Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Michael Annunziata Papers

An inventory of his papers at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Annunziata, Michael R.
Title: Michael Annunziata Papers
Inclusive Dates: 1921-1969
Quantity: 6 linear ft.
Abstract: Annunziata was an Italian violinist, pianist, composer and music instructor. Correspondence, clippings, writings, published music, mostly from his time in Utica, New York where he lived and worked for most of his life. He was a student of Syracuse University music professor William Berwald.
Language: English, Italian
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Michael (Michele) Raffaelle Annunziata (1897-1968) was an Italian (later American) violinist, pianist, composer and music instructor who spent much of his life in Utica, New York.

Born Michele Annunziata in Ottaviano near Naples, Italy, Annunziata and his family came to the United States in 1908. After a short residence in Baltimore, Maryland his family settled in Utica, New York where Annunziata attended a local Catholic school. He went to Italy for college, graduating from the University dei Terroni in Taranto, and then returned to Utica where he remained for the rest of his life, composing and teaching music. At some point, possibly when he became an American citizen in 1944, his name was Americanized to "Michael."

Originally a violinist, he later came to concentrate on the piano. He studied with Syracuse University music professor William Berwald. His works included chamber music, music for voice and piano, music for violin and piano, solo piano, string ensembles, orchestral suites and symphonies, two masses and several operas.

Annunziata was a member of the Italian Actors' Union, the American Federation of Labor, and the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers. He died in Utica in 1968.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Michael Annunziata Papers are divided into Biographical material, Correspondence, and Writings. Biographical material includes identification and membership papers (naturalization certificate, draft card, Italian Actors' Union membership) and memorabilia (newspaper clippings, concert programs, obituary). Correspondence comprises letters from fellow musicians (including William Berwald) as well as music organizations and music publishers, in both English and Italian. Writings includes poems (possibly intended as lyrics), libretti, and manuscript scores of many of Annunziata's works including his operas. Also included are a few of Annunziata's published pieces. Most of the material in the Writings series is in Italian.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

The collection originally included 19 record albums. These have been transferred to Belfer Audio Archive. One of the albums was a recording of Annunziata's work, sung by Daniel Monti. The remainder were well-known classical composers such as Verdi and Beethoven, and singers such as Enrico Caruso. For a complete list, please inquire.

The papers of Syracuse University music professor William Berwald, with whom Annunziata studied, are held by the Syracuse University Archives.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Annunziata, Michael R.

Associated Titles

L'idre dell' egeo.
Mysterious Island, for orchestra (op. 43)
Piece Exotique.
Pompei, a symphonic suite (op. 35)
T'enebre e luce.
The Witch (La strega di Salem)
Urania, poeme mystique for orchestra and piano (op. 55)

Subjects

Chamber music -- 20th century.
Italian Americans -- New York (State), Utica.
Masses -- 20th century.
Music -- Manuscripts.
Operas -- 20th century.

Places

New York (State), Utica.

Genres and Forms

Clippings (information artifacts)
Correspondence.
Librettos.
Manuscripts (document genre)
Photographs.
Scores.

Occupations

Composers.
Musicians.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Michael Annunziata Papers,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Transferred from Setnor School of Music

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 11 Jan 2007
Revision history: 6 Jul 2012 - inventory updated (MBD)

Return to top

Inventory

Biographical material
Box 1 Identification and membership papers 1951, 1963, 1944, 1965, undated - selective service card, naturalization certificate, diploma from Universiti dei Terroni, Rosicrucian membership card; few papers bear the name "Aniello Annunziata"
Box 1 Memorabilia 1921, 1937, 1964-1965, 1968, 1969, undated - clippings, photographs, concert programs, obituary
Box 3 Memorabilia (oversize) - Italian Actors' Union membership certificate; first piece of music, ca. 1920; photo on metal plate
Correspondence
Box 1 General correspondence, 1922-1968 (with gaps)
Writings
Box 1 List of compositions
Box 1 Libretti
Box 1 Poetry/lyrics
Box 1 Published music
Scores
Box 3 Chamber music for violin and piano
Box 5 Chamber music for wind instruments
Box 3 Concerto in F
Oversize 3 L’Idre Dell’egeo, opera in quarto atti sul poema "The Cosair" di Byron
Box 3 Music for piano and voice
Oversize 2 Mysterious Island, for orchestra (op. 43)
Box 2 Operatic works (various)
Box 4 Orchestral works
Box 5 Piano solo music
Oversize 2 Piece Exotique
Oversize 2 Pompei, a symphonic suite (op. 35)
Box 3 String orchestra (ensemble) works
Oversize 1 T’enebre e Luce, melodrama in due atti ed un Episodio by Antonio Perrotta
Oversize 2 Urania, poeme mystique for orchestra and piano (op. 55)
Oversize 3 The Witch (La Strega di Salem), a melodrama in one act by Antonio Perrotta; Music by Michael Annunziata
Box 5 Miscellaneous parts and unrelated bits

Return to top