Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Marjorie Battcock Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Battcock, Marjorie
Title: Marjorie Battcock Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1952-1960
Quantity: 3 folders (SC)
Abstract: Papers of the British poet. Collection includes correspondence, published material and photographs.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Marjorie Battcock was a British poet. Her work appeared in periodicals and literary magazines, and she published at least two collections of poetry.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Marjorie Battcock Collection consists of correspondence, published material and photographs. Correspondence includes Dublin Magazine, Irish poet C. Day Lewis and British author J. C. Trewin. Published material contains copies of Filigree Bridge, Fortress and Ease and Chiaroscuro, all by Battcock. One Photograph of Battcock completes the collection.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Battcock, Marjorie.
Day Lewis, C. (Cecil), 1904-1972.
Trewin, J. C. (John Courtenay), 1908-1990.

Subjects

Authors, English.

Occupations

Authors.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Marjorie Battcock Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Marjorie Battcock, 1964.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 14 Apr 2010
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
SC 454 Miscellaneous 1952, 1954, 1958, undated
Photographs
SC 454 of Battcock undated - inscribed to SU librarian Martin Bush
Published material
SC 454 Poetry collections 1956, 1958, 1960 - inscribed to SU librarian Martin Bush
Chiaroscuro (1960)
The Filigree Bridge (1956)
Fortress and Ease (1958)

Return to top