Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Ernst Bacon Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Bacon, Ernst, 1898-1990.
Title: Ernst Bacon Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1928-1990
Quantity: 15 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the American composer, pianist, and conductor; Director of School of Music, Syracuse University and professor (1945-1963). Manuscripts, notebooks, sketchbooks, photographs, printed music, and essays.
Language: Most in English, some in German
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Ernst Bacon (1898-1990) was an American composer, pianist, conductor, chamber musician, and teacher. For much of his teaching career he was Director of the School of Music at Syracyse University.

Born in Chicago, May 26, 1898, the son of Dr. Charles S. and Maria von Rosthorn Bacon, he attended Northwestern University and the University of Chicago, but obtained his master's degree from the University of California in 1935. He studied in Vienna for a time. After his return, He was associated with the Rochester Opera Company. Later he became conductor of the San Francisco Orchestra of the Federal Music Project, 1935-1937.

His first academic appointment was as acting professor of music at Hamilton College, in New York. Later he became Dean of the School of Music at Converse College, Spartanburg, South Carolina, 1938-1945. Mr. Bacon was appointed Director of the School of Music at Syracuse University in 1945, where he also taught piano and composition. In 1947 he became composer-in-residence. In Sept. 1964, he became composer-in-residence at the University of California at Berkley.

Mr. Bacon's major compositions were a musical play, A Drumlin Legend, commissioned by the Ditson Fund and premiered at the Columbia University Festival of Contemporary Music; his orchestral suite, From These States, in eleven movements, performed by the NBC Symphony; and his folk opera, A Tree on the Plains, commissioned originally by the League of Composers in 1940, had its premier at the Spartanburg, S.C., Festival, and which received the David Bispham Award for Contemporary Opera, Chicago 1946.

Mr. Bacon was awarded the Pulitzer Fellowship in 1932; Guggenheim Fellowship in 1939, 1942, Campion Citation; Grant-Citation National Institute of Arts and Letters; and he wrote musical criticism for the New York Times as well as musical commentary for the Syracuse Post-Standard and the Berkley Gazette. He is the author of the book Words on Music.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Ernst Bacon Papers consists of four separate accessions which have not been integrated. The researcher is advised to explore the entire inventory to ensure locating all relevant material.

Main collection

The main collection consists of four series: correspondence, musical manuscripts, literary manuscripts, and published material.

Correspondence is arranged chronologically and dates from 1939-through 1949. There are several undated letters.

Musical manuscripts, is arranged in three sub-groups: Songs from Emily Dickinson, A Tree on the Plains, and General music scores. Songs from Emily Dickinson and A Tree on the Plains are further subdivided into bound and unbound manuscripts; this in turn is further broken down into the types of manuscripts, such as orchestral, piano, songs, et cetera. General music scores is arranged by type or instrument for which the music was written. The breakdown is by Cello & Piano, Choral, Contrapuntal Studies, Opera, Orchestral, Piano, Sketch Books, Sketches, and Songs. Within these categories, an alphabetical arrangement by title of the score has been followed as closely as possible. However, when many scores were bound together or appeared in folio form, a strictly alphabetical arrangement was impossible. In these instances, the first title of the scores was used for an alphabetical arrangement.

Literary manuscripts consists of addresses (radio), articles, books and plays, arranged alphabetically by title. All but one is wholly typescript, although Mr. Bacon's handwritten corrections appear on many of the typescripts.

Published materials, consists of published materials about and by Ernst Bacon, a booklet, music scores, and newspaper clippings of articles and columns written by Ernst Bacon for the Berkley Daily Gazette and the New York Times. Where possible, these published materials are arranged alphabetically and chronologically.

Transfer from Archives

This material was transferred from the University Archives and consists of compositions and writings. Compositions remain in original order as received. Writings, which consists entirely of manuscripts, are arranged alphabetically by title.

1991 additions

The 1991 additions consist of artwork, compositions, writings, and memorabilia. Artwork contains a few drawings, paintings, and watercolors. Most of the Compositions material is oversized; it has been listed alphabetically in this inventory to simplify locating specific pieces. Writings have been subdivided by type and arranged alphabetically by title. Memorabilia contains awards, photographs (some oversize), an article about Bacon, and a few items from his student days.

1993 additions

A small amount of material, consisting of various scores and one essay, was added to the collection in the mid-1990s. This material is in a single container (Oversize 4) at the end of the collection.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

See Scope and content note above.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of several important composers and musicians, including Franz Waxman and Miklos Rozsa. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Bacon, Ernst, 1898-1990.

Subjects

Composers -- United States.
Conductors (Music) -- United States.
Music -- 20th century.
Musicians -- United States.
Orchestral music -- Scores and parts.
Pianists -- United States.
Songs with orchestra -- Vocal scores with piano.

Genres and Forms

Essays.
Musical scores.
Photographs.

