Finding Aids
printer friendly version

L. Frank Baum Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Baum, L. Frank (Lyman Frank), 1856-1919
Title: L. Frank Baum Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1880 (ca.)-1975
Bulk Dates: 1900-1942
Quantity: 6.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Biographical and genealogical material on the Baum and Gage families; material relating to the publishing history as well as the film and theatrical adaptations of The Wizard of Oz, including correspondence, manuscripts, reviews, publicity, and publications about Baum and Oz; photographs; and Oz memorabilia. Also, material pertaining to Russell P. MacFall and William W. Denslow.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

American author of children’s literature, native of Chittenango, N.Y.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Biographical and genealogical material on the Baum and Gage families; material relating to the publishing history as well as the film and theatrical adaptations of The Wizard of Oz, including correspondence, manuscripts, reviews, publicity, and publications about Baum and Oz; photographs; and Oz memorabilia. Also, material pertaining to Russell P. MacFall and William W. Denslow.

In 1980 the varied manuscript materials pertaining to L. Frank Baum, Russell MacFall and William Denslow in the Rare Book Division were transferred to the Manuscript Division, there to be combined with other Baum materials. Graduate students Dorothy Terino and Martha Maier found their semester Oz project turning into a year of work, culminating in an exhibit and the following inventory.

To the above have been added typescripts of L. Frank Baum, Frank J. Baum and Russell P. MacFall, as well as negatives and miscellaneous oversize illustrative materials.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Baum family
Baum, Frank Joslyn, 1883-1958
Baum, L. Frank (Lyman Frank), 1856-1919
Baum, L. Frank (Lyman Frank), 1856-1919, Wizard of Oz
Denslow, W. W. (William Wallace), 1856-1915
Gage family
MacFall, Russell P.

Subjects

Authors, American
Children’s literature, American
Children’s literature, Film and video adaptations
Illustrated children’s books
Illustrators, United States

Genres and Forms

Book reviews
Correspondence
Genealogies
Illustrations
Manuscripts for publication
Memorabilia
Obituaries
Photographs
Scrapbooks

