TABLE OF CONTENTS


Overview of the Collection

Biographical History

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Arrangement of the Collection

Restrictions

Subject and Genre Headings

Related Material

Administrative Information

Inventory

1969 Accession (1952-1969)

1970 Accession (1951-1970)

1978 Accession (1961-1977)

Ask a question
Request a visit
Syracuse University seal

Piers Anthony Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University



Overview of the Collection

Creator: Anthony, Piers.
Title: Piers Anthony Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1951-1978
Quantity: 13.0 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the British American author, science fiction and fantasy novelist. Born Piers Anthony Dillingham Jacob in England in 1934. Includes correspondence with editors, fans, and other authors (1960-1969); and writings, including typescript draft and manuscript short stories and novels. Correspondents of interest include Poul Andersen, Isaac Asimov, Lloyd Biggle, Terry Carr, Robert Coulson, Samuel R. Delany, Anne McCaffrey, Robert Margroff, Andre Norton, Andrew J. Offutt, Alexei Panshin, Frederik Pohl, Norman Spinrad, and Roger Zelazny.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Piers Anthony (born Piers Anthony Dillingham Jacob in Oxford, England, in 1934) is an American novelist. Anthony's family came to the United States when he was four years old; he graduated from Goddard College in Vermont, served in the United States Army (1957-1959), and became a citizen in his twenties. While in the army he was editor and cartoonist for the battalion newspaper, and in the early 1960s he turned to writing full-time. He is one of the most prolific science fiction and fantasy authors with numerous best-sellers to his credit along with almost a dozen Hugo and Nebula Award nominations. In addition to dozens of science fiction and fantasy novels, he has written historical fiction, martial arts, and horror.

He is best know for his seven-volume Incarnations of Immortality and for the long-running Xanth series which has more than thirty titles, most of which are puns (e.g. Faun and Games, Swell Foop, Roc and a Hard Place, Stork Naked). He has been nominated for numerous Hugo and Nebula Awards.

Return to the Table of Contents


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Piers Anthony Papers are made up of three separate accessions which have not been integrated.

1969 Accession (1952-1969)

This accession is divided into three groups: correspondence, writings and memorabilia. Correspondence, 1952-1969, is arranged alphabetically by correspondent. Where there was a considerable amount of correspondence from one person, individual folders were created, and the letters filed chronologically. Correspondents include: Isaac Asimov, 1961; Nathan A. Bucklin, 1963-1965; Ron Goodman, 1963-1965; Margie Harrison, 1963-1966; H. James Hotaling, 1962-1966; Seth A. Johnson, 1962-1969; and Larry Pinsker, 1963-1965. Around 1962 Piers Anthony joined a science fiction fan club called the National Fantasy Fan Federation (N3F) from which was generated the majority of correspondence in the collection, most of it involving critical dialogues concerning specific works, often among two or more of the correspondents. Included in this category would be the Neffer Robin letters. Originals of all incoming correspondence which were xeroxed for purposes of preservation are to be found at the end of Box 9.

Writings, 1962-1969, are organized under author's names, alphabetically arranged, then divided into articles, novelettes, novels and short stories. Within each division titles are arranged alphabetically. Among the major works are Chthon (1967), Hasan (1970), Macroscope (1969), Omnivore (1968) and Sos the Rope (1968). There are also drafts of collaborations by Piers Anthony with Frances Hall, H. James Hotaling, Robert Margroff and Andrew Offutt.

Memorabilia, 1962-1968, includes biographical data; a photograph, possibly of H. James Hotaling; and articles about Piers Anthony.

RESTRICTION NOTE: One box of restricted material at the end of the collection may not be seen without Mr. Anthony's written permission.

1970 Accession (1951-1970)

The 1970 additions to the Piers Anthony Papers are divided into correspondence, writings and magazines. Incoming and outgoing Correspondence is interfiled and arranged alphabetically under the names of Anthony's correspondents. Correspondence with noted writers and special fans is placed in individual folders. Important correspondents include Poul Anderson, Lloyd Biggle Jr., Robert Coulson, Richard Geis, Joseph L. Green, Robert E. Margroff, Andrew J. Offutt, Frederick Pohl, Norman Spinrad, Robert Moore Williams and Roger Zelazny. General correspondence with editors, publishers and fans is placed at the end of the correspondence section and filed in chronological order.

Writings, 1951-1970, are organized under authors' names, alphabetically arranged, then divided into articles, novels, short stories and verse. Within each division titles are arranged alphabetically. Among the major works are Chthon (1967), Hasan (1970), Macroscope (1969), Omnivore (1968), Orn (1970), Sos the Rope (1968) and Var the Stick (1969). There are several short stories as well as collaborations between Anthony and Frances Hall, Robert Margroff (The E. S. P. Worm), Andrew Offutt, and Richard Tiedman. All authors and titles are recorded on the shelf list.