Occupations

Composers.
Conductors (Music).
Musicians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Ernst Bacon Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: --
Date: Apr 1966
Revision history: Jan 1992 - Faculty/staff papers added (JOD); 1993 - additions (--); Sep 2008 - converted to EAD (MRC); Jan 2010 - oversize 3 update (MRC); 15 May 2012 - 1993 Additions inventory updated (MBD)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
Box 1 1939
Box 1 1940
Box 1 1943
Box 1 1944
Box 1 1946
Box 1 undated
Manuscripts, musical
Songs from Emily Dickinson
Bound Copies
Box 2 Songs, Second Series
Contents:
"Alter?" (original), 2 pages
If Some Little Artic Flower" (original), 3 pages
"Come Slowly, Eden!" (original), 3 pages
"How Happy Is the Little Stone" (original), 2 pages
"So Well That I Can Live Without" (original), 1 page
"Oh, Shadow on the Grass" (original), 2 pages
"It's All I Have" (original), 2 pages
"Poor Little Heart" (original), 2 pages
"Today or This Noon" (original), 1 page
"The Cricket Sang" (original), 4 pages
"And This of All My Hopes" (original), 2 pages
"There Came a Wind Like a Bugle" (original), 5 pages
"I Felt a Funeral in My Brain" (original), 4 pages
"The Grass" (original), 3 pages
"So Set Its Sun in Thee" (original), 2 pages
"So Bashful When I Spied Her" original), 2 pages
"There Is a Solitude of Space" (original), 2 pages
Songs from Emily Dickinson (published version), 36 pages
Unbound Copies
Songs
Folio
Box 2 "It's All I Have to Bring Today" et al. (original) (3 pages)
Box 2 "The Sun Went Down" et al. (original) (4 pages)
Single Copies
Box 2 "And This of All My Hopes" (original) (1 page)
Box 2 "As If the Sea Should Part" (original) (1 page)
Box 2 "From Blank to Blank" (original) (1 page)
Box 2 "The Grass So Little Has to Do" (original) (3 pages)
Box 2 "The Heart Asks Pleasure First" (original) (2 pages)
Box 2 "How Still the Bells" (original) (2 pages)
Box 2 "I Felt a Funeral in My Brain" (original) (3 pages)
Box 2 "It's Coming - The Postponeless Creature" (original) (1 page)
Box 2 "It's Such a Little Thing (original)
Box 2 "Savior" 1930 (original) (3 pages)
Box 2 "Savior" III (original) (3 pages)
Box 2 "Savior" May 1930 (original) (2 pages)
Box 2 "She Went As Quiet As the Dew" (original) (Seite/95) (2 pages)
Box 2 "She Went As Quiet As the Dew" (original) Oct. 1930 (2 pages)
Box 2 "So Set Its Sun in Thee" (original) (2 pages)
Box 2 "A Spider" (original) (1 page)
Box 2 "The Sun Went Down" (original) (2 pages)
Box 2 "Today or This Noon" (original) (2 pages)
Box 2 "With the First Arbutus" (original)
Box 2 "A Word" (rep.) (1 page)
Box 2 Sketch: "For Emily's Diary" (published by G. Schirmer) (original) (36 pages)
A Tree on the Plains
Bound Copies
Box 2 Dialogue and Stage Directions (rep.) (4 copies)
Scores
Full Score
Box 2 Volume I (rep.) (138 pages)
Box 2 Volume II (rep.) (120 pages)
Parts, Orchestral
Box 2 Bass I (rep.) (48 pages)
Box 2 Bass II (rep.) (48 pages)
Box 2 Celesta (rep.), typescript (8 pages)
Box 2 Cello (rep.) (53 pages, 2 copies)
Box 2 Clarinet I (rep.) (39 pages)
Box 2 Clarinet II (rep.) (27 pages)
Box 2 Fagott (rep.) (32 pages)
Box 2 Flute Alternating with Piccolo (35 pages)
Box 2 Harp (rep.) (28 pages)
Box 2 Horn I in F (rep.) (29 pages)
Box 2 Horn II in F (rep.) (25 pages)
Box 2 Oboe- Alternate with English Horn (rep.) (31 pages)
Box 2 Percussion - Bells and Xylophone (rep.) (41 pages)
Box 2 Percussion - Vibbs (rep.) (41 pages, 2 copies)
Box 2 Piano (rep.) (45 pages)
Box 2 Timpani (rep.) (13 pages)
Box 2 Trombone I (rep.) (20 pages)
Box 2 Trombone II (rep.) (19 pages)
Box 2 Trumpet I (rep.) (28 pages)
Box 3 Trumpet II (rep.) (20 pages)
Box 3 Tuba (rep.) (20 pages)
Box 3 Viola (rep.) (49 pages, 2 copies)
Box 3 Violin I (rep.) (53 pages)
Box 3 Violin II (rep.) some original (41 pages, 2 copies)
Box 3 Piano and Voice (rep.) (159 pages)
Unbound Copies
Orchestral
Full Score (folio)
Box 3 "Lou" (original and rep.) (9 pages)
Box 3 "Love O'Clock" (original and rep.) (14 pages)
Box 3 "Pop's Greeting" (original and rep.) (5 pages)
Box 3 "The Jeremiah and Pop's Sermon" (original and rep.) (35 pages)
Box 3 "The Last Train" (original and rep.) (13 pages)
Box 3 "Just Let It Be" (original and rep.) (20 pages)
Box 3 "Heat of the Plains" (original and rep.) (4 pages)
Box 3 "Tough Cookie" (original and rep.) (11 pages)
Box 3 "The Flower Patch" (original and rep.) (2 pages)
Box 3 "Conversation Before a Storm" (original and rep.) (2 pages)
Box 3 "Chewing Gum Island" (original and rep.) (13 pages)
Box 3 "Night-time Music" (original and rep.) (214 pages)
Box 3 "Hey" (original and rep.) (11 pages)
Box 3 "The Coming of Rain" (original and rep.) (17 pages)
Box 3 "Frog Went A Courtin'" (original and rep.) (19 pages)
Box 3 "Hymn to Evening" (original and rep.) (6 pages)
Box 3 "Lou and Corrie" (original and rep.) (27 pages)
Box 3 "Stars and Moon" (original and rep.) (21 pages)
Box 3 "The Vamoose" (original and rep.) (8 pages)
Box 3 "Pop's Song" (original and rep.) (12 pages)
Box 3 "The Philosopher" (original and rep.) (7 pages)
Box 3 "The Colorado Trail" (original and rep.) (20 pages)
Piano
First Version (folio)
Box 3 "Stirrings of Air" (original) (1 page)
Box 3 "A Pantomime of the Returning Neighbors" (original) (5 pages)
Box 3 "Lou" (original) (2 pages)
Box 3 "Lou and Corrie" (original) (6 pages)
Box 3 "Love O'Clock" (original) (6 pages)
Box 3 "Twenty Miles" (original) (4 pages)
Box 3 "Pop's Greeting" (original) (4 pages)
Box 3 "The Jeremiah and Pop's Sermon" (original) (25 pages)
Box 3 "Mom" (original) (13 pages)
Box 3 "The Last Train" (original) (8 pages)
Box 3 "Just Let It Be" (original) (11 pages)
Box 3 "Heat of the Plains" (original) (6 pages)
Box 3 "Buddy" (original) (1 page)
Box 3 "Tough Cookie" (original) (19 pages)
Box 3 "Chewing Gum Island" (original) (13 pages)
Box 3 "The Fight" (original) (22 pages)
Box 3 "The Rain Pours Down Nightly" (original) (14 pages)
Box 3 "Transport Plane" (original) (12 pages)
Box 3 "Vamp for Froggie" (original) (1 page)
Box 3 "Froggie" (original) (25 pages)
Box 3 "Hymn to Evening" (original) (9 pages)
Box 3 "Corrie's Song" (original) (7 pages)
Box 3 "Duet- Lou and Corrie" (original) (19 pages)
Box 3 "The Reverend" (original) (1 page)
Box 3 "Of Stars and the Moon" (original) (15 pages)
Box 3 "The Vamoose" (original) (11 pages)
Box 3 "Moonset" (original) (35 pages)
Box 3 "Corrie's Song" (original) (6 pages)
Incomplete Version (folio)
Box 3 "Fit To Be Tied" (original) (10 pages)
Box 3 "Song of the Little Tree" (original) (2 pages)
Box 3 "Twenty Miles" (original) (2 pages)
Box 3 "The Jeremiah and Sermon" (original) (111 pages)
Box 3 "The Progress of Streams" (original) (10 pages)
Box 3 "Dialogue: Lou & Corrie" (original) (1 page)
Box 3 "The Jeremiah and Pop's Sermon" (original) (10 pages)
Box 3 "Let It Be" (original) (3 pages)
Box 3 "Let It Be" (original) (5 pages)
Box 3 "The Way It Is In Town" (original) (1 page)
Box 3 "Heat of the Plains" (original) (4 pages)
Box 3 "Night-time Music" (original) (4 pages)
Box 3 "Conversation Before a Storm" (original) (5 pages)
Box 3 "Chewing Gum Island" (original) (2 pages)
Box 3 "The Coming of Rain" (original) (6 pages)
Box 3 "Buddy" (original) (2 pages)
Box 3 "Hymn to Evening"(original) (2 pages)
Box 3 "Sequel to Hymn" (original) (1 page)
Box 3 "Recitative, Blues, and Arioso" (original) (12 pages)
Box 3 "Forever" (original) (8 pages)
Box 3 "The Philosopher" (original
Songs
Folio Bound Copies
Box 3 "Frog A Courtin'" et al. (rep.) (11 pages)
Box 3 "Heat of the Plains" (rep.) (4 pages)
