LP Collection spans the years 1949-1995 and includes 10" and 12" 33 1/3 RPM commercially produced recordings with a focus on American record labels. The 58,000 items housed in the Belfer Audio Archive contain over 500,000 tracks. The collection includes instrumental, spoken word and vocal performances in many languages, though English is the most frequently represented language. While the collection encompasses a cross section of classical, popular and spoken word recordings from around the world and all genres, the emphasis is on vocal and instrumental jazz and vocal and instrumental classical music.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

The collection is shelved in two parts by size, 12" and 10". All are arranged by record company name, then record number. There is no searchable online tool for access to individual records at this time. However, if the researcher can provide a record company name and record number, we can perform a shelf check to determine whether we have the item.

Return to top

Other Related Finding Aids

A list of labels represented in the Belfer Collection, for both 10" and 12" 33 1/3 records, is available here (if viewing this finding aid online), or at the end of this finding aid (if viewing hard copy).

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Access to recordings requires advance notice for production of a use copy.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Subjects

20th century American music.
American history through music.
American popular music.
Contemporary American music.
Folk music -- United States.
Jazz -- United States.
Music -- United States.
Sound recordings.

Genres and Forms

Long-playing records.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Belfer LP collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Purchases and gifts, various sources and donors, 1963-

Finding Aid Information

Created by: ML
Date: 1 Jun 2011
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

An inventory has not yet been created for this collection. Please contact the Repository listed above for more information.

Return to top