Magazines consists of about a half-dozen issues of Science Fiction Review for 1969.

RESTRICTION NOTE: Two boxes of restricted material at the end of the collection may not be seen without Mr. Anthony's written permission.

1978 Accession (1961-1977)

The 1978 accession is divided into correspondence and writings. Correspondence includes letters related to the short story "The Demise," correspondence with Robert Fuentes, and material relating to Thomas Ussell's course "Fundamentals of Fiction." Writings includes articles, books, poetry, short stories, and several then-unpublished novels that have since been published.

Return to the Table of Contents


Arrangement of the Collection

See Scope and Contents above. Note that since the accessions have not been integrated, box numbering restarts in the 1970 Accession. Be sure to specify the accession number

Return to the Table of Contents


Restrictions

Access Restrictions

Restricted in part. One box of restricted material in the 1969 accession may not be seen without Mr. Anthony's written permission. Two boxes of restricted material in the 1970 accession may not be seen without Mr. Anthony's written permission.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to the Table of Contents


Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has a number of collections relating to science fiction. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to the Table of Contents


Subject Headings

Persons

Andersen, Poul.
Anthony, Piers Archives.
Asimov, Isaac, 1920-1992.
Biggle, Lloyd, 1923-
Carr, Terry.
Coulson, Robert.
Delany, Samuel R.
Margroff, Robert E., 1930-
McCaffrey, Anne.
Norton, Andre.
Offutt, Andrew J.
Panshin, Alexei, 1940-
Pohl, Frederik.
Spinrad, Norman.
Zelazny, Roger.

Subjects

American literature, 20th century.
Authors, American.
British Americans.
Fantasy literature, American.
Novelists, American.
Science fiction, American.

Genres and Forms

Articles.
Correspondence.
Diaries.
Fiction.
Manuscripts for publication.
Poems.

Occupations

Authors.
Novelists.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Piers Anthony Papers
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library

Acquisition Information

Gift of Piers Anthony, 1969, 1970, 1978.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: JeJ
Date: 1969
Revision history: 1970 - additions appended (JeJ); 1978 - additions appended (JeJ); 7 Sep 2007 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to the Table of Contents