Box 3 "The Last Train" (rep.) (5 pages, 2 copies)
Box 3 "Lou" et al. (rep.) (40 pages, 2 copies)
Box 3 "Lou" (rep.) (3 pages)
Box 3 "Lou's Discourse" (rep.) (1 page)
Box 3 "Lou's Song" (rep.) (4 pages)
Box 3 "Mom" (rep.) (3 pages)
Box 3 "Mom and Corrie" (rep.) (3 pages)
Box 3 "Mom and Pop" (rep.) (3 pages)
Box 3 "Morning After the Rain" (rep.) (4 pages)
Box 3 "Pop's Greeting" (rep.) (4 pages)
Box 3 "Pop's Sermon" (rep.) (5 pages)
Box 3 "Prelude" et al. (rep.) (3 pages)
Box 3 "Rain Jubilation" (rep.) (3 pages)
Box 3 "Tough Cookie" et al. (rep.) (20 pages)
Box 3 "Twenty Miles" et al. (original and rep.) (13 pages, 3 copies)
Box 3 "Wind Before the Rain" et al. (original and rep.) (4 pages)
Single Copies
Box 3 "About Mom" (rep.) (4 pages)
Box 3 "About Mom" (original) (3 pages)
Box 3 "About Mom" (rep.) (2 pages)
Box 3 "Amen Chorus" (rep.) (2 pages, 10 copies)
Box 3 "Amen Chorus" (original and rep.) (2 pages)
Box 3 "Before the Rain" (original) (2 pages)
Box 3 "Buddy's Nocturne" (rep.) (5 pages)
Box 3 "Chewing Gum Island" (rep.) (5 pages, 2 copies)
Box 3 "Chewing Gum Island" (rep.) (2 pages)
Box 3 "The Coming of Rain" (original) (2 pages)
Box 3 "Corrie" (rep.) (2 pages)
Box 3 "Corrie" (rep.) (1 page)
Box 3 "The Fight" (rep.) (1 page, 12 copies)
Box 3 "Finale" (rep,.) (1 page)
Box 3 "Frog A Courtin" (rep.) (10 pages, 4 copies)
Box 3 "Greeting of the Dawn" (rep.) (2 pages, 12 copies)
Box 3 "Greeting of the Dawn" (rep.) (1 page, 2 copies)
Box 3 "Heat of the Plains" (rep.) (4 pages, 2 copies)
Box 3 "Hymn to Evening" (rep.) (2 pages, 13 copies)
Box 3 "Hymn to Evening" (rep.) (1 page)
Box 3 "Interlude" (rep.) (1 page)
Box 3 "Jeremiah" (rep.) (5 pages, 3 copies)
Box 3 "Jeremiah" (rep.) (3 pages, 3 copies)
Box 3 "Jeremiah" (rep.) (1 page)
Box 3 "The Last Train" (rep.) (8 pages, 12 copies)
Box 3 "The Last Train" (rep.) (4 pages)
Box 3 "The Last Train" (rep.) (3 pages)
Box 4 "Lou" (rep.) (8 pages)
Box 4 "Lou" (rep.) (6 pages)
Box 4 "Lou" (rep.) (4 pages, 2 copies)
Box 4 "Lou" (rep.) (1 page, 3 copies)
Box 4 "Lou" (rep.) (1 page, 2 copies)
Box 4 "Lou" (rep.) (2 pages, 3 copies)
Box 4 "Lou and Corrie" (rep.) (12 pages)
Box 4 "Lou and Corrie" (rep.) (missing as of 9/22/08) (1 page)
Box 4 "Lou's Discourse" (rep.) (2 pages, 2 copies)
Box 4 "Lou's Song" (rep.) (4 pages)
Box 4 "Lou's Song" (rep.) (1 page)
Box 4 "Love O'Clock" (rep.) (2 pages)
Box 4 "Love O'Clock" (rep.) (1 page, 2 copies)
Box 4 "Mom" (rep.) (3 pages)
Box 4 "Mom" (rep.) (1 page, 4 copies)
Box 4 "Mom and Corrie" (3 pages)
Box 4 "Mom and Pop" (rep.) (3 pages, 4 copies)
Box 4 "Mom's Rebuke" (rep.) (3 pages, 2 copies)
Box 4 "Morning After the Rain" (rep.) (4 pages, 2 copies)
Box 4 "Neighbor Man" (rep.) (3 pages, 2 copies)
Box 4 "Night-time Music" (rep.) (4 pages, 2 copies)
Box 4 "Noon Heat" (rep.) (1 page, 16 copies)
Box 4 "Pop's Greeting" (rep.) (3 pages, 4 copies)
Box 4 "Pop's Greeting" (rep.) (2 pages)
Box 4 "Pop's Sermon" (rep.) (5 pages, 4 copies)
Box 4 "Pop's Sermon" (rep.) (9 pages, 5 copies)
Box 4 "Pop's Sermon" (4 incomplete sets)
Box 4 "Pop's Sermon" (rep.) (missing as of 9/22/08) (4 pages, 5 copies )
Box 4 "Pop's Sermon" (rep.) (missing as of 9/22/08) (3 pages, 4 copies)
Box 4 "Pop's Sermon" (rep.) (1 page, 13 copies)
Box 4 "Pop's Sermon" (rep.) (1 page, 6 copies)
Box 4 "Prelude to the Fight" (rep.) (3 pages, 6 copies)
Box 4 "Rain Jubilation" (rep.) (3 pages, 13 copies)
Box 4 "Rain Jubilee" (rep.) (3 pages, 3 copies)
Box 4 "The Reverend" (rep.) (2 pages, 2 copies)
Box 4 "Return of the Neighbors" (rep.) (1 page)
Box 4 "Sequel to Hymn" (rep.) (1 page)
Box 4 "Shirley's Tap Dance" (rep.) (missing as of 9/22/08) (4 pages, 2 copies)
Box 4 "Song of Flowers" (rep.) (4 pages)
Box 4 "Song of Flowers" (rep.) (1 page, 3 copies)
Box 4 "Summing Up" (rep.) (3 pages, 12 copies)
Box 4 "Summing Up" (rep.) (2 pages)
Box 4 "Tough Cookie" (rep.) (missing as of 9/22/08) (8 pages, 3 copies)
Box 4 "Tough Cookie" (rep.) (5 pages)
Box 4 "Tough Cookie" (rep.) (2 pages)
Box 4 "Tree Song" (rep.) (2 pages)
Box 4 "Twenty Miles" (original & rep.) (2 pages, 3 copies)
Box 4 "Twenty Miles" (rep.) (1 page, 6 copies)
Box 4 "The Way It Is In Town" (rep.) (3 pages, 2 copies)
Box 4 "With the Mockingbird" (rep.) (1 page)
Box 4 "Wizard Oil" (original) (2 pages)
Miscellaneous Scores & Sketches
Scores
Obsolete Manuscripts
Box 4 1 p. Lyric, "Tree" Notes, no score 1 p. (holograph) (2 pages)
Box 4 3 Miscellaneous Sheets (original) (3 pages)
Box 4 IV "Pop's Greeting" (original) (2 pages)
Box 4 "Mom" (original ) (2 pages)
Box 4 XI "Various People" (original) (3 pages)
Box 4 XXI Duet, "Lou and Corrie" (original) (1 page)
Box 4 IX "Heat of the Plains" (original) (4 pages)
Box 4 XIII "Night-time Music" (original) (4 pages)
Box 4 "XXVIIa" (original) (1 page)
Box 4 XXII "The Reverend" (original) (7 pages)
Box 4 X "Tough Cookie" (original) (14 pages)
Box 4 XV "The Rain After the Drought" (original) (3 pages)
Box 4 XXIII "Of the Stars and the Moon" (original) (2 pages)
Box 4 1 Miscellaneous Half-sheet (original) (1 page)
Box 4 XX "Transport Plane" (original) (4 pages)
Box 4 "Transport Plane" (original) (3 pages)
Box 4 "Lou and Corrie" (original) (2 pages)
Box 4 "The Idling Windmill" (original) (2 pages)
Box 4 "Lou and Corrie" (original) (9 pages)
Box 4 "Mom and Pop" (original) (10 pages)
Box 4 "The Jeremiah" (original) (1 page)
Box 4 2 Miscellaneous Sheets (original) (2 pages)
Box 4 I "Lou and Corrie" (original) (1 page)
Box 4 V "The Jeremiah and Pop's Sermon" (original) (7 pages)
Box 4 XIV "The Fight" (original) (9 pages)
Box 4 "Prelude" (original) (1 page)
Box 4 "Mom and Corrie/ (original) (1 page)
Box 4 Misc. unrecorde
Old manuscripts
Box 4 I "Lou" (original) (3 pages)
Box 4 "Love O'Clock" (original) (3 pages)
Box 4 "Twenty Miles" No. It (original) (3 pages)
Box 4 "Pop's Greeting" (original) (4 pages)
Box 4 "Mom" 1 (original) (5 pages)
Box 4 "The Last Train" (original) (6 pages)
Box 4 "Let It Be" (original) (5 pages)
Box 4 "Various People" (original) (4 pages)
Box 4 "Tough People" (original, "Tough Cookie") (2 pages)
Box 4 "Jeremiah" (original) (1 pages)
Box 4 "Stand By Thee..." 10 A, B, C, D (original) (7 pages)
Box 4 XIV "The Fight"'(original) (2 pages)
Box 4 "Chewing Gum Island" (original) (3 pages)
Box 4 "16a-3" (original) (1 pages)
Box 4 "Chorus" (original) (1 pages)
Box 4 "Pop" (original) (1 pages)
Box 4 "Windmill" (original) (9 pages)
Box 4 "Transport Plane" (original) (5 pages)
Box 4 "Vamp for Froggie" (original) (1 pages)
Box 4 "Frog Went A Courtin'" (original) (8 pages)
Box 4 XVIIIa "Sequel to Hymn" (original) (2 pages)
Box 4 "Recitative Blues and Arioso" (original) (9 pages)
Box 4 XX "The Reverend" (original) (4 pages)
Box 4 "The Vamoose" (original) (3 pages)
Box 4 XXIII "An Easy Trot" (original) (4 pages)
Box 4 "Rain After the Drought" (original) (4 pages)
Box 4 4 "Twenty Miles"(original) (8 pages)
Box 4 B "Chewing Gum Island" (original) (4 pages)
Box 4 "Pop's Greeting" et al. (original) (20 pages)
Sketches
Box 4 "Night-time Music" et al. (original) (73 pages)
Box 4 "Notes to a Lamp on the Plains" (original) (149 pages)
General, Music Scores
Cello and Piano
Box 4 "Sonata for Cello and Piano" (original) (16 pages)
Choral
The Animals' Christmas Oratorio (to a text by Manuel Komroff)
Folio
Box 4 "The Butterfly and the Ant" et al. (rep.) (21 pages)
Box 4 "The Skunk" et al. (rep.) (18 pages)
Box 4 Overture (rep.) (18 pages)
Songs, Single
Box 4 "The Butterfly and the Ant" (rep.) (2 pages)
Box 4 "The Butterfly and the Ant" (rep.) (6 pages)
Box 4 "Conclusion" (rep.) (2 pages)
Box 4 "The Cow and the Dogs" (rep.) (2 pages, 2 copies)
