Finding Aids
printer friendly version

Adult Education Research Conference Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: Adult Education Research Conference
Title: Adult Education Research Conference Records
Inclusive Dates: 1964-1971
Quantity: 1.5 linear feet
Abstract: Correspondence, programs, abstracts, drafts. Much of the material is related to the 12th annual conference in 1971
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The Adult Education Research Conference was originally the National Seminar on Adult Education Research, organized in 1960 as a forum for adult education researchers to share research ideas and materials. After meeting annually for six years, it adopted the AERC name and a more formal structure. The 12th annual Adult Education Research Conference, which much of the collection revolves around, was held in New York in 1971.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Adult Education Research Conference Records contains conference material, correspondence, and general files. Conference files contain correspondence on arrangements for the conference, evaluations of the conference submitted by the participants, lists of registrants, and other data. Correspondence includes symposia and executive committee material. Correspondents whose letters are of the greatest number and depth include Virginia Griffin, Arden Grotelueschen, Roy J. Ingham, Allen Menlo, and Allen Tough. General files include letterheads, memoranda, abstracts of papers, and programs.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

Roy Ingham Papers

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Persons

Bruce, Robert L.
Tough, Allen M.
Copeland, Harlan G.
Griffin, Virginia (Virginia R.)
Grotelueschen, Arden D.
Ingham, Roy John, 1925-
Menlo, Allen

Corporate Bodies

Adult Education Research Conference
National Seminar on Adult Education Research

Subjects

Adult education teachers Training of
Adult education
Adult education Research
Continuing education

Genres and Forms

Abstracts (summaries)
Correspondence.
Drafts.
Mailing lists.
Memoranda.
Programs (documents)

Occupations

Adult education teachers.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Adult Education Research Conference Records,
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: -
Date: Oct 1976
Revision history: Jul 1991 - additions made (EEA); 18 Apr 2006 - converted to EAD (MRR); 19 Jul 2006 - minor changes to subject headings (MRR)

Return to top

Inventory

Conference files
Box 1 Abstracts 1971
Box 1 By-laws 1969-1970
Box 1 Evaluation sheets undated
Box 2 File card index
Box 1 General files, correspondence and printed material 1970-1971
Box 1 Mailing lists undated
Box 1 Program 1971
Box 1 Registrants 1971
Box 1 Miscellaneous 1971
Correspondence
Box 3 ERIC symposia 1970-1971
Box 3 Executive committee 1968-1970
General correspondence
Box 3 1964-1970
Box 3 1968-1971
Box 3 1969-1970
Box 3 Paper rejection 1970
Box 3 Session chairman 1968-1969
General files
Box 3 Citations 1969-1970
Box 3 Executive committee meeting 1969
Box 3 Form letter drafts undated
Box 3 Letterhead
Box 3 Menlo, Allen 1968-1970
Box 3 Minneapolis Chamber of Commerce 1969
Box 3 Paper abstracts 1969?
Box 3 Paper selection criteria sheets 1970
Box 3 Paper session programs 1970

Return to top