TABLE OF CONTENTS


Overview of the Collection

Biographical History

Scope and Contents of the Collection

Restrictions

Subject and Genre Headings

Related Material

Administrative Information

Inventory

[Part I] Correspondence

[Part I] Organizational records

[Part I] Writings

[Part II]

[Part III] Historical files

[Part III] Office files

[Part III] Publications

Ask a question
Request a visit
Syracuse University seal

Adult Education Association (AEA-USA)/American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE) Records

An inventory of its records at Syracuse University



Overview of the Collection

Creator: Adult Education Association.
Title: Adult Education Association (AEA-USA)/American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE) Records
Inclusive Dates: 1924-1994
Quantity: 44 linear ft.
Abstract: The Adult Education Association of the U.S.A. (AEA-USA) was formed in 1951 by the merger of the American Association for Adult Education (supported by the Carnegie Foundation) and the Department of Adult Education of the National Education Association. In 1982, the AEA-USA combined with the National Association of Public School Adult Educators (NAPSAE) to become the American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE). The collection contains material from both organizations.
Abstract: Correspondents significant for their importance within the AEA-USA, the volume of the material in the collection, or presence of their papers among the manuscript holdings at Syracuse University include: Andrew Hendrickson, Glenn S. Jensen, Eugene I. Johnson, Malcolm S. Knowles, Robert A. Luke, Lois McCarthy, Nicholas P. Mitchell, Hugh G. Pyle, and Paul H. Sheats. Other prominent individuals in the field of adult education whose correspondence is in the collection are: L.H. Adolphson, Leland P. Bradford, Paul H. Durrie, Paul L. Essert, Cyril O. Houle, Herbert C. Hunsaker, Homer H. Kempfer, A.A. Liveright, Fern Long, Howard Y. McClusky, Robert E. Sharer, Robertson Sillars, Grace Stevenson, and Thurman White.
Language: English
Repository: Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library
222 Waverly Avenue
Syracuse, NY 13244-2010
http://scrc.syr.edu

Biographical History

Adult Education Association of the United States (AEA-USA)

The AEA-USA was founded in Columbus, Ohio, in May 1951 as the result of the joint efforts of the American Association for Adult Education (supported by the Carnegie Foundation) and the Department of Adult Education of the National Education Association. These two organizations dissolved in 1951 and their memberships joined to form the membership of the new organization with offices in Chicago, Illinois. The purpose of the organization was to unite all professional and non-professional adult educators in a single national organization to facilitate communication in the emerging field of adult education. In accordance with this goal the AEA formed the subsidiary Council of National Organizations for Adult Education (CNO) in 1952 in order "to establish closer communication and exchange of experience between organizations and individuals working in different fields."

Gradually the goals of AEA-USA expanded to encompass all activities designed "to further the acceptance of education as a process continuing through-out life; to afford opportunities to professional and non-professional adult educators to increase their competence; to receive and disseminate information about adult education; to promote a balanced development of educational services for adults; and to cooperate with adult education agencies internationally." In order to lobby effectively for the moral and financial support of adult education, the offices of the organization were moved to Washington, D.C., in 1964.

AEA-USA offered general, student, professional, and organizational memberships. Member services included periodicals, special publications, field service, consultation, reference services, and the membership directory. Standing committees included Annual Nominations and Elections, Membership and Field Services, Publications, Social Philosophy, Finance and Development, and Legislative Policy. The wide areas of AEA interest were also reflected in its commissions and sections. Commissions included the Commission on Research in Adult Education, the Council of State Associations, the Commission of Professors of Adult Education, and the Commission on Adult Basic Education, while sections included Armed Forces Education and Training, Community College Adult Education, Correctional Institutions, International Affairs, Liberal Adult Education, and Religious Adult Education, among others.

Other activities of the organization included a clearinghouse of information, a referral center, an annual national conference, publications, and its commissions, councils, and special sections, which conduct research and hold workshops. The two regular publications of the association were Adult Leadership (monthly) for general members and Adult Education (quarterly) for professional members.