Box 4 "The Cozy Pig"
Box 4 "Digging the Well" (rep.) (1 page)
Box 4 "The Hyena and the Cricket" (rep.) (2 pages, 3 copies)
Box 4 "The Lark and the Jay" (rep.) (6 pages)
Box 4 "The Lark and the Jay" (rep.) (3 pages, 2 copies)
Box 4 "The Lark and the Jay" (rep.) (1 page, 2 copies)
Box 4 "The Lion and the Sheep" (rep.) (6 pages)
Box 4 "The Lion and the Sheep" (rep.) (2 pages)
Box 4 "Pilgrim Hymn" (rep.) (2 pages)
Box 4 "The Praying Mantis" (rep.) (6 pages, 2 copies)
Box 4 "Preface" (rep.) (2 pages, 2 copies)
Box 4 "The Robin and the Gila Monster" (rep.) (2 pages)
Box 4 "The Secretary-Bird" (rep.) (3 pages, 3 copies)
Box 4 "The Secretary-Bird" (rep.) (1 page)
Box 4 "The Skunk" (rep.) (1 page)
Box 4 Untitled (rep.) (4 pages)
Box 4 Ecclesiastes Cantata (original) (79 pages)
General Choral Numbers (folio)
Box 4 "A Carol" (original) (4 pages)
Box 4 "Where Go the Boats" (original) (2 pages)
Box 4 "Rain After the Drought" (original) (3 pages)
Box 4 "Precepts Of Angelus Silesius" (1624-1677) (original) (11 pages)
Box 4 "The Robe" (original) (2 pages)
Box 4 "Shoutin' Pilgrim" (original) (3 pages)
Box 4 "Morn and Night" (original) (1 page)
Box 4 "Child's Evening Hymn" (original) (1 page)
Box 4 "The Soule" (original) (1 page)
Box 4 "Jonah" (original) (3 pages)
Box 4 "Golden Rules" ( original) (2 pages)
Box 4 "How Many?" (original) (2 pages)
Box 4 "The Last Train" (original) (3 pages)
Box 4 "Jonah" (original) (2 pages)
Box 4 "The Long Farewell" (original) (2 pages)
Box 4 "The Eternal Goodness" (original) (1 page)
Box 4 "The Soule" (original) (1 page)
Box 4 "Freedom" (original) (2 pages)
Box 4 "The Schoolboy" (original) (3 pages)
Box 4 "Shouting Pilgrim" (original) (4 pages)
Box 4 "Return of Spring" (original) (2 pages)
Box 4 "Where Go the Boats" (original) (2 pages)
Box 4 "Chop-Cherry" (original) (2 pages)
Box 4 "Yes, I Do!" (original) (2 pages)
Box 4 "Ode" (original) (4 pages)
Box 4 "Love Somebody" (original) (2 pages)
Box 4 "A Christmas Carol" (original) (missing as of 9/22/08) (1 page)
Box 4 "Waiting" (original) (missing as of 9/22/08) (1 page)
Box 4 "The Gambling Man" (original) (missing as of 9/22/08) (4 pages)
Box 4 "Love Somebody" (original) (missing as of 9/22/08) (4 pages)
Box 4 "The Pelican" (original) (2 pages)
Box 4 "The Little Children" (original) (1 page)
Box 4 "Money" (original) (2 pages)
Box 4 "God" (original) (1 page)
Box 4 "A Christmas Carol" (original) (1 page)
Box 4 "John Hardy" (original) (3 pages)
Box 4 "The Robe" (original) (2 pages)
Box 4 "Morn and Night" (original) (1 page)
Box 4 "Ode to Freedom" (original) (3 pages)
Box 4 "Golden Rules" (original) (1 page)
Box 4 "Child's Evening Hymn" (original) (1 page)
Box 4 "The Soldier's Little Boy" (original) (2 pages)
Box 4 "John Hardy" (original) (7 pages)
Box 4 "The Colorado Trail" (original) (3 pages)
Box 4 "Shouting Pilgrim" (original) (7 pages)
Box 4 "Morn and Night" (original) (1 page)
Box 4 "Freedom" (original) (1 page)
Box 4 "Jonah" (original) (1 page)
Box 4 "The Houn' Dawg" (original) (2 pages)
Box 4 "Just Down Yonder" (original) (2 pages)
Box 4 "The Camel" (original) (3 pages)
Box 4 "Devilish Mary" (original) (4 pages)
Box 4 "Schools and Rules""(original) (1 page)
Box 4 "Precepts of Angelus Silesius" (original) (7 pages)
Box 4 "John Hardy" (original) (3 pages)
Box 4 "Gifts from the Devil" (original) (2 pages)
Box 4 "The Happier Sheep" (original) (2 pages)
Box 4 "Down Yonder" (original) (4 pages)
Box 4 "Gideon's Sword" (original) (1 page)
Box 4 "Golden Rules" (original) (1 page)
Contrapuntal Studies, Early (bound)
Box 4 "Fugue" (rep.) (5 pages)
Box 4 "Fugue" (original) (4 pages)
Box 4 "Prelude" (original) (3 pages)
Box 4 "Fugue" (original) (4 pages)
Box 4 "Prelude" (original) (3 pages)
Box 4 "Fugal Fantasy" (original) (6 pages)
Box 4 "Fugue for Two Pianos" (original) (20 pages)
Opera
The Tempest, 1st Version (folio)
Box 4 "Storm Before Act. I, Sc. I" (original) (8 pages)
Box 4 "While You Here Do Snoring Lie" Act I, Sc. II (original) (1 page)
Box 4 Musical Fragments for "Tempest," Act I, Sc. II (original) (2 pages)
Box 4 Fragments for The Tempest Act I, Sc. II (original) (2 pages)
Box 4 "Enter Trinculo with a Burden of Wood" Act II, Sc.II (original) (2 pages)
Box 4 "Log-Bearing Music" (original) Act III, Sc. I (3 pages)
Box 4 "Caliban, "That's Not the Tune" Act III, Sc. II (original) (2 pages)
Box 4 "Ariel, "Is Nothing But Heart's Sorrow and a Clear Life Ensuing" (original) (1 page)
Box 4 "Introduction to Act IV" (original) (3 pages)
Box 4 "Prospero and Ariel Setting on Diverse Spirits" Act IV, Sc.I (original) (3 pages)
Box 4 "Music of the Shapes" (original) (2 pages)
Box 4 "No More Dams" (original) (2 pages)
Box 4 "Stephano's Song" (original) (2 pages)
Box 4 "Full Fathom Five" (original) (1 page)
Box 4 "Marriage Blessing" (original) (2 pages)
Box 4 "Music of the Goddesses" (original) (2 pages)
Orchestral
Titled Scores
Box 4 Blue Ontario and Misc. Scores (original) (63 pages)
Box 4 Country Roads (with lyrics) (original) (31 pages)
Box 4 From These States Bound (with lyrics) (original) (87 pages)
Box 4 The Muffin Man Bound (rep.) 2 copies (28 pages)
Box 4 Prelude and Fugue (original) (26 pages)
Box 4 Riolama (original) (21 pages)
Box 4 Songs with Orchestra Bound (with lyrics) (original) (76 pages)
Box 4 Symphony I 1st Movement (original) (68 pages)
Box 4 Symphony I 3rd Movement (original) (38 pages)
Miscellaneous Scores
Box 4 "Never to Know" et al. (some with lyrics) (original) (131 pages)
Box 4 "Tis Far Off Like a ( )" (some with lyrics) (original) (31 pages)
Piano
Titled Scores
Box 5 Burr Frolic Two Pianos published by Assoc. Music Publishers (original) (11 pages)
Box 5 The Coal-Shuttle Blues 1 Piano (original) (16 pages)
Box 5 Early Composition for Piano Bound (with lyrics in German and English) (original) (39 pages)
Box 5 Riolama (original) (9 pages)
Box 5 Symphony I 2 Piano Version (original) (90 pages)
Box 5 Symphony II 2 Piano Version (original) (26 pages)
General Piano Scores
Box 5 Volume I (bound)
Contents:
"Grey Days" (rep.), 1 page
"Falling Snow" (rep.), 5 pages
"Those Damned Foreigners" (rep.), 2 pages
"Delirium of the City" (rep.), 3 pages
"The Prairies" (rep.), 1 page
"Boisterous Fugue" (rep.), 8 pages
"Rain Dripping Off the Roof" (rep.), 1 page
"Organ Grinder with Monkey" (rep;), 1 page
"Gazing Out the Window" (rep.), 1 page
"Sweet Tones" (rep.), 1 page
"My Friends" (rep.) , 1 page
"Goodbye to the Princess" (rep.), 1 page
"Fuge" (rep.), 5 pages
"Canonische Fuge" (rep.) , 4 pages
"Fuge (drei stimmig)" (rep.), 3 pages
"Jazzing Shadows (Blues)" (rep.), 8 pages
"The Coal Shuttle Blues" (printed), 8 pages
Box 5 Volume II (bound)
Contents:
"Kankankee River" (printed) pub. by Wesley Webster, San Bruno, Cal., 11 pages
"To the Children" (original), 2 pages
"Organ Grinder with Monkey" (original), 3 pages
"Tender Hands" (original), 2 pages
"Sleepy River" (original), 3 pages
"In Hungary" (original), 1 page
"Gone Forever" (original), 1 page
"Poc Hiss Piv Lento" (original), 1 page
Miscellaneous Practice Pages (original), 2 pages
"Wastin' Time" (original), 6 pages
"Trio" (original), 6 pages
"Coda" (original), 2 pages
"Appendix" (original), 2 pages
"How Still the Bells" (original), 3 pages
Sketch Books, bound
Box 5 "Canons and Rounds" (original) (29 pages)
Box 5 "Cello, Sonata, Orchestra" (original) (74 pages)
Box 5 "The Cockleburr Frolic" (original) (109 pages)
Box 5 "Elk Lake" (original) (61 pages)
Box 5 "Epigrams" (original) (42 pages)
Box 5 "Further Sketches for 'Drumlin Garden'" (original) (59 pages)
