Finding Aids
printer friendly version

American Institute of Architects Records

A description of the collection at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: American Institute of Architects.
Title: American Institute of Architects Records
Inclusive Dates: 1922-1988
Quantity: 81 linear ft.
Abstract: CNY chapter records, committee material on professional practice, conduct, and disciplinary material, printed material, more.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Based in Washington, D.C., the AIA has been the leading professional membership association for licensed architects, emerging professionals, and allied partners since 1857. The AIA serves as the voice of the architecture profession and the resource for its members, through advocacy, information, and community. [Taken from the AIA website, http://www.aia.org/about/index.htm.]

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The American Institute of Architects Records consists of office files, financial files, official records, membership information, publications, films, audiotapes, photographs, exhibit memorabilia, and architectural drawings

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

Most series are arranged alphabetically by name, type, or title.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

Initially, a twenty-year restriction was placed on the use of executive correspondence, financial data, stock records, legal papers, and minute books, the restriction to extend twenty years from the date on each item. The last items received were in 1988, therefore this restriction fully expired in 2008.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Special Collections Research Center has the papers of many notable architects, inluding Marcel Breuer, Pietro Belluschi, William Lescaze, and many more. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

American Institute of Architects.

Subjects

Architecture -- New York (State).

Genres and Forms

Architectural drawings (visual works).
Audiocassettes.
Films.
Minutes.
Newsletters.
Photographs.
Reports.

Occupations

Architects.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

American Institute of Architects Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Acquisition Information

Gift of American Institute of Architects, 1971, 1988.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: MRC
Date: 30 Apr 2009
Revision history:

Return to top

Inventory

Architectural drawings
Oversize 1 Miscellaneous
Map-Case xx Miscellaneous - most are of Syracuse buildings (74 drawings)
Board of directors
Box 1 Minutes 1922-1980
Exhibit material
Box 15 Plaques
Box 15 Exhibit photographs
Box 15 Other exhibit items
Films and audiotapes
Box 13 Miscellaneous
Financial material
General
Box 4 Ledgers
Box 4 Dues
Treasurer's files
Box 4 Deni, Gerald S. 1974-1976
Box 4 Hares, Francis 1965-1967
Box 4 Houseworth, John 1972-1973
Box 5 Hueber, Paul 1968-1969
Box 5 King, Bruce 1985
Box 5 Lafferty, Richard T. 1979
Box 5 Pallone, Richard 1979
Box 5 Secor, Robert 1970-1971
Box 5 Spina, Dennis 1980
Box 5 Teitsch, John 1974-1975
Treasurer's reports
Box 5 Miscellaneous 1932-1977 (10 folders)
Official records
Box 6 Bylaws
Box 6 Incorporation papers
Box 6 Minutes 1966-1972, 1979-1981, 1984-1985, undated (4 folders)
Membership files
Box 7 Categories
Box 7 Lists
Box 7 Printed directories
Office files
Councils, committees, commissions, and task forces
Box 8 A-L
Box 9 L-S
Subject files
Box 2 AIA National 1970-1978
General subject files
Box 2 A-N 1952-1986
Box 3 N-W 1958-1978
Members
Box 10 A-W
Box 10 Ethics committee
Photographs
Box 14 Miscellaneous
Publications
Box 7 New York State Association of Architects
Box 7 National American Institute of Architects
Box 11 Straight Edge newsletter 1948-1978 (6 folders)
Box 11 CNYAIA Newsletter 1981-1988
Box 12 Camera ready copy (to be culled: photos pulled, identified, and retained, remainder discarded)
Seminars, conventions and symposia
Box 12 Miscellaneous

Return to top