Occupations

Authors
Illustrators

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

L. Frank Baum Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: 1980
Revision history: 3 Aug 2005 - EAD file created (MRR); 21 Oct 2008 - correction (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Genealogy - Baum and Gage Families
Box 1 Baum Biographical Information
Box 1 Published Biographical Information (2 folders)
Box 1 L. Frank Baum - Photographs
Box 1 Baum Family - Photographs
Box 1 Chittenango
Box 1 The Rose Lawn Home Journal
Box 1 The Show Window.
Box 1 Baum Writings
Box 1 Correspondence from L. Frank Baum
Box 1 Bankruptcy Cases - L. Frank Baum The Uplifters Club
Box 1 L. Frank Baum - Obituaries and Tributes
Box 1 Wills - L. Frank Baum, Maud G. Baum, Frank J. Baum, and Robert S. Baum
Box 1 Maud Gage Baum (Mrs. L. Frank Baum)
Box 1 Correspondence from Maud Gage Baum
Theatre and Films
Box 1 Early Theatrical Productions - Prior to Oz 1880-1903
Box 1 Paul Tietjens - Biography and Photographs
Box 1 Early Theatrical Productions - Wizard of Oz 1902-1911
Box 1 Wizard of Oz - Photographs 1902-1911
Box 2 Music and Lyrics 1900-1913
Box 2 Early Theatrical Productions - Oz Sequels 1905-1913
Box 2 Fairylogue and Radio Plays 1908
Box 2 Photographs 1908
Box 2 Early Films 1913-1925
Box 2 The Wizard of Oz - film 1939
Box 2 Photographs 1939
Box 2 Late Theatrical Productions - Wizard of Oz Post -1950
Box 2 The Wiz 1975
Publishing
Box 2 Publication History - The Wizard of Oz
Publishers
Box 2 Way and Williams (Correspondence)
Box 2 George M. Hill and George W. Ogilvie
Box 2 Bobbs-Merrill (includes royalty information)
Box 2 Reilly and Lee (formerly Reilly and Britton)
Box 2 Reilly and Lee - correspondence with Maud Gage Baum
Box 2 Copyright and other legal matters
Box 2 Reviews of Baum Books
Box 2 Reviews of Annotated Edition, reprints and reissues of Baum books
Box 2 Publications about Oz
Box 2 Book Publicity - Advertisements
Box 2 The Ozmapolitan (Reilly and Lee)
Box 2 Oz Playlets (Book Promotion) - scripts
Box 2 Ruth Plumly Thompson
Box 3 John R. Neill
Box 3 Jack Snow
Box 3 Rachel R. Cosgrove
Box 3 Illustrations and Illustrators for Oz sequels
MacFall
Box 3 Russell P. MacFall
Box 3 MacFall articles about Baum and Oz
To Please A Child
See also L. Frank Baum: To Please a Child and material under Baum, Frank Joslyn and Russell P. MacFall
Box 3 Related Material and Notes
Box 3 Press Coverage
Correspondence From:
Box 3 Frank J. Baum to R. MacFall 1956, 1957, 1958
Box 3 Mrs. Frank J. (Elizabeth) Baum to R. MacFall 1958-1964
Box 3 MacFall Correspondence - Baum Relatives
Correspondence From:
Box 3 Gage family to R. MacFall
Box 3 [Martin] Gardner to R. MacFall and others
Box 3 Greene brothers to R. MacFall
Box 3 [Fred] Meyer to R. MacFall 1953-1973 (2 folders)
Box 3 [Justin] Schiller to R. MacFall
Box 3 [Eleanor Hall] Wilson to R. MacFall
Box 3 Miscellaneous to R. MacFall - A-Z
Frank J. Baum
Box 3 Frank J. Baum (general)
Box 3 Correspondence from Frank J. Baum - Miscellaneous
Box 3 Harry Neal Baum - Correspondence
Box 3 Bill Ubank
Box 3 Dick Martin
Fred Meyer
Box 4 Fred Meyer - Miscellaneous Correspondence
Box 4 Robert R. Pattrick - Correspondence and other material
Box 4 The International Wizard of Oz Club (2 folders)
Box 4 Oz-related greeting cards
Box 4 Ozcot - Knox, Indiana
Miscellaneous
Box 5 Library Controversy (protest over removal of Oz book) L. Frank Baum Public School
Box 5 Baum and Psychology
Box 5 Oz Products
Box 5 Oz-Inspired Events
Box 5 Oz Games for Children
See also Wizard of Oz Game Cards
Box 5 Miscellaneous
Denslow
William Wallace Denslow
Box 5 Biography
Box 5 Photographs
Box 5 Book Publicity - Advertisements
Box 5 Elbert Hubbard Association
Box 5 Correspondence to MacFall from Doug Greene re: Denslow
Box 5 Miscellaneous Correspondence re: Denslow
Box 5 Wizard of Oz game cards designed by Denslow
Box 5 Order blank illustrating Denslow's picture books
Box 5 Reproductions of Denslow drawings (owned by Fred Meyer)
Box 5 Denslow Illustrations
Box 5 Denslow Illustrations - Life magazine abridged version of The Wonderful Wizard of Oz with Denslow illustrations
Box 5 Correspondence to Denslow from Paul West
Box 5 Article by Paul West (Denslow association)
Typescripts
Baum, L. Frank
Box 6 Wizard of Oz - typescript with music and lyrics
Box 6 Girl from Oz (A musical comedy) - typescript, with directions
Baum, Frank J.
Box 6 He Created the Wizard of Oz (To Please a Child, 1st version) - typescript
Box 6 To Please a Child, 2nd version - typescript (t.p., introduction, 1st chapter, missing)
Baum, Frank Joslyn and Russell P. MacFall
Box 7 Royal Historian of Oz: The life of L. Frank Baum, author of the Wizard of Oz (To Please a Child 3rd version) - typescript
Box 7 To Please a Child, 4th version - typescript 1960
Box 7 To Please a Child, 5th version - typescript 1961
Negatives
Box 7 Advertising handbill for new Wizard of Oz film (2 negs., 1 glass)
Box 7 Anna Laughlin in Wizard, Fred Stone as Scarecrow (2 negs.),
Box 7 Denslow at drawing board, plus 2 views of Paul Tietjens
Box 7 Frank and Maud, brother Harry and Wife (1 neg)
Box 7 Baum cottage as Macatawa, interior and exterior (on 1 negative)
Box 7 Baum family (2 negs.) Maud B., Edna B., parents and brother
Box 7 Baum family (2 negs.)
Box 7 Ads for movie The Last Egyptian
Box 7 Chorus girls in Wizard (2 negs.)
Box 7 Baum portrait and text written as photographer Green took the picture
Box 7 Drawings of and by Denslow, sketches of Montgomery and Stone
Box 7 Macatawa cottage (3 views on 1 neg.)
Box 7 Baum in garden at Ozcot, view of Ozcot (3 negatives)
Box 7 Baum cottage at Macatawa
Box 7 Oz Firm Manufacturing Company, Castorine can (2 negs.)
Box 7 Maud Baum, Mrs. Brewster? (2 negs.)
Box 7 Drawings of Fairylogue characters (broken glass negative)
Oversize Illustrative Material
Oversize 1 Map of the Marvelous Land of Oz
Oversize 2 Showboat Wizard of Oz, Act 1 and 2, sets and characters
Oversize 2 Showboat script for Wizard of Oz [and] Pinocchio
Oversize 2 Cinderella, Heidi
Oversize 2 Wizard of Oz coloring book (Swifts peanut butter, n.d.)
Phonorecords
Oversize 2 "Over the Rainbow" and "Let's catch a star," 45 RPM, Cricket Records
Oversize 2 "We're off to see the Wizard" and "The Thank you song," 45 RPM, Cricket Records
Oversize 3 Book poster for The Wonderful Wizard of Oz ca. 1900
Oversize 3 The Baum Bugle 1962 (2 copies)
Oversize 4 Poster for Hungry Tiger of Oz
Wooden models
Oversize 4 Scarecrow of Oz
Oversize 5 Patchwork Girl of Oz
Oversize 6 Book jackets (28 items)
Oversize 7 Photostats of newsclips
Oversize 8 Scrapbook - press material on To Please a Child
Oversize 9 MGM press material on Wizard of Oz
Oversize 10 Photostats from Chicago Record-Herald comic section
Oversize 11 Posters - Oz titles
Oversize 12 Photostats - Baum stories appearing in newspapers
Oversize 13 Proof sheets Oz characters
Books
Item level records for the many Oz books in our collection are not included in this finding aid. To see a complete list of all books by L. Frank Baum, please consult the library's main catalog, SUMMIT (accessible here). Search for "Baum, L. Frank" and select "*Author" under "Search By."

Return to top