American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE)

In 1982, the AEA-USA merged with the National Association of Public School Adult Educators (NAPSAE) to become the American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE), which is the name under which the organization operates as of this writing. The AAACE's mission statement is "to provide leadership for the field of adult and continuing education by expanding opportunities for adult growth and development; unifying adult educators; fostering the development and dissemination of theory, research, information, and best practices; promoting identity and standards for the profession; and advocating relevant public policy and social change initiatives."

AAACE maintains seven commissions that represent general areas of interest in the field (e.g. International Adult Education, Adult Basic Education and Literacy), and twenty-six units that represent specific focus areas (e.g. Correctional Institutions, GED Test Administrators, History and Philosophy of Adult Education, Religious Education, Special Learning Needs, Women's Issues, Status, and Education). As of this writing, AAACE continues publication of Adult Education Quarterly and also publishes a second, practitioner-oriented journal, Adult Learning.

[June 2007]

Return to the Table of Contents


Scope and Contents of the Collection

The Adult Education Association (AEA-USA)/American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE) Records consists of three separate accessions which have been processed to varying degress and which are not integrated. Box numbering is sequential order across all three parts. There is considerable overlap between the three parts in terms of both dates and subject matter.

Part I, 1924-1968 (18 linear ft)

This accession is the most fully processed. It consists entirely of records relating to the AEA-USA. It is divided into Correspondence, Organizational records, and Writings. Besides correspondence, there is printed material including ditto and mimeographed material, photocopy, published material, and newspaper clippings; one volume of trial balance sheets; one journal; and typescript copy for periodical publications of the AEA. The inclusive dates of these papers are ca. 1924-1968, but the bulk of the material is dated 1951 to 1967. The few materials dated prior to 1951 were generated by the American Association for Adult Education, a predecessor of the Adult Education Association, which dissolved and transmitted its records to the AEA in 1951.

Correspondence, 1951-1968, includes incoming and outgoing letters, memoranda, and telegrams, arranged chronologically. Correspondence dated only by year is found at the beginning of the January folder for that year. Undated correspondence is placed at the end of the section. The following correspondents, significant for their importance within the AEA, the volume of their material in the collection, or the presence of their papers among the manuscript holdings of Syracuse University, are heavily represented.

Hendrickson, Andrew
Jensen, Glenn S.
Johnson, Eugene I.
Knowles, Malcolm S.
Luke, Robert A.
McCarthy, Lois
Mitchell, Nicholas P.
Pyle, Hugh G.
Sheats, Paul Henry

Other prominent individuals in the field of adult education whose correspondence is found among the papers of AEA are:

Adolphson, L. H.
Bradford, Leland P.
Durrie, Paul H.
Essert, Paul L.
Houle, Cyril O.
Hunsaker, Herbert C.
Kempfer, Homer H.
Liveright, A. A.
Long, Fern
McClusky, Howard Y.
Sharer, Robert E.
Sillars, Robertson
Stevenson, Grace
White, Thurman

Arrangement of the Organizational records follows, with occasional modification, the subject filing system of the AEA, a copy of which can be found in Box 9. Subject headings used by the AEA were retained where appropriate. New headings were created for materials which did not fit into existing AEA categories. Major headings are arranged alphabetically. Material within these headings is arranged either alphabetically or chronologically, depending upon the nature of the material. Although any one folder may contain a variety of types of materials, correspondence and printed material predominate. Major headings of importance to the re-searcher and containing the largest amounts of material are:

American Association for Adult Education
Business and Finance
Committees
Conference
Files
Delegate Assembly
Membership
Project Task Force
Proposals
Publications
Sections
Notebooks

Box 6 contains some materials from 1924 to 1951 of the American Association for Adult Education and of the Carnegie Corporation. Also part of the collection is some material on the Council of National Organizations (CNO), a subsidiary of AEA-USA, and the National Association of Public School Adult Educators (NAPSAE), an independent organization with which the AEA-USA merged in 1982.

Notebooks are arranged chronologically, following the pattern by which they were kept by the AEA. The material includes minutes, memoranda, working papers, policy statements, reports, proposals, and rosters. Undated pieces are placed at the end of the group. The notebook material overlaps material in the other organizational records. For example, papers relating to the AEA executive committee are found under Notebooks, as well as under Committees. Additional materials of importance are the working papers and minutes of the publication committee and the general office memoranda for 1952 and 1953.