Box 5 "John Hardy" et al. (original) (60 pages)
Box 5 "A Little Cycle of Christmas Carols for Cello & Piano" (orig.) (73 pages)
Box 5 "Little Tunes for the Piano" (original) (44 pages)
Box 5 "Lullaby" (original) (24 pages)
Box 5 "March" et al. (original) (120 pages)
Box 5 "Misc. Sketches incl. Choral Work for 'Farewell'" (original) (79 pages)
Box 5 "Notes for 'By Blue Ontario's Shore" (original) (24 pages)
Box 5 "Notes on 'By Blue Ontario's Shore"' (original) (55 pages)
Box 5 "Of Love" et al. (original) (48 pages)
Box 5 "Proverbs of Lao-Tsu" (original) (73 pages)
Box 5 "Scraps" (original) (37 pages)
Box 5 "Sketches of Overture and Piano Fugue Also College Song" (orig.) (51 pages)
Box 5 "Songs" (original) (70 pages)
Box 5 "Songs '50" (original) (46 pages)
Box 5 "String Quartet in A Minor Incl. 4 Movements" (original) (31 pages)
Box 5 "Table of Simple Newms and Song" (original) (53 pages)
Box 5 "Tempest Notes" (original) (15 pages)
Box 5 "Tunes for Drumlin Garden" (original & typescript) (78 pages)
Sketches, miscellaneous
Box 5 "The Bat" et al. (original) (190 pages)
Box 5 "Love" et al. (original and rep.) (108 pages)
Box 5 "Passacaglia" et al. (original) (300 pages)
Songs
Bound Copies
Box 6 American Songs Taken from Life (1 volume)
Contents:
"Sourwood Mountain" lyrics (printed), 1 page
"Sourwood Mountain" (original), 1 page
"Come All Ye Fair" (rep.) (original?), 3 pages
"Hammer Song" (rep.) (original?), 2 pages
"Common Bill" (original), 2 pages
"In the Days of Old Rameses" lyrics (printed), 1 page
"In the Days of Old Rameses" (original), 2 pages
"Bird in a Cage" (original) , 2 pages
"What Kind o' Pants (rep.) , 1 page
"Way Over" (rep.) , 1 page
"Red Iron Ore" (rep. , 1 page
"My Lulu" (rep.) , 2 pages
"Casey Jones" (original) , 7 pages
"Fond Affection" (original) , 2 pages
"Wizard Oil" lyrics (printed) , 1 page
"Wizard Oil" (original), 1 pages
"Don' Let Yo Watch Run Down" (original), pages
"Yes, I Do" (original) , 2 pages
"Walky-Talky Jenny" (original) , 2 pages
"Walky-Talky Jenny" lyrics (printed) , 1 page
"El-a-noy" (original) , 2 pages
"Times Gettin Hard" (rep.) , 1 pages
"The Hearse Song" (rep.) , 1 pages
"Irish Lullaby" (rep.) , 1 pages
"Walk In" (rep.) , 1 pages
"St. James Hospital" (rep.) , 2 pages
"Days of Forty-nine" (rep.) , 2 pages
"The Cruel Ship's Carpenter" (rep.) , 3 pages
"Putman's Hill" (rep.) , 1 pages
"Hick's Farewell" (rep.) , 1 pages
"Buffalo Gals" (rep.) , 2 pages
"The Hypocrite and the Concubine" (rep.) , 2 pages
"Trabbel On" (rep.), 1 page
"Lo Lotte" (rep.), 1 page
Box 6 Four Lyrics (1 volume)
Contents:
"Schilflied" German and English (original), 3 pages
"Ich Liebe Dich" German and English (original), 2 pages
"Ach Lieb, Ich Muss Nun Scheiden" German (original) , 2 pages
Box 6 Of a Feather: Songs to Verses by Marie Welsh (1 volume)
Contents:
"The Dove" (original), 2 pages
"The Vulture" (original), 2 pages
"The Pigeon" (original), 3 pages
"The Condor" (original), 2 pages
"The Sparrow" (original) , 1 page
"The Dove" (original), 2 pages
"The Pigeon" (original), 2 pages
"The Sparrow" (original), 1 page
"The Condor" (original), 1 page
"The Vulture" (original), 1 page
Box 6 Early Songs (1 volume)
This material is in a brown oversize book on top of Box 6.
Contents:
"Wandl'ich in dem Wald des Abends" (Heine) German (original) , 4 pages
"Wandl'ich in dem Wald des Abends" (Heine) German (original) , 3 pages
"Der Brief" (original) in German , 4 pages
"Frielingsgrusz" (original) in German, 3 pages
"Serse gieht duch mien gemlith" (Heine) German (original) , 3 pages
"Childe Harold" (Heine) (original) in German , 2 pages
"Aus Meinen grossen Schmergen" (original) in German, 4 pages
"Where Go the Boats?" (original) in English, 2 pages
"Looking-Glass River" (original) in English, 3 pages
"Schniezlied" (Heine) (original) in English, 4 pages
"Mit einem gemalten Band" (original) in German, 4 pages
"Es War ein Fauler Schieffen" (original) in German, 3 pages
Box 6 Songs (1 volume)
Contents:
"Cape Cod" (original) , 5 pages
"May Day" (original) , 2 pages
"The River" (original), 3 pages
"Epitaph" (rep.), 1 page
"Omaha" (rep.), 4 pages
"Fog" (original), 2 pages
"Rather" (original), 1 page
"Where Go the Boats?" (original), 2 pages
"Some Little Artie Flower" (original), 2 pages
"The Grass" (original), 3 pages
"Vespers" (original), 1 page
Practice Sheet (original), 1 page
"Never To Know" (original), 2 pages
Box 6 Songs (1 volume)
Contents:
"First Day" (original), 3 pages
"Twilight" (original), 2 pages
"Ancient Christmas Carol" (original) , 3 pages
"There Is a Solitude of Space" (original), 2 pages
"My River Runs to Thee"(original), 2 pages
"The Sun Went Down" (original), 2 pages
"Let Down the Bars" (original), 2 pages
"I'm Nobody" (original), 2 pages
"Let Down the Bars" (original), 2 pages
"The Sun Went Down" (original), 2 pages
"Epitaph" (original), 2 pages
"Ancient Christmas Carol" (original), 2 pages
"Wanderers Night Song" (original), 2 pages
"Der Soldat" (original), 2 pages
"As If the Sea Should Not Part" (original), 1 page
"From Blank to Blank" (original), 1 page
"Wild Nights" (original), 3 pages
"Let Down the Bars" (original), 2 pages
"It's Coming -- the Postponeless Creature" (original), 2 pages
"I'm Nobody" (original), 2 pages
"My River Runs to Thee" (original), 2 pages
"How Still the Bells" (original), 2 pages
"There Is a Solitude of Space" (original), 3 pages
"I Felt a Funeral In My Brain" (original), 3 pages
"She Went As Quiet as the Dew" (original), 2 pages
"The Grass So Little Has to Do" (original) , 4 pages
"So Set Its Sun in Thee" (original)., 2 pages
"The Heart Asks Pleasure First" (original), 1 page
"So Well That I Can Live Without" (original), 1 page
"Savior" (original), 3 pages
"And This of All My Hopes" (original), 2 pages
"Epitaph" (original), 1 page
"The Sobbing of the Bells" (original), 3 pages
"The Last Invocation" (original), 2 pages
"Beat! Beat! Drums!" (original),, 5 pages
"Joy, Shipmate, Joy!" (original), 3 pages
"One Thought Ever at the Fore" (original), 2 pages
"Grand Is the Scene" (original), 5 pages
"Whispers of Heavenly Death" (original), 3 pages
"Darest Thou Now, O Soul" (original), 7 pages
"Anthem For the United States" (original), 2 pages
"Love, O Love" (original)', 2 pages
"Drivin' Steel" (original), 2 pages
"Brady" (original), 5 pages
"The Colorado Trail" (original), 2 pages
"Wastin' Time" (original), 3 pages
"Great Gawd!" (original), 2 pages
"Low Bridge or the Erie Canal" (original) , 4 pages
"De Boll Weevil" (original), 6 pages
"Peepin' Through the Knothole" (original), 14 pages
"Midnight Special" (original), 3 pages
"Sucking Cider" (original), 2 pages
"De Sunshine Special" (original), 2 pages
"O, My Honey!" (original), 1 page
"O Bury Me Not" (original), 3 pages
"Anthem For the United States" (original), 2 pages
"Grandioso" (original), 1 page
Box 6 Songs (1 volume)
Contents:
"Grand is the Seen" (printed), 3 pages
"The Last Invocation" (printed), 2 pages
"Darest Thou Now, O Soul?" (printed), 6 pages
"Twilight" (printed), 2 pages
"One Thought Ever At the Fore"(printed), 2 pages
"Joy, Shipmate, Joys" (printed), 2 pages
"Whispers of Heavenly Death" (printed) , 4 pages
"The Sobbing of the Bells" (printed), 3 pages
Ten Songs by Ernst Bacon pub. by Ernst Bacon (printed) , 35 pages
"Du bist wie eine Blume" (Heine) (original) Translated on reverse side , 2 pages
"Ich hab' Dich geliebt" (original), 2 pages
"Ach Lieb, ich muss nun scheiden" (rep.), 2 pages
"Schubert" (rep.), 2 pages
"Dei Jedem Morgengrauen" (rep.), 2 pages
"Der Soldat" (rep.), 2 pages
"Sporuch" (rep.), 1 page