Inventory

1969 Accession (1952-1969)
Correspondence
Box 1 Index 1963
Box 1 A 1961-1967
Box 1 Asimov, Isaac 1961
Box 1 B 1961-1968
Box 1 Bucklin, Nathan A 1963-1965
Box 1 C 1960-1967
Box 1 D 1952-1967
Box 1 Delany, Samuel R. 1966-1967
Box 1 F 1956-1959
Box 1 G 1958-1968
Box 1 Goodman, Ron 1963-1965
Box 1 H 1961-1965
Box 1 Harrison, Margie 1963-1966
Box 1 Hotaling, H. James 1962-1967
Box 1 I 1961-1967
Box 1 Johnson, Seth A. 1962-1969
Box 2 K 1962-1967
Box 2 L 1961-1968
Box 2 M 1955-1968
Box 2 N 1964-1967
Box 2 Neffer Robin #146 1963-1964
Box 2 Neffer Robin #149 1963-1964
Box 2 Neffer Robin #152 1963
Box 2 O 1964
Box 2 P 1961-1967
Box 2 Pinsker, Larry 1963-1965
Box 2 Q 1963
Box 2 R 1954-1968
Box 2 S 1952-1968
Box 2 T 1962-1963
Box 2 W 1952-1963
Box 2 Unidentified 1955-1968
Box 9 Originals of items photocopied for preservation
Writings
Anthony, Piers
Articles and Essays
Box 2 "Alf Laylah Wa Laylah" - drafts (2 folders)
Novelettes
Box 2, 3 A Piece of Cake - notes, drafts (9 folders)
Novels
Box 3, 4 Chthon - notes, drafts, published material (10 folders)
Box 4 Hasan - notes, drafts (5 folders)
Box 4, 5 Macroscope - notes, drafts (11 folders)
Box 6 Omnivore 1963, 1967, 1968, undated - notes, drafts, published material, book reviews (12 folders)
Box 6, 7 Sos the Rope 1967, 1968, undated - notes, drafts, published material (9 folders)
Short Stories
Box 7 "Beak by Beak" 1967, undated - notes, drafts, published material (4 folders)
Box 7 "The Cloud" - notes, drafts (2 folders)
Box 7 "Encounter" - notes, drafts (4 folders)
Box 7 "Ghosts" - notes, drafts (5 folders)
Box 7 "The Life of the Strip" - drafts (2 folders)
Box 7 "Phog" 1965, undated - notes, drafts, published material (5 folders)
Box 7 "Possible to Rue" - draft
Box 7 "Prostho Plus" - notes, drafts (5 folders)
Box 7, 8 "Quinquepedalian" - notes, drafts (8 folders)
Box 8 "University" - drafts (3 folders)
Box 8 "The Value of a Man" ("In the Jaws of Danger") 1966, undated - notes, drafts (4 folders)
Anthony, Piers and Frances Hall
Short Stories
Box 8 "The Message" - notes, drafts (8 folders)
Anthony, Piers and H. James Hotaling
Short Stories
Box 8 "Sheol" 1964, undated - notes, drafts, published material (6 folders)
Anthony, Piers and Robert E. Margroff
Novels
Box 8, 9 The Ring 1968, undated - notes, drafts, published material (11 folders)
Short Stories
Box 9 "The Payoff" - drafts (10 folders)
Anthony, Piers and Robert E. Margroff and Andrew Offutt
Novelettes
Box 9 Mandroid - draft (2 folders)
Memorabilia
Box 9 Miscellaneous undated
Box 9 Biographical 1957-1968
Box 9 Goddard College 1955-1956
Box 10 Journals 1951-1953 (2 folders)
RESTRICTED: Requires written permission of Mr. Anthony to view.
1970 Accession (1951-1970)
Correspondence
Box 19 Family 1951-1969 (4 folders)
RESTRICTED: Requires written permission of Mr. Anthony to view.
Box 11 Anderson, Poul 1966-1967
Box 11 Biggle, Lloyd Jr. 1961-1968
Box 11 Bodkin, Ronald 1960-1968
Box 11 Burger, Joanne 1968-1969
Box 11 C 1969
Box 11 Carr, Terry 1967-1969
Box 11 Coulson, Robert and Juanita 1963-1969
Box 11 E, F, G 1961-1969
Box 11 Galouye, Dan 1969
Box 11 Geis, Richard 1968-1969
Box 11 Green, Joseph L. 1967-1969
Box 19 Hall, Frances T. 1963-1969
RESTRICTED: Requires written permission of Mr. Anthony to view.
Box 19 Hill, Alma 1962-1969
RESTRICTED: Requires written permission of Mr. Anthony to view.
Box 11 Hoffmeister, Robert 1966-1968
Box 11 Lunney, Frank 1968-1969
Box 11 M 1969
Box 11 McCaffrey, Anne 1967-1968
Box 12 Margroff, Robert E. 1963-1969 (2 folders)
Box 12 Norton, Andre 1967-1969
Box 12 Offutt, Andrew J. 1963-1969
Box 13 P 1969
Box 13 Panshin, Alexei 1968-1969
Box 13 Pohl, Frederick 1965-1969
Box 19 "Pro/2" 1963-1965 (2 folders)
RESTRICTED: Requires written permission of Mr. Anthony to view.
Box 13 Spinrad, Norman 1967-1968
Box 13 Tiedman, Richard 1962-1967
Box 13 U, V 1962-1965
Box 13 Williams, Robert Moore 1968-1969
Box 13 Y, Z 1961-1967
Box 13 Zelazny, Roger 1966
Editors and Publishers
Box 13 Miscellaneous 1963-1969
Box 13 Undated
Box 13 1958-1969 (7 folders)
Fans
Box 14 Undated
Box 14 1963-1969 (3 folders)
Writings