Writings are arranged under the headings of articles, book reviews, copy for Adult Education and Adult Leadership, and speeches. Articles were written by officers of the AEA and are arranged alphabetically according to the authors' surnames. There is one folder of book reviews, dated 1958. Copy is arranged alphabetically by titles of the publications and chronologically within each title. Speeches, both those delivered by AEA officers or by speakers at meetings sponsored by the AEA, are arranged alphabetically by the speakers' surnames.

Part II, 1950-1994 (19 linear ft)

Part II consists of records from the AEA-USA and from the AAACE and has received only minimal processing. Material in this accession covers the following topics: activities, affiliations, annual reports, board of directors meeting minutes, budgets, commissions, committees, conferences, constitution and bylaws, councils, delegate assembly, directories, leadership rosters, manuals, mission statement, publications, sections, files of AAACE president Wendell Smith, subject correspondence, task forces, and units/divisions.

Part III, 1952-1991 (7 linear ft)

Part III consists of historical files, office files, and publications; it spans the complete life of AAACE and thus includes material from all three organizations involved (AEA-USA, NAPSAE, and AAACE). Like Part II, Part III has received only minimal processing. Historical files are divided into AAACE 1982-1986 and AEA 1965-1982; this material includes budgets, conference material, constitutions and bylaws, proposals, published material, reports, surveys, and other material. Office files are divided into AAACE 1983-1987 and AEA 1958-1982; these include reports, meeting minutes (committee and Board of Directors), conference material, reports, publications, correspondence, newsletters, and mailings, among other things. Publications contains AAACE monographs and periodicals, AEA monographs and periodicals, and NAPSAE monographs and periodicals.

Unprocessed

An additional 40 linear feet of material remains unprocessed and accessible by special permission only. Please contact Special Collections Research Center for more information.

Return to the Table of Contents


Restrictions

Access Restrictions

There are no access restrictions on this material

Use Restrictions

Written permission must be obtained from SCRC and all relevant rights holders before publishing quotations, excerpts or images from any materials in this collection.

Return to the Table of Contents


Related Material

The library holds a considerable number of collections related to adult and continuing education. Please refer to the SCRC Subject Index for a complete listing of all adult education collections. In particular, see also the following:

Return to the Table of Contents


Subject Headings

Persons

Adolphson, L. H.
Bradford, Leland Powers, 1905-
Durrie, Paul H.
Essert, Paul L.
Hendrickson, Andrew, 1899-
Houle, Cyril Orvin, 1913-
Hunsaker, Herbert Cason, 1898-
Jensen, Glenn S.
Johnson, Eugene I.
Kempfer, Homer H.
Knowles, Malcolm Sheperd, 1913-
Liveright, A. A. (Alexander Albert), 1907-
Long, Fern, 1905-
Luke, Robert A.
McCarthy, Lois.
McClusky, Howard Y., 1900-1982.
Mitchell, Nicholas Pendleton, 1911-
Pyle, Hugh G.
Sharer, Robert E., 1900-
Sheats, Paul H., 1907-1984.
Sillars, Robertson.
Smith, Wendell L.
Stevenson, Grace Thomas, 1900-
White, Thurman J.

Corporate Bodies

Adult Education Association, Archives.
American Association for Adult and Continuing Education, Archives.
National Association for Public and Continuing Adult Education.
National Association for Public School Adult Education.
National Education Association of the United States., Department of Adult Education.

Associated Titles

Adult education quarterly.
Adult leadership.

Subjects

Adult education, United States.
Educators, United States.

Genres and Forms

Agendas.
Annual reports.
Articles.
Budgets.
Constitutions.
Correspondence.
Directories.
Manuals.
Memoranda.
Minutes.
Reports.
Speeches.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Preferred citation for this material is as follows:

Adult Education Association (AEA-USA)/American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE) Records
Special Collections Research Center,
Syracuse University Library

Acquisition Information

Gift of Adult Education Association of the U.S.A., 1968-1970.

