Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Will Barnet Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Barnet, Will, 1911-2012
Title: Will Barnet Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1930-1966
Quantity: 0.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American painter, printmaker. Correspondence (1937-1960); exhibition catalogs (1938-1965); manuscript and published writings, including a draft of an untitled autobiography; photographs and reproductions of Barnet's artwork; and various printed material, including articles (1937-1960) and clippings (1930-1966) about Barnet.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Will Barnet (1911-2012) was an American painter and printmaker, best known for his figurative paintings enhanced by abstract arrangements and printmaking. He was also an important figure in Indian Space Painting, a New York art movement which encompassed abstract and semi-abstract work on Native American themes.

Born in 1911 in Beverly, MA, he studied at the Boston Museum of Fine Arts School from 1927 to 1933. In 1978 he was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Arts, London and in 1982 he was made a member of the American Academy and Institute of Arts. He received an honorary Doctorate of Fine Arts from the Massachusetts College of Art in 1989.

He has had exhibits at a number of museums including the Virginia Museum of Fine Arts, 1943; Galerie St. Etienne, New York, 1943; New York University Art Gallery, 1956; Hirschl & Adler Galleries, New York, 1973; Wichita Art Museum, Wichita, KS, 1983; National Museum of American Art, Washington, D.C., 1995; Montclair Art Museum Montclair, NJ, 2000-2001; and in 2003 the Digital Sandbox Gallery in New York hosted "Will Barnet: A Poster Retrospective." His work is part of the permanent collection at nearly 200 museums around the world.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Spanning 1937 through 1965, the Will Barnet Papers comprises correspondence, artwork, writings, and memorabilia of the American painter and printmaker.

Correspondence (1937-1960) is limited to a few announcements of awards and invitations to exhibits, and two outgoing letters to art critic James Thrall Soby. Artwork consists of a single drawing, a number of exhibit catalogs (1938-1965), a 1945 inventory, with prices, of prints and paintings at various galleries, and a few photographs and reproductions of Barnet's work. Writings includes a manuscript draft of an untitled autobiography and four published articles by barnet.

Memorabilia consists entirely of printed material about Barnet, and includes periodical articles (1937-1960), newspaper clippings (1930-1966), publicity, and teaching-related publications.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Barnet, Will, 1911-2012.

Subjects

Art, American -- 20th century.
Art, American.
Painters -- United States.
Printmakers -- United States.
Wood-engravers -- United States.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Autobiographies.
Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Exhibition catalogs.
Photographs.

Occupations

Artists.
Painters.
Printmakers.
Wood-engravers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Will Barnet Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of Will Barnet, 1963, 1966.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: KM
Date: Jan 1993
Revision history: 4 Apr 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 1937-1960, undated
Artwork
Box 1 Drawing
Box 1 Exhibition catalogs 1938-1965, undated (2 folders)
Box 1 Inventory (with prices) by Barnet, of prints and paintings at various galleries 1945
Photographs
Box 1 "Will Barnet Makes a Woodcut - 1942" 1942
Box 1 Miscellaneous images and reproductions of work
Writings
Manuscript
Box 1 Autobiography (untitled) - ms. draft
Published
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1942-1964 (4 items)
Memorabilia
Printed material
Box 1 Articles 1937-1960 (2 folders)
Box 1 Clippings 1930-1966, undated (3 folders)
Box 1 Periodical - Art Front March 1937
Box 1 Production records for The Paintings of Will Barnet - dummy (partial)
Box 1 Publicity
Box 1 Teaching-related 1939-1958

Return to top