SYRACUSE UNIVERSITY LIBRARY

The Alexander N. Charters
Library of Resources for
Educators of Adults

 

Related Publications


This section contains a list of articles and monographs about or based on the Charters Library collections, as well as a list of other publications on comparative adult education written or sponsored by Syracuse University. Titles are listed in chronological order.

Publications about or based on the adult and continuing education collections

The following publications were authored by a Syracuse University person, published or sponsored by Syracuse University, or provide context or background to the Adult and Continuing Education Collections. Some publications are in the field of international and comparative Adult Education. Most items are held by the library or can be found in ERIC using the ERIC document (ED) number.

Author Title Date ERIC document no.
Charters, Alexander N. Report on the 1969 Galaxy Conference of Adult Education Organizations. Syracuse, NY: Syracuse University Publications Programs in Continuing Education 1971 ED 047229
Charters, Alexander N. The Hill and the Valley: The Story of University College at Syracuse University through 1964. Syracuse, NY: Syracuse University Publications in Continuing Education. 1972 ED 059493
Stubblefield, Harold W. The What and How of the Syracuse Collection. Syracuse University Resources for Educators of Adults. Lifelong Learning, vol. 7 1984 ED 272654
Charters, Alexander N.; Vaughn, Betty-Jane A Retrospective View: Looking to the Future. Syracuse, NY: Syracuse University Resources for Educators of Adults 1986 ED 294990
Charters, Alexander N. Some Perspectives on Lifelong Learning. Syracuse, NY: Syracuse University Publications in Continuing Education 1986 ED 287003
Keenan, Terrance. Adult and Continuing Education Research Collections at Syracuse University. Syracuse University: Library Associates Courier, vol. XXVI, No. 2 (Fall 1991), pp. 53-78. 1991 ED 359323
Charters, Alexander N.; Holmwood, Donald, Compilers Syracuse University Publications in Continuing Education. Syracuse, NY: Syracuse University Publications Program in Continuing Education 1992 ED 351445
Bibliography of Materials Autographed by Educators of Adults. Syracuse, NY: Syracuse University Publications in