Finding Aid Information

Created by: [Summit record]
Date: 2001-01-01
Revision history: 1989? - Part II added (-); 1992 - Part III added (JOD); Jun 2007 - converted to EAD, updated (MRC)

Return to the Table of Contents


Inventory

[Part I] Correspondence
Box 1 1951-1956 (Jun) (7 folders)
Box 2 1956 (Jul)-1958 (Mar) (6 folders)
Box 3 1958 (Apr)-1961 (9 folders)
Box 4 1962-1965 (9 folders)
Box 5 1966-1968, undated (7 folders)
[Part I] Organizational records
Box 5 Adult Education Association of Greater Washington, D.C. 1963-1967
Box 5 AEA Core Organizational Services 1954
Box 5 AEA Direction Finding Process 1957-1959
Box 5 AEA Handbook on Adult Education Organization 1955
Box 5 AEA History 1951
Box 6 AEA Policy Digest 1957
Box 6 AEA Reorganization 1957
Box 6 Adult Educational Needs 1956
Box 6 Adult Education Week 1963
American Association for Adult Education
Box 6 Annual Meeting Programs 1927-1936
Box 6 Carnegie Corporation Adult Education Memos 1924-1926
Box 6 Directors' Annual Report 1949
Executive Board, Minutes and Records
Box 6 28 Apr 1947 - 20 Dec 1948
Box 6 15 Feb 1949 - 14 May 1951
Box 6 Income Tax 1926-1949
Box 6 Journal 1926-1951
Box 6 Trial Balance Sheets 1926-1949 (Package 1)
Box 6 American Federation of Labor 1952-1955
Box 6 Book of the Month Project 1961-1962
Business and Finance
Box 7 Advance Education Fund 1955
Advertising
Box 7 Accounts 1958-1959
Box 7 Adult Leadership 1958
Box 7 Delinquent 1959
Box 7 Accounts - Adult Leadership and Adult Education 1957-1958
Box 7 Annual Audit 1954-1964 (11 folders)
Box 7 Bowery Savings Bank 1955-1964
Box 7 Budgets 1948-1965 (2 folders)
Box 8 Constitution and Articles of Incorporation 1951-1966
Box 8 Employee Service Records 1953-1957
Endowment Fund
Box 8 1953-1962
Box 8 1961-1962
Box 8 Exhibits 1954-1957
Filing System 1967
Box 8 Financial Statements
Box 8 1951-1962 (4 folders)
Box 8 Fund for Adult Education 1951-1965
Box 9 Headquarters Move 1963
Box 9 Job Descriptions undated
Box 9 McKinsey & Co., Management Consultant's Report 1953
Box 9 New Office Space 1966-1967
Box 9 Personnel & Salary Policy 1951-1952
Council of National Organizations
Box 9 Interrelationship of CNO & AEA 1953-1960
Box 9 Policy Papers 1966-1967
Box 9 Program Guide 1954
Box 9 Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults 1960 - Reports, Memberships, Correspondence
Box 9 Commission of Professors of Adult Education 1960
Committees
Box 9 Adult Education Organizations 1967 Jan-Jul
Box 9 Area Projects 1952
Box 9 Committee on Committees, Commissions and Sections 1952-1960
Box 10 Conference and Consultation 1954
Education of the Foreign Born 1952
Executive Committee
Box 10 1951-1958 (8 folders)
Box 11 1959-1965 (7 folders)
Box 11 Field Development Committee 1955-1956
Box 11 Finance and Development 1954, 1959-1962 (7 folders)
Box 12 Future Activities 1956
Box 12 Legislative Policy 1962-1966 (11 folders)
Membership and Field Services
Box 12 1955
Box 12 1961-1964 (Jun) (4 folders)
Box 13 1964 (Jul)-1968 (4 folders)
Box 13 NEA and AEA Joint Committee 1954
Box 13 National Organizing Committee 1950-1951
Nominations and Elections
Box 13 1955, 1959-1962 (5 folders)
Box 14 1963-1966 (4 folders)
Box 14 Personnel Information Exchange 1955
Box 14 Promotion Committee 1954
Box 14 Publications 1954-1956, 1962-1966 (5 folders)
Box 15 Resolution Committee 1953
Box 15 Social Philosophy 1950-1957, 1960, 1962-1966 (7 folders)
Box 15 Steering Committee 1955-1963
Box 15 Structure 1960-1962