"Mit deinen blauen Augen" (Heine) (original), 2 pages
"Vergiszmeinnicht" (original), 2 pages
"An den Mond" (original) , 6 pages, 1 page translated into English
Box 6 Two Serious Poems (1 volume)
Contents:
"O Thou Who in Heaven Art" (rep.) in German & English, 3 pages
"Prayer" (original) in German and English, 5 pages
Unbound Copies
Box 6 Folio 1
Contents:
"Come All Ye Fair" (original), 2 pages
"...Girl" (original) (p. 1, 2), 2 pages
"A Carol" (original), 1 page
"A Carol" (original), 2 pages
"Preface" (original), 5 pages
"Afterthought" (original), 2 pages
3 Miscellaneous Sheets (original), 3 pages
"Euclid" (original), 1 page
"The White Window" (original), 1 page
"A Newcomer Arrives in this World" (original), 2 pages
"...Brady" (original), 2 pages
Miscellaneous- Untitled (original), 8 pages
"Duet VII" (original) , 4 pages
Miscellaneous Scores (original), 8 pages
"The Deep Sea" (original), 2 pages
"Anthem to the United States" (original) , 1 page
"XVIII Chorus" (original
"XXVIIb Duet" (original), 2 pages
"IV Dialogue" (original), 1 page
"XVI Chorus" (original), 1 page
"A Fairy" (original), 3 pages
"Don't Let Old..." (original), 8 pages
"XXV Song" (original), 7 pages
"VII Recitation" (original), 2 pages
"The Outang (Orang-Outang) and the Elephant" (lyrics, no score) (original) , 1 page
"XXIVb Recit." (original), 1 page
"XXV Recit." (original), 1 page
"XIV Song" (origlpal), 2 pages
"II Song" (original), 2 pages
"IV Dialogue" (original), 2 pages
Box 6 Folio 2
Contents:
"The Forsaken Heart" (original), 3 pages
"De Boll Weevil" (original), 5 pages
"Sourwood Mountain" (original), 2 pages
"Stars" (original), 2 pages
"To Musique, To Becalme His Fevers" (original), 3 pages
"The Divine Ship" (original), 1 page
"The Little Stone" (original), 2 pages
"Of Love" (original), 1 page
"Fond Affection" (original), 2 pages
"My Lulu" (original), 3 pages
D3 "The Commonplace" (original), 3 pages
D2 "A Clear Midnight" (original), 2 pages
"The Commonplace" (original), 2 pages
"Adam and Eve" (original), 3 pages
"The Divine Ship" (original), 1 page
"Is There Such a Thing As Day?" (original), 2 pages
"And This of All My Hopes" (original), 2 pages
"To Make a Prairie" (original), 2 pages
"Sons of Snow-White Heads" (original), 3 pages
"Velvet People" (original) , 4 pages
"To Musique To Becalme His Fever" (original), 2 pages
"These Yellow Sands" (original), 2 pages
"Of Love" (original), 1 page
"Stars" (original), 2 pages
"Gentle Greeting" (original), 2 pages
"The Lamb" (original), 3 pages
"Fond Affection" (original), 2 pages
"Low Bridge or the Erie Canal" (original), 3 pages
"Sourwood Mountain" (original), 2 pages
"Sucking Cider" (original), 2 pages
"Careless Love" (original), 2 pages
"Common Bill" (original), 2 pages
"The Colorado Trail" (original), 2 pages
"It's All I Have" (original), 2 pages
"Poor Little Heart" (original), 2 pages
"So Bashful When I Spied Her" (original), 2 pages
"The Grass" (revised version) (original), 3 pages
"A Carol" (original), 1 page
"Sinful Shoe" (original), 3 pages
"How Happy Is the Little Stone" (original), 2 pages
"Let Her Go Hang" (original), 2 pages
"Come Slowly Eden" (original), 2 pages
"Stephano's Song" (original), 1 page
"Lullaby" (original)
Single Songs
Box 6 "The River Queen" (original) (7 pages)
Literary manuscripts
Address, Radio
Box 6 "Radio Address by Ernst Bacon" Oct. 27, 1941 (6 pages)
Articles, bound
Box 6 "Musical Driftings" American Scholar - typewritten copy (12 pages)
Box 6 "Orchestras and Conductors" - typewritten copy with holograph corrections (8 pages)
Box 6 "Music After the War" - typewritten copy (8 pages)
Box 6 "The American Musical Credo" - typewritten copy with holo. corrections (5 pages)
Box 6 "A New Policy for Symphony Conductors" - typewritten copy (7 pages)
Box 6 "The Philharmonic Barshaw" - typewritten copy (carbon) (11 pages)
Box 6 Miscellaneous Note, "one concerto unwritten...the concerto and orchestra" - typewritten copy (1 page)
Box 6 "American Music and the Colleges" - typewritten copy (7 pages)
Box 6 "The Land of Impractice" - typescript (52 pages)
Box 6 "Who Writes Music?" - typescript (5 pages)
Box 6 "The Teacher" - typescript (5 pages)
Box 6 "The Clear Spring" - typescript (6 pages)
Box 6 "Unpaved Roads" - typescript with holograph corrections (8 pages)
Box 6 "The Assessor" - typescript with correction (5 pages)
Box 6 "Of Schools and the Provinces" - typescript (8 pages)
Box 6 "The Birth of Music" - typescript with corrections (8 pages)
Box 6 "Musical Shop-Talk" - typescript (24 pages)
Box 6 "Mr. President and the Faculty of Converse College" - typescript (7 pages)
Box 6 "Proposal for the Music School" - typescript (9 pages)
Box 6 "Outline of a New Orchestral Policy" - typescript (4 pages)
Box 6 "The Metropolitan Opera in American Art" - typescript (12 pages)
Box 6 "On the World's Greatest Bridge" - typescript (4 pages)
Books
Box 6 Notes on the Piano - incomplete typescript copy
Box 6 Notes on the Piano - incomplete typescript copy
Box 6 Notes on the Piano - partial holograph & typescript copy
Dialogues
Box 6 Imaginary Dialogues / Ernst Bacon April 28, 1989 - bound, blue covers
Plays
Box 6 Take Your Choice / Ernst Bacon, Phil Maturas, Raisch Stol - typescript
Published material
Articles
About Ernst Bacon
Box 6 "Ernst Bacon," Musical America April 1949 (2 pages)
By Ernst Bacon
Box 6 "An Academic Stepchild," Converse Literary Journal (3 pages)
Box 6 "College, Town and Music," Bulletin of the Assn. of American Colleges (3 pages)
Box 6 "The Converse College Music Center," Southern Literary Messenger 1942 (5 pages)
Box 6 "Has the Native Culture a Future?" Musical Courier (1 page)
Box 6 "Means and Extremes," The Provincial Musician April 1937 (1 page)
Box 6 "Music and Intuition," Music Teachers National Assn. Bulletin 1949 (8 pages)
Box 6 "Musical Driftings," The American Scholar (Phi Beta Kappa Quarterly) Spring 1941 (7 pages)
Box 6 "On Musical Study," Southwestern Musician March 1949 (6 pages)
Box 6 "Poetry in Search of Music," The Songs of Ernst Bacon (3 pages)
Box 6 "Toward a Musical Home Rule," The Southern Literary Messenger April 1940 (6 pages)
Box 6 "Who Writes Music?" Opera House News Nov. 1937 (2 pages)
Booklet
Box 6 "Our Musical Idiom," The Open Court Publishing Company, Chicago 1917 (48 pages)
Music Scores
Box 6 Ten Songs by Ernst Bacon pub. by Ernst Bacon (35 pages)
Newspaper Clippings
Berkeley Daily Gazette "Words on Music" column
Box 6 "Time and the Avant-Garde" Feb. 26, 1965
Box 6 "The Sad Exodus from Our Area" April 2, 1965
Box 6 "The Doctoral Complot" April 16, 1965
Box 6 "Degrees 'Livil' All Ranks" April 26, 1965
Box 6 "Secretary Bird in a Flap" May 5, 1965
Box 6 "Confessions of a Critic" May 12, 1965
Box 6 "The Symphony as a Civil Institution" May 14, 1965
Box 6 "Lets Revive the Salon" May 19, 1965
Box 6 "Farmers' Museum Fascinating Place" May 21, 1965
Box 6 "A Major Career in Bay Area" May 26, 1965
Box 6 "Der Herr Dictator" May 28, 1965
New York Times
Box 6 "Sees Music Aids in Small School" Dec. 24, 1939
Box 6 "Place of the American Interpreter" Jan. 2, 1944
Compositions (transfer from archives)
From These States (Gathered Along Unpaved Roads) a Suite for Symphony Orchestra, N.Y., Associated Music Publishers 1951
Box 7 Laying the Rails (a sledge hammer song)
Box 7 Source of the Tennessee
Box 7 The Sunless Pines
Box 7 The Saluda Barn Dance
Box 7 The Cliff Dwellers (no ancient cliffs, these)
Box 7 Wizard Oil
Box 7 Storm over Huron
Box 7 Lullaby to a Sick Child
Box 7 Polly's Murder
Box 7 Hickory Gap
Box 7 The Timberline Express
Quiet Airs, S.U. Press & Mercury Music Corp. 1952
