Finding Aids
printer friendly version

A. E. Nettleton Company Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University

Overview of the Collection

Creator: A. E. Nettleton Company.
Title: A. E. Nettleton Company Records
Inclusive Dates: 1911-1961
Quantity: 4.5 linear ft.
Abstract: Papers of the shoe manufacturer in Syracuse, N.Y.; established 1879. Collection contains financial records including corporate tax returns (1922-1930) and auditors' reports (1919-1930); records of the Mutual Benefits Association (pension plan), including minutes of directors and pension commissioners; and the in-house publication, The Nettleton Association News (1911-1961).
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

The A. E. Nettleton Company, founded in 1879 in Syracuse, New York, made fine mens footwear for more than 100 years. The company headquarters in downtown Syracuse is now upscale condominiums.

Return to top

Scope and Contents of the Collection

The A. E. Nettleton Company Records contains financial records, mutual benefits association material, published material, and miscellaneous. The miscellaneous series includes the patent for leggings developed by Henry Cook, one of the presidents of the Nettleton Company.

Return to top

Arrangement of the Collection

All material is arranged alphabetically by topic or title. Within that, financial material is arranged chronologically.

Return to top

Restrictions

Access Restrictions

The majority of our archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and require advanced notice for retrieval. Researchers are encouraged to contact us in advance concerning the collection material they wish to access for their research.

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to top

Related Material

All published material has been transferred to Rare Books for cataloging; please refer to the Classic Catalog to locate these items.

Special Collections Research Center has the papers and records of numerous local businesses. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing.

Return to top

Subject Headings

Corporate Bodies

A. E. Nettleton Company, Archives.

Associated Titles

Nettleton Association News.

Subjects

Footwear industry -- New York (State)
Manufactures -- United States.
Manufacturing industries -- Accounting.
Pension trusts.
Shoe industry -- New York (State)

Places

Syracuse (N.Y.) -- Industries.
Syracuse (N.Y.) -- Manufactures.

Genres and Forms

Balance sheets.
Minutes.
Periodicals.
Tax returns.

Occupations

Business.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

A E Nettleton Company Records
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Libraries

Finding Aid Information

Created by: CMV
Date: 30 Oct 1978
Revision history: 12 Oct 2009 - converted to EAD (MRC)

Return to top

Inventory

Financial records
Box 1 A. E. Nettleton Company
Box 1 Balance sheets
Box 1 Balance sheets and profit and loss surplus accounts
Box 1 Certified balance sheets
Box 1 Chart of accounts
Box 1 Comparative consolidated balance sheets and consolidated surplus account
Box 1 Corporation income and profits tax
Box 1 Detail of corporation income and profits tax return 1922-1930 (9 folders)
Box 1 Detail of corporation income tax return
Box 1 Detail of federal income and profits tax returns
Box 1 Estimates relative to store losses and factory profits
Box 1 Report on audit of accounts
Box 1 Reports on audits of balance sheets 1919-1925 (7 folders)
Box 2 Reports on audits of balance sheets 1926-1930 (5 folders)
Box 1 Statement of earnings
Box 1 Statistics and ratios
Mutual Benefits Association
Box 2 Board of Commissioners - pension minutes
Box 2 Board of Government - minutes
Oversize 1 Board of Government - minutes (2 volumes)
Box 2 Board of Trustees - minutes (2 volumes)
Oversize 1 Board of Trustees - minutes (2 volumes)
Box 2 Pamphlets
Published material
Books, company history, etc. 1911-1961
Transferred to Rare Books for cataloging, Jan 2005.
Miscellaneous
Box 4 Patent for leggings

Return to top