Box 15 Study and Membership 1956
Box 15 Wamcke Committee on Membership 1966-1967
Conference Files
Box 15 Adult Education Satellite Conference 1966 Dec 13-14
Box 15 American Library Association Adult Education Workshop Materials 1955-1956
Box 15 Arizona Adult Education Association Meeting 1967
Box 15 CNO Meeting 1959
CNO
Box 15 Experiment in Liberal Curriculum Development for National Organization Leadership - Report to FAE 1959-1960
Box 16 Experiment in Liberal Curriculum Development for National Organization Leadership - Anthology of Readings 1960
Box 16 Curbstone Conference 1955
Box 16 Galaxy Conference of Adult Education Organizations 1967 Sep 17-18
Box 16 Health Services and Community Organization 1965
Box 16 Inter-Association Meetings 1962-1964
Box 16 Local and Regional Workshop 1960
Box 16 NAPSAE Conference 1953, 1954, 1955, 1956 (4 folders)
National Conference
Box 16 1952, 1953 (2 folders)
Box 17 1954-1960 - includes pre-conference studies from 1955 (8 folders)
Box 18 1961, 1962, 1964, 1966, 1967, Jan-Oct (7 folders)
Box 19 1967, Nov-Dec and undated (2 folders)
Box 19 National Congress on the Rights and Responsibilities of the Public in Commercial Broadcasting 1966 Dec 1-2
Box 19 National Organizations and Agencies with a Primary Adult Education Function Conference 1960
Box 19 North American Conference on Adult Education 1967 Oct 22-25
Box 19 Regional Conference 1965, 1966 (2 folders)
Box 19 Urban Affairs 1962
Delegate Assembly
Box 20 Members and Materials 1951
Box 20 Reports, Handbook, Notes, Misc. 1952 Oct 22-23
Box 20 Correspondence
Box 20 Working Papers 1953
Box 20 Roster 1953
Box 20 Resolutions - including correspondence on same (1953-1954) 1953
Box 20 Resolutions 1953 Oct 28
Box 20 Minutes 1953 Oct 26-29
Box 20 Reports, Handbook, Correspondence, Minutes, Misc. 1954 Oct 9-10
Box 21 Reports, Memo, Correspondence, Misc. 1954
Box 21 Correspondence 1955
Box 21 Working Papers 1955
Box 21 Roster and Attendance 1955
Box 21 Resolutions 1955
Box 21 Minutes 1955
Box 21 Correspondence, Resolutions, Rosters 1956
Box 21 Working Papers 1956
Box 21 Minutes 1956
Box 22 Handbook 1957
Box 22 Agenda, Correspondence, Reports, Misc. 1957
Box 22 Correspondence, Reports, Handbook, Misc. 1958
Box 22 Checklist, Handbook, Reports 1959
Box 22 Handbook, Index, Reports 1960
Box 22 Agenda, Handbook, Index, Roster of Participants 1961
Box 22 Report 1962
Box 22 Handbook, Resolutions 1963
Box 22 Agenda, Report, Resolutions, Roster 1964
Box 23 Founding Assembly, General Materials 1949-1953, undated (4 folders)
Long-Range Plans
Box 23 Three-Year Plan 1953
Box 23 Ten-Year Plan 1954
Box 23, 24 Five-Year Plan 1956 (3 folders)
Membership
Box 24 Adult Education Councils and Associations 1959
Box 24 Attitudes of Non-Members Toward AEA 1953
Box 24 Development Program 1954-1955
Box 24 Directory 1965-1967
Box 24 Directory of National Organizations 1954
Box 24 Drive 1958
Box 24 Form Letters and Promotional Material 1952-1967 (2 folders)
Box 24 Joint Membership State Associations 1952-1958
Box 24 Lists 1956-1968
Box 25 Mailing Lists 1955-1956
Box 25 Membership Characteristics Study 1956 Apr
Box 25 Promotion 1964-1965, 1966-1967 (2 folders)
Box 25 Records 1954-1967
Box 25 Recruitment Activities 1956
Box 25 Regional Associations 1957
Box 25 Response to Thurman White Letters 1966 Jun-Oct
Box 25 State Associations 1957, 1964-1967 (3 folders)
Box 25 State Coordinators 1953-1967
Box 25 Surveys 1953-1955
Box 25 Urban Associations 1967