Box 7 Twilight, To Douglas Moore
Box 7 Gentle Greeting, To Yves Tinayre
Box 7 The Devine Ship, To Frances Crane Lillie
Box 7 Of Love, To Eva Gauthier
Box 7 Eden, To Albert and Elizabeth Elkins
Box 7 The Little Stone, To Albert Frankenstein
Box 7 Fond Affection, To Giulio and Eveline Silva
Box 7 Stars, to John Edmunds
Box 7 The Heart, To Ethel Luening
Box 7 Song of Snow-White Heads, To Henry and Sidney Cowell
Box 7 The Lamb, in memory of Janet Fairbank
Box 7 To Musique, To Becalme His Fever, To Leo Eloesser
Ten Songs, published by Ernst Bacon, 35 Edgehill Way, San Francisco 1928 (3 copies)
Box 7 Beat! Beat! Drums! To George Fleming Houston
Box 7 Der Du von den Himmel Hist (O Thou Who in Heaven Art) To Helen Beck
Box 7 Schilflied (Nocturne) To Mary Prentice Little
Box 7 Ich liebe Dich, To Helen Beck
Box 7 Die Nachtblume, To Virginia Mandyszewski
Box 7 Was ist mir denn so wehe? To Roland Hayes
Box 7 Gebet To Sigrid Onegin
Box 7 Wanderers Nachtlied, To my Mother
Box 7 First Day, To Eugene Lombard
Box 7 Twilight, To Paul Horgan
Riolama; Ten Pieces, for piano and orchestra 1962
Box 7 I Salem
Box 7 II The Chama, N.M.
Box 7 III Creede, Colo.
Box 7 IV Nantahala, N.C.
Box 7 V Ruwenzori, Africa
Box 7 VI Gnaw-Bone, Ind.
Box 7 VII Gaspe, Ont.
Box 7 VIII Nicasio Valley, Cal.
Box 7 IX Riolama, Venez.
Box 7 X Pico Perdido, Spain
Box 7 The Sky's The Limit, for symphonic or marching band dedicated to the Syracuse University Footballers 1959 (2 copies)
Box 7 Symphony No. 2 set for 2 pianos by the composer 1936 (2 copies)
Fables for narrator and piano 4-H (or 2 pianos)
Box 7 Preface
Box 7 The Lark and the Jay
Box 7 The Possum and the Skunk
Box 7 The Secretary Bird
Box 7 The Butterfly and the Ant
Box 7 The Lion and the Sheep
Box 7 The Robin and the Gila Monster
Box 7 The Cozy Pig
Box 7 The Praying Mantis
Box 7 The Cow and the Dogs
Box 7 The Barracuda
Box 7 The Hyena and the Cricket
Box 7 Digging the Well
Box 7 Conclusion?
Great River, a symphony for Narrator and Orchestra
Full score
Box 7 I Preface
Box 7 I A River Created
Box 7 II The Peaks Colorado
Box 7 III Pastoral Valleys
Box 7 IV Desert and Canyon
Box 7 V Mexico Bay (The Gulf)
Box 7 VI A Pueblo Dance Prayer
Box 7 VII An Indian Death
Box 7 VIII Spanish Soldiers before Battle (New Mexico 1599)
Box 7 IX Mountain Man (Toas 1820-1830)
Box 7 XI The Honey-Eaters
Box 7 XII American Visions
Narrator's score
Box 7 I A River Created
Box 7 II The Peaks
Box 7 III Pastoral Valleys
Box 7 IV Desert and Canyon
Box 7 V Mexico Bay
Box 7 VI The Pueblo Danse Prayer
Box 7 VII An Indian Death
Box 7 VIII Spanish Soldiers before Battle
Box 7 IX Mountain Men
Box 7 X Soldiers by Firelight (Texas 1846)
Box 7 XI The Honey-Eaters
Box 7 XII American Visions
The Lord Star poem of Walt Whitman
Box 7 The Lord Star
A Tree on the Plains Music-Play
Box 7 Prelude
Box 7 Lou
Box 7 Love O'Clock
Box 7 Twenty Miled
Box 7 Pop's Greeting
Box 7 Neighbor Man
Box 7 Pop's Sermon
Box 7 Heat
Box 7 The Last Train
Box 7 Interlude
Box 7 Lou's Song
Box 7 Heat of the Plains
Box 7 Tough Cookie
Box 7 Return of the Neighbors
Box 7 Tree Song
Box 7 Mom's Rebuke
Box 7 Neighbors
Box 7 Chewing Gum Island
Box 7 Neighbors (cont) and Jeremiah
Box 7 Night-Time Music
Box 7 Prelude to the Fight
Box 7 Wind Before the Rain
Box 7 The Coming of Rain
Box 7 The Idling Windmill
Box 7 Transport Plane
Box 7 Frog A Courtin
Box 7 Shirley's Tap Dance
Box 7 Hymn to Evening
Box 7 Sequel to Hymn
Box 7 Corrie's Song
Box 7 The Reverend
Box 7 Buddy's Nocturne
Box 7 Mom and Pop
Box 7 The Plains at Night (Hight)
Box 7 The Vamoose
Box 7 Hoonget
Box 7 Dawn
Box 7 Morning After the Rain
Box 7 Lou's Discourse
Box 7 Mom and Corrie
Box 7 Finale
Big Bend and other Stories pieces for symphonic band
Box 8 The Rolling Year
Box 8 An Ozark Story
Box 8 Joshua Ebenezer Fry
Box 8 None But the Righteous
Box 8 Garry Owen
Box 8 Mexican Hat
Box 8 The Old Gray Goose
Box 8 The Rumptifusel
Box 8 Drip-Drop Rain
Box 8 Captain Kidd
Box 8 The Chucklehead
Box 8 Lumkin County
Box 8 The Buffalo Skinnerd
Box 8 Weary Hut
Box 8 The Big Bend
Suite for viola and piano, "Peterborough, N.H." for Mrs. Edward MacDowell 1952
Box 8 The Farm
Box 8 The 11:38 Daily
Box 8 The Rill
Box 8 Monadnock at Dusk
Box 8 Glad Day
Three Pieces for Brass Choir and Percussion (bound)
Box 8 The Rolling Years
Box 8 The Little Black Train
Box 8 Granite Boys
Box 8 Joshua Ebenezer Fry
Box 8 August (poem by Annette Wynne)
Box 8 Adam and Eve
Box 8 After the Rain
Box 8 Ariel's Song
Box 8 Precepts of Angelus Silesius (for Bennington College)
Box 8 The Bohemian Hymn
Box 8 Boston Hymn
Apothegms
Box 8 The Eternal Paradox
Box 8 The Lasting Stone
Box 8 Definition
Box 8 The Passing Moment
Box 8 Uses of Wit
Box 8 Eternity
Box 8 Truth and Man
Box 8 Nature
Box 8 The Poet
Box 8 Pedantry
Box 8 Spirits and Elements
Box 8 Teaching
Box 8 The Happier Sheep
Box 8 Gifts from the Devil
Box 8 The Levellers
Box 8 The Camel
Box 8 Our Friends
Box 8 To a Loving Husband
Pieces For Band
Box 8 None But the Righteous
Box 8 An Ozark Story
Box 8 The Rumptifusel
Box 8 Joshua Ebenezer Fry
Box 8 The Old Gray Goose
Box 8 Lumkin County
Box 8 Weary Hut
Box 8 Drip-Drop Rain
Box 8 Garry Owen
Box 8 The Rolling Years
Box 8 The Chucklehead
Box 8 Captain Kidd
Box 8 The Buffalo Skinners
Box 8 Mexican Hat
Box 8 The Big Bend
Box 8 The Sky's the Limit
Box 8 Symphony No. 2 1936
Box 8 Buffalo Gals (published)
Four Pieces for Wind Solo and Piano
Box 8 Dusk Over the Marsh
Box 8 Stony-Lonesome
Box 8 4 Poultry or The Barnyard
Box 8 Pecos Bill
Four Pieces for Two Violins and Piano
Box 8 Ode to Dusk
Box 8 Garry Owen
Box 8 Ground Hog
Box 8 Three Little Babes
Pieces for Solo Piano
Box 8 The Rolling Years
Box 8 Lumkin County
Box 8 Captain Kidd
Box 8 Lost Children
Box 8 Stoney-Lonesome (Ind.)
Box 8 The White Window
Box 8 Little Things
Box 8 A Western Habanera
Box 8 Reuben
Box 8 Drip-Drop Rain
Box 8 Flop-Eared Man
Box 8 The Cool Moon (a nocturne)
Box 8 Hell in Texas (revised)
Box 8 The Ragged Rascal
Box 8 The Chucklehead
Box 8 Petticoat Slide
Box 8 An Ozark Story
Box 8 The Lobo Girl of Devil's River
Five Apothegms of Lao-Tzu, Bynner transl. for narrator and string quartet
Box 8 The Breath of Life
Box 8 Those Who Would Take Over
Box 8 A Man's Heart
Box 8 The Yield of Water
Box 8 Renewal
Music for Cello and Piano
Box 8 The Flower of Night
Box 8 The Purple Land
Box 8 The Rose of Wintertime (Christmas carol)
Box 8 Greensleeves (Christmas carol)
Box 8 Mother and Child (Christmas carol)
Box 8 The Holly and the Ivy (Christmas carol)
Welcome; a suite for cello and piano (written for the birth of my son, Paul)
Box 8 Birth
Box 8 Light
Box 8 Love (a mother and father regard their child)
Box 8 The Barnyard (2 copies)
Box 8 Prologue to "Everyman" for organ, solo cello and optional harp (written for the Rocky Mountain Festival, Denver University, 1945)
The Dove
Box 9 I The Dove
Box 9 II The Vulture
Box 9 III The Sparrow
Box 9 IV The Pigeon
Box 9 V The Condor
Quintet for Strings and Piano (based on Tempest, full score and parts for cello, violin, viola, and violin)
Box 9 Shipwreck and the Enchanted Isle
Box 9 Ariel
Box 9 Conspirators
Box 9 Caliban
Box 9 Miranda and Prospero
Box 9 Danse of the Shapes
Box 9 Diverse Spirits Punish the Conspirators and Prospero's Epilogue
Box 9 By Blue Ontario's Shore
Caliban
Box 9 Caliban (Shakespeare)
The Colorado Trail
Box 9 The Colorado Trail
Calm Soul
Box 9 Calm Soul
Courting Day
Box 9 Monday Was My Courting Day
A Cradle Hymn
Box 9 A Cradle Hymn
Cripple Creek
Box 9 Cripple Creek
Destiny of the Flag
Box 9 Destiny of the Flag
Definition
Box 9 Definition
