Finding Aids
printer friendly version

W. H. Auden Collection

An inventory of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Auden, W. H. (Wystan Hugh), 1907-1973
Title: W. H. Auden Collection
Inclusive Dates: 1931-1950
Bulk Dates: 1948-1950
Quantity: 1 folder (SC)
Abstract: Letters (primarily incoming), either to, by or about Auden. Most are from Saxe Commins, his editor, or other Random House people.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

W.H. Auden was born February 21, 1907, in York, England. He became a United States citizen in 1949. During his career, he wrote poetry, plays, song lyrics and libretti, translations, literary criticism and history, for which he won a number of awards and prizes. He died in 1973.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The W.H. Auden Collection consists of a number of letters to, from, or concerning Auden. A variety of authors are represented with the majority coming from Saxe Commins, his editor at Random House. Some concern the publication of his The Enchaféd Flood or Nones. There is also a letter to a Miss Cruikshank in Scotland from a friend, praising Auden's writing and telling her that he is teaching at nearby Larchfield Academy in Dumbartonshire, and Auden's reply to a letter from Miss Cruikshank. There are a few holograph letters from Auden, signed, and a few typed letters, signed. Letters are arranged chronologically.

At the end are Auden's drafts for the acknowledgement and jacket blurb for The Enchaféd Flood.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Auden, W. H. (Wystan Hugh), 1907-1973

Corporate Bodies

Random House (Firm)

Associated Titles

The Enchaféd Flood

Genres and Forms

Correspondence.

Occupations

Authors.
Poets.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

W. H. Auden Collection,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transfer from Rare Books; transfer from Random House Collection

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRR
Date: 26 May 2006
Revision history: 19 Jul 2006 - minor changes to subject headings (MRR)

Return to top

Inventory

Correspondence
SC 164 Letters 1931 - to Miss Cruikshank
SC 164 Letters 1938 - Significant names include Bennett Cerf, Alan Collins, Constance R. Auden
SC 164 Letters 1948-1950 - Significant names include Saxe Cummins (Random House), William Weedon (University of Virginia),
Writings
SC 164 Acknowledgement, The Enchaféd Flood 1949 or 1950 - draft
SC 164 Jacket copy, The Enchaféd Flood 1949 or 1950 - draft

Return to top