Box 26 National Commission on Adult Literacy 1952-1956, 1957-1961 (2 folders)
Project Task Force
Box 26 General 1965
Box 26 Colorado 1962-1963
Box 26 Georgia 1962-1963
Box 26 Illinois 1962-1963
Box 26 Indiana 1962-1963
Box 26 Iowa 1962-1963
Box 26 Kansas 1962-1963
Box 26 Kentucky 1962-1963
Box 26 Louisiana 1963
Box 26 Michigan 1962-1963
Box 26 Missouri 1962-1963
Box 26 New England 1962-1963
Box 26 New Jersey 1962-1963
Box 26 New York 1962-1963
Box 27 North Carolina 1962-1963
Box 27 North Dakota 1962-1963
Box 27 Ohio 1962-1963
Box 27 Oklahoma 1962-1963
Box 27 Pennsylvania 1962-1964
Box 27 Region IV (Maryland, Delaware, Virginia, West Virginia, District of Columbia) 1963
Box 27 Utah 1963
Box 27 Washington 1963
Proposals
Box 27 AEA - ALA Adult Education Resource Center 1952-1953
Box 27 AEA Purposes and Structure 1955-1963
Box 27 AEA Research 1956
Box 27 AEA Self Study 1955
Box 27 Adult Education Policies Commission 1956
Box 27 Adult Education Program Stimulation Through Local School Districts 1956
Box 27 Adult Education Trends Study 1959
Box 27 Citizen Education Project 1958
Box 27 Citizen Involvement and Policy Making in Adult Education 1956
Box 27 Clinics for Citizen Evaluation of Communication Media undated
Box 27 Cooperative Program of Nation-wide In-Service Training for Educators of Adults undated
Box 27 Council of National Organizations 1951
Box 27 Development and Improvement of Adult Education 1955
Box 27 Development of Closer Cooperative Relationships among Adult Educators of the British Commonwealth and the U.S. 1958
Box 27 Development of Professional Training for Adult Education 1952
Box 27 Education for Aging 1952-1956
Box 27 Financing Adult Education Study 1956
Box 27 Fundamental Education for Adults 1956
Box 27 Graduate Studies in Adult Education 1955-1965
Box 27 Information Services 1954-1955
Box 28 In-Service Training for Adult Educators 1955-56
Box 28 Intern Project 1952-1953
Box 28 Local Coordination and Field Services 1953
Box 28 National Fund for the Promotion of Life-Long Learning 1955
Box 28 Personnel Development and In-Service Training in National Organizations 1958
Box 28 Personnel Information Exchange 1955
Box 28 Planning Facilities for Adult Education 1953
Box 28 Projecting the Role of a National Organization in the Development of Adult Education as an Integral Part of Our Nation's System of Education 1959?
Box 28 Promotional Policy 1955
Box 28 Relationships of Adult Educators Study 1955
Box 28 Services to Public Schools 1956
Box 28 Social Trends Affecting Adult Education 1956
Box 28 Strengthening Adult Education Leadership in the 1960's 1961
Box 28 Study Groups on the Meaning of Adult Education in American Life 1951
Box 28 World-Wide Adult Education Workshop and Field Study Project 1954
Publications
Adult Leadership
Box 28 Report of First Year 1952
Box 28 A Study 1953
Box 28 Project Report 1954
Box 28 Adult Leadership 1962-1963
Box 28 Editorial Programs of Adult Leadership and Adult Education 1956
Box 28 General Adult Education Brochure undated
Box 28 "Illustrations That Stick" 1954
Box 28 Lists of Articles, Miscellaneous, ca. 1967
Box 28 Newsletters 1959-1960, 1967 (2 folders)
Box 28 Policy Staff Organization and Responsibilities 1955
Box 28 Press Releases and Clippings 1952-1966
Box 28 Reprints from Adult Education and Adult Leadership 1952-1955
Box 28 Staff News Bulletin 1955-1956
Box 28 "The Tool Kit" 1952-1953
Reports
Box 29 Annual 1952, 1954, 1955, 1957, 1960, 1961 (6 folders)
Box 29 Progress 1952-1953
Sections
Box 29 Armed Forces Education and Training 1967
Box 29 Business and industry 1958-1961
Community Development Division
Box 29 National University Extension Association 1959-1967
Box 29 National Training Laboratories 1961-1963
Box 29 Continuing Education of Clergy 1967
Box 29 Continuing Education for the Professions 1967
Box 29 Continuing Education for Women 1967
Box 29 Correctional Institutions 1967
Education for the Aging
Box 29 General 1954-1959
Box 29 Inventory of Projects and Programs 1967 (2 folders)
Box 29 Philadelphia Conference 1967
Box 29 Report on the National Pilot Institute on Education for the Aging 1967
Box 29 United States Department of Health, Education, and Welfare 1967
Box 30 Home and Family Life 1953-1967
Box 30 International Affairs 1967
Box 30 Junior and Community Colleges 1967
Box 30 Labor Education 1967
Box 30 Liberal Adult Education 1967
Box 30 Mass Media in Education 1967
Box 30 National Institute of Labor Education Urban Task Force 1961-1963
Box 30 Public Affairs 1967
Box 30 Religious Adult Education 1967
Box 30 Residential Adult Education 1967
Box 30 Training, Education and Industry 1967
Box 30 Training and Professional Development Adult Education Consultants 1956
Study of AEA
Box 30 1953 Nov
Box 30 Four Year Assessment 1955
Box 30, 31 1959 (2 folders)
Box 31 Television Discussion Program undated
Box 31 Staff Meeting Minutes 1955-1956
Notebooks
Box 31 Operation Committee Meetings Minutes 1951 May-1953 Apr
Box 31 Council of National Organizations News for Adult Education 1952-1962
Box 31 Publications Committee Meetings Minutes 1952-1953 (4 folders)
1952 Sep 20
1953 Mar 20
1953 Apr 10-11
1953 Nov 21-23
Box 31 Adult Education Association Memoranda 1952, 1953 (2 folders)
Box 31 Publication Committee Meetings Minutes 1954 (4 folders)
Feb 13-14, Apr 24-25, Sep 16-17, Nov 9
Box 31 Executive Committee Meeting 1954 Apr 2-4
Box 32 Executive Committee Meeting Workbook 1954 Sep 9-11
Box 32 Adult Education Association Conference on Adult Education 1954 Nov 7-9
Box 32 Publication Department, Current Operating Policies 1955-1959
Box 32 Public Relations Material 1955, undated (2 folders)
Box 32 Publication Committee Meetings Minutes 1955 (4 folders)
Jan 8-9, May 8-9, Oct 15-16, Nov 13
Box 32 Executive Committee Meeting Workbook 1955 Feb 19-21
Box 32 Publications Department, Current Operating Policies; Adult Leadership 1955 Apr-Dec
Box 32 Executive Committee Meeting Workbook 1955 (2 folders)
May 13-15, Sep 9-11
Box 32 Where Has the AEA Been and Where Should It Go: A Four Year Assessment 1955 Nov 1
Box 32 Executive Committee Meetings Workbook 1955 Nov 15-17
Box 32 C.N.O., Public Relation Committee 1956-1962
Box 32 An Assessment of the AEA's First Five Years and a Program for the Next Five, Spring 1956
Executive Committee Meetings
Box 32 Workbook A 1956 Mar 8-11
Box 32 Workbook B 1956 Mar 8-11
Box 32 Publications Committee Meetings, Minutes 1956 May 17-18
Box 32 An Analysis of AEA's Administration 1956 Jul 12
Box 32 Project Proposal: Major Social Trends Affecting Adult Education 1956 Oct
Box 32 Roster of Adult Education Councils and Associations 1956 Nov
Adult Education Policies Commission Proposal
Box 32 Appendices 1-3 1956 Nov 1
Box 32 Appendices 4-5 1956 Nov 1
Box 33 Report of the Consultative Meeting on Direction Finding 1957 Aug 3-4
Box 33 Publications Committee Meetings, Minutes 1957 Nov 13
Council of National Organizations
Box 33 Population Study Proposal 1959 Mar-Apr
Box 33