Death
Box 9 Death
Day's End
Box 9 Day's End
The Cruel Ship's Carpenter
Box 9 The Cruel Ship's Carpenter
Ecclesiastes
Box 9 Full Score, for mixed chorus and orchestra with bass and soprano solos (no title songs)
Box 9 Piano score
Flowers and Moonlight
Box 9 Flowers and Moonlight
Box 9 The Floundering Whale
Box 9 The First Sunset
Box 9 Eternity
Box 9 The Eternal Goodness
Box 9 Epitaph
Box 9 From Emily's Diary
Songs for High Voice
Box 9 Eternity
Box 9 Sweet is the Swamp
Box 9 Ample Make this Bed
Box 9 A Word
Box 9 The Gentlest Mother
Box 9 I'm Nobody
Box 9 As Imperceptibly as Grief
Box 9 The Sun Went Down
Box 9 Savior
Box 9 Snow
Box 9 A Cemetery
Box 9 The Mountain
Box 9 Yellow
Box 9 The Pedigree of Honey
Box 9 As I Love Thee
Box 9 She Went
Box 9 With the First Arbutus
Box 9 This Wondrous Sea
Box 9 It's Such a Little Thing
Box 9 A Spider
Box 9 The Morns are Meeker
Box 9 Water
Box 9 To Venerate the Days
Box 9 Few Get Enough
Box 9 Yes I Do
Box 9 The School Boy
Box 9 St. James's Hospital
Box 9 Sailing Homeward
Box 9 The Poet
Box 9 The Passing Moment
Box 9 Wastin' Time
Box 9 The Unseen Soul
Box 9 The Spanish Armada
Box 9 The Source
Box 9 Night and Day
Box 9 In the Valley
Box 9 The Day of Old Rameses
Box 9 I Felt a Funeral in My Brain
Box 9 Homecoming
Box 9 Hammar Mad
Writings (transfer from archives)
Manuscripts
Box 9 The Art of Giving - typescript
Box 9 The Critic's Dilemma - typescript
Box 9 Der Herr Diktator - typescript
Box 9 The Doctoral Complot - typescript
Box 9 The Farmer's Museum
Box 9 "Musical Quillets" in Music Journal July, 1966
Box 9 Music and Children - typescript
Box 9 A Music Center - typescript
Box 9 The New Puritanism - typescript
Box 9 Retirement by the Clock - typescript, typescript copy (2 copies)
Box 9 Fables - typescript copy (106 pages)
Artwork (1991 additions)
Box 10 Drawings (3 items)
Box 10 Paintings (3 items)
Oversize 1 Watercolors
Compositions (1991 additions)
Oversize 1 Air des Bouffons - score
Oversize 1 The Animals' Christmas Oratorio
Oversize 1 Animals' Christmas Oratorio for boys or women's voices with narrator & piano
Oversize 1 Bearwalla - orchestral score
Oversize 1 Beat! Beat! Drums! - score
Box 10 Billy in the Darbies - Melville's poem in "Billy Budd"
Oversize 1 Canons a capella
Box 10 Canons on names
Box 10 Canons, vocal (3 items)
Box 10 Cello ensembles (easy)
Box 10 Chittenango - orchestral parts
Box 10 Choral parts for canons / Vocal duets
Box 10 Chorus with piano
Oversize 1 Chorus V / Christmas Choral
Oversize 1 Concerto Grosso
Oversize 1 The Corn Belt for Band
Oversize 1 Drum Taps (full score)
Box 10 Duets (simple)
Oversize 1 Emily Dickinson originals from "Nature"
Oversize 1 E[mily] Dickinson originals # II
Oversize 1 E[mily] Dickinson settings with orchestra
Oversize 1 E[mily] Dickinson song (last)
Oversize 1 Emily Dickinson songs / 1 Robert Burns song
Oversize 1 Emily's Diary - S & A chorus with small orchestra
Oversize 1 Folk settings with piano (simple, unison)
Oversize 1 Folk song settings for solo or unison chorus (early)
Oversize 1 German songs (early)
Oversize 1 H & L chorus with piano (folk sources)
Oversize 1 "Hootnanny," a collection of 4-hand piano pieces
Oversize 1 Housman
Box 10 Housman, A. E. (songs to)
Box 10 Hymns (2 items)
Oversize 1 Hymns & anthems (35 items)
Oversize 1 Hymns for chorus and strings (5 items)
Oversize 1 Jehovah & the Ark, 2 piano version (originals)
Oversize 1 Lieder MSS. published or changed (earlier versions)
Box 10 "The Lord Star" cantata for mixed chorus, baritone, organ & wind
Music notebooks
Box 10 Cello Concerto
Box 10 Folk Songs
Box 10 Fugue
Box 10 Piano Pieces
Box 10 Scherzo
Box 10 Miscellaneous (9 items)
Oversize 1 My River - parts & score
Oversize 1 "Nature"
Oversize 2 Non-Dickinson lieder
Box 10 Notes on Babylon
Oversize 2 "Of a Feather" - for SA chorus with piano
Oversize 2 Patriotic American songs, etc. (10 items)
Oversize 2 Piano
Oversize 2 Piano (children, easy)
Oversize 2 Piano - four-hand
Oversize 2 Piano - mostly published
Box 10 Piano (Parliament of Fowls)
Oversize 2 Piano originals
Oversize 2 Piano pieces (Grades 1 to 6)
Oversize 2 Piano pieces (miscellaneous) (2 folders)
Oversize 2 Piano pieces (miscellaneous, solo)
Oversize 2 Piano pieces needing revise or re-write
Oversize 2 Piano solo
Oversize 2 Piano solo - Beginner I
Oversize 2 Piano solo - Simple Airs from Here and There
Oversize 2 Piano solos; vocal solos / Progressive versions of 3 tender songs (late)
Box 10 Piano works (late)
Oversize 2 Piano works (late)
Oversize 2 Pianos (2) (2 folders)
Box 10 The Possum and the Skunk
Box 10 Publisher's engravings of: "Year's End," "Go, Tell it on the Mountain," "Far Away"
Box 10 Recessional
Oversize 3 Remembering Ansel Adams
Oversize 3 Rounds and canons
Oversize 3 SA a capella
Oversize 3 SA with piano
Oversize 3 SATB a capella
Oversize 3 SATB with piano
Box 10 Sketches
Box 10 Sketches for Requiem
Oversize 3 Sonata for cello and piano
Oversize 3 Sonata for viola and piano Songs (group)
Box 10 Trio - piano, violin, cello Trio #2 - score and parts
Oversize 3 Unison chorus with piano
Oversize 3 Voyage to Ararat
Box 10 White Marsh
Oversize 3 Wind ensembles with piano and narrator (2 items)
Oversize 3 Woodpile
Oversize 3 Woodpile of incomplete very late works
Box 10 Miscellaneous musical sketches, fragments
Oversize 3 Miscellaneous original pages for voice and piano
Oversize 3 Untitled songbook
Writings (1991 additions)
Drama
Box 10 "The Whitehouse Blues" script
Essay
Box 10 "Advice to Music Patrons" - manuscript
Box 10 "The Artist and the Critic," The Art of Criticism ( 1984)
Box 10 "Author's Note" - ms. draft
Box 10 "Means and Extremes," The Provincial Musician April 1937
Box 10 "Poetry in Search of Music"; "Songs of Ernst Bacon" / J. St. Edmunds, The Sewanee Review 1941
Box 10 "Retirement by the Calendar" - ms. draft
Box 10 "Toward a Musical Home-Rule" - photocopy of article
Box 10 "The Tragedy of American Music" - ms. draft
Box 10 Miscellaneous essays on music - ms. drafts
Poetry
Box 10 Miscellaneous
Speeches
Box 10 "Remarks to the Music Faculty" 1957 - typescript
Miscellany
Box 10 Apothegms - typescripts, carbons
Box 10 "Autobiography" - outline, ms. drafts (8 folders)
Box 11 "Autobiography" - ms. drafts (6 folders)
Box 11 Corrected material - ms. drafts
Box 11 "The Honor of Music" (working title: "The Pathology of Music) - ms. drafts, typescript (6 folders)
Box 12 "The Honor of Music" (working title: "The Pathology of Music) - ms. drafts, typescript (4 folders)
Box 12 "Imaginary Dialogues" - typescript
Box 12 Special items - ms. drafts
Box 12 "Tales from the Music World" - ms. drafts (2 folders)
Memorabilia (1991 additions)
Oversize 3 Awards 1952
Box 12 Photographs
Oversize 3 Photographs
Printed material
Box 12 Article about
Box 12 Student career (1 folder, 1 notebook)
1993 additions
Scores
Oversize 4 Early Compositions for Piano (bound) (original) - piano score
Oversize 4 Early Songs (bound) (original) - piano score
Oversize 4 Five Apothegms of Lao-Tzu, Bynner transl. for narrator and string quartet (unbound) - scores for violin I, violin II, viola, cello and narrator
Oversize 4 Five Hymns (printed material) - for mixed chorus and piano or organ
Oversize 4 Folk Songs (of various people) (bound) (original) - piano score
Oversize 4 The River Queen (unbound) - piano score
Oversize 4 The Robe (printed material) - for mixed chorus and piano
Oversize 4 Shouting Pilgrim (printed material) - a fuging tune for mixed chorus and piano four hands
Writings
Oversize 4 "Life and Freedom" (essay) - typescript

Return to top