Anthony, Piers
Box 14 Miscellaneous 1964
Box 14 Articles and Essays 1969 - Miscellaneous
Box 20 Journals 1954-1955, 1960-1965, 1955-1969 (3 folders (volumes?))
RESTRICTED: Requires written permission of Mr. Anthony to view.
Novels
Box 14 Chthon 1967, undated - miscellaneous, published material (2 folders)
Box 14 Hasan 1966-1970 - published material (serial in Fantastic Stories, Vol. 19)
Box 14, 15 Macroscope 1969 - miscellaneous, drafts, page proofs, published material (5 folders)
Box 16 Omnivore 1968 - published material
Box 16 Orn 1970 - published material (serial in Amazing Stories, Vol. 44)
Box 16 Sos the Rope - drafts, translations (Dutch version, Sos de Demon) (3 folders)
Box 16 Var the Stick 1969 - summary, drafts (2 folders)
Box 16 School papers 1951-1964 - miscellaneous
Short Stories
Box 16 "Anonymous Letter" undated
Box 16 "Balook" undated
Box 16 "Bastille" undated
Box 16 "Buckwheat Jury" undated
Box 16 "Business" undated
Box 16 "Caterpillar" undated
Box 16 "Country Man" undated
Box 16 "Crystal" undated
Box 16 "Dead Center" undated
Box 17 "The Demise" 1958-1960 - drafts
Box 17 "E van S"
Box 17 "Equals Four"
Box 17 "Evening"
Box 17 "The Facsimile"
Box 17 "Kylo"
Box 17 "Minnie's Crew" 1968-1969
Box 17 "The Monster"
Box 17 "None But I" 1969 - notes, draft
Box 17 "Painted Lips" undated
Box 17 "Postscript" 1966 - key, drafts
Box 17 "Revise and Invent" undated
Box 17 "Root" undated
Box 17 "Ship of Mustard" 1967
Box 17 "Southern Approach" undated
Box 17 "Spellroid" undated
Box 17 "Strappado" 1964
Box 17 "Tappuhah" 1967
Box 17 "Ten-Thousand Mile Check" undated
Box 17 "Terror on Planet X" (falsely attributed)
Box 17 "The Toaster" undated
Box 17 "What Is Time" undated
Box 17 "The Whole Truth" 1968
Box 17 "Wolf" undated
Box 17 "Xanthe's Heart" undated
Box 17 Anthology, notes 1969
Box 17 Verse - miscellaneous
Anthony, Piers and Frances Hall
Novels
Box 17 The Pretender 1965 - notes, drafts (5 folders)
Anthony, Piers and Robert E. Margroff
Novels
Box 17, 18 The E. S. P. Worm 1968-1969 - drafts (5 folders)
Short Stories
Box 18 "Monster Tracks"
Margroff, Robert E.
Box 18 Short stories - miscellaneous
Offutt, Andrew
Box 18 Short stories - miscellaneous
Tiedman, Richard
Articles and essays
Box 18 "On Jack Vance"
Magazines
Box 18 Science Fiction Review, no.s 28-33 and 35 1969 (2 folders)
1978 Accession (1961-1977)
Correspondence
Box 21 "The Demise" - correspondence related to the short story
Box 21 Fuentes, Roberto 1970-1973
Box 21 Uzzell, Thomas H. and Amelia W. 1961-1962 - material for course entitled "Fundamentals of Fiction", the Uzzell Course
Writings
Articles
Box 21 "Bastille" - autobiographic article on student teaching; typescript ms., correspondence, and notes about pranks
Box 21 "Hop, Skip, and Jump School" - Family Academic Services Center; holograph and typescript ms., research materials
Box 21 "The Surgeon Who Also Walks Dogs" - veterinary medicine; holograph and typescript ms., research materials
Box 21 "Telephone" - holograph and typescript ms., research materials
Books
Novels
Box 21 But What of Earth? (with Robert Coulson) - "1st & 2nd draft" - typescript and holograph ms.
Box 21 Chaining the Lady - "1st draft", "2nd draft" - typescript and holograph ms. (2 folders) (2 folders)
Box 21 Cluster - holograph and typescript ms. (2 folders)
Box 21 Dead Morn (with Roberto Fuentes) - "pencil drafts" and typescript ms. (2 folders)
Box 21 Ghost - "adaptation from novelette" ; holograph and typescript ms.
Box 21 Hasan - typescript ms.
Box 22 Kiai! (with Roberto Fuentes) - 1 holograph and 3 typescript ms. (4 folders)
Box 22 Kirlian Quest - "2nd draft" - holograph and typescript ms
Box 22 Mer-cycle - holograph and typescript ms.
Box 22 Mistress of Death (working title: Kill-13) (with Roberto Fuentes) - typescript ms.
Box 22 Neq the Sword - "2nd draft"; holograph and typescript ms.
Box 22 Ninja's Revenge (working title: Tao!) (with Roberto Fuentes) - holograph and typescript ms.
Box 22, 23 Orn (working title: Paleo) - "2nd draft", "setting copy" ; holograph and typescript ms. ; "galley proof" ; holograph and typescript ms. (4 folders)
Box 23 Ox - holograph and typescript ms. (2 folders)
Box 23 Phthor - "1st & 2nd drafts" and "2nd draft" ; holograph and typescript ms. (2 folders)
Box 23 Pornucopia - typescript ms.
Box 23 The Pretender (with Frances Hall) - "revision - working copy"; typescript ms.
Box 23 Race Against Time - "Juvenile Novel", "1st & 2nd drafts", "revision" ; holograph and typescript ms.
Box 23 Rings of Ice (with terminal essay by Donald L. Cyr) - typescript ms.
Box 23, 24 A Spell for Chameleon - "1st & 2nd drafts"; holograph and typescript ms. ; "1st & 2nd drafts"; holograph and typescript ms. (2 folders)
Box 24 Steppe - holograph and typescript ms. (2 folders)
Box 24 Triple Detente (working title: A Piece of Cake) - holograph and typescript ms. (2 folders)
Box 24 Var the Stick - "galley proof"; production records; typescript ms.
Unpublished works - Per letter from the author on 9/7/93, these have since been published as novels or short stories.
Box 24 Black Castle of the Amazon (with Roberto Fuentes) - holograph and typescript ms. (2 folders)
Box 24 In the Barn - holograph and typescript ms.
Box 24 Ninja (with Roberto Fuentes) - holograph and typescript ms. (2 folders)
Box 24 Tournament (Judo Story #4) - holograph and typescript ms.
Box 24 The Unstilled World - typescript ms. (2 folders)
Poetry
Box 25 "Strange is the measure" - holograph and typescript ms.
Short Stories
Box 25 "Anonymous Letter" - holograph and typescript ms.
Box 25 "Balook" - holograph and typescript ms.
Box 25 "Breath of Diplomacy" - holograph and typescript ms.
Box 25 "Buckwheat Jury" - typescript ms.
Box 25 "Business" - holograph and typescript ms.
Box 25 "Caterpillar" - holograph and typescript ms.
Box 25 "Country Man" (by "Mat Temper") - typescript ms.
Box 25 "The Crabol!" - typescript ms.
Box 25 "Crystal" - holograph and typescript ms.
Box 25 "Dead Center" - holograph and typescript ms.
Box 25 "Deva" - typescript ms.
Box 25 "Electrolous" - holograph and typescript ms.
Box 25 "Equals Four" - typescript ms.
Box 25 "E van S" - holograph and typescript ms.
Box 25 "Firebrand" - typescript ms.
Box 25 "Frustration" - typescript ms.
Box 25 "Hearts" - holograph and typescript ms.
Box 25 "Hot Pepper" - typescript ms.
Box 25 "How Many Worlds, How Many Times" (with Norbert Laus, Seth Johnson, Harvey Forman, and James Toren) - typescript ms.
Box 25 "In the Jaws of Danger" - typescript ms.
Box 25 "Kylo" - holograph and typescript ms.
Box 25 "The Leaf" - typescript ms.
Box 25 "Lost" - typescript ms.
Box 25 "Minority Speaker" - typescript ms.
Box 25 "Monarch" - holograph and typescript ms.
Box 25 "Monster" - typescript ms.
Box 25 "None But I" - typescript ms.
Box 25 "On Being . . ." (with D.L. Oppenheim) - typescript ms.
Box 25 "Orn" - holograph and typescript ms.
Box 25 "Painted Lips" - typescript ms.
Box 25 "Penal Code" (with Norbert Laus) - typescript ms.
Box 25 "Prostho Plus" - typescript ms.
Box 25 "P.S.I." (with Andrew J. Offutt) - typescript ms.
Box 25 "Red Thrill" - typescript ms.
Box 25 "Revise and Invent" - typescript ms.
Box 25 "The Ring" (with Robert Margroff) - holograph and typescript ms.
Box 25 "Root" - typescript ms.
Box 25 "Ship of Mustard" - holograph and typescript ms.
Box 25 "The Skeleton of the Leaf" - holograph and typescript ms.
Box 25 "Small Mouth, Bad Taste" - holograph and typescript ms.
Box 25 "Southern Approach" - typescript ms.
Box 25 "Spellroid" - typescript ms.
Box 25 "Strappado" - typescript ms.
Box 25 "Tappuah" - typescript ms.
Box 25 "10,000 Mile Check" - holograph and typescript ms.
Box 25 "The Toaster" - typescript ms.
Box 25 "University" - typescript ms.
Box 25 "Up Schist Crick" - holograph and typescript ms.
Box 25 "Vignettes" - typescript ms.
Box 25 "Wolf" - typescript ms.
Box 25 "Wood You?" - holograph and typescript ms.
Box 25 "Xanthe's Heart" - holograph and typescript ms.
Box 25 "Yoga" - holograph and typescript ms.
Miscellany
Books
Box 25 Cluster (1977) / N.Y., Avon Books.
Box 25 Hasan (1969) / Borgo Press.
Box 25 Macroscope (1969) / N.Y., Avon Books. - "marked copy: revisions for British edition"

Return to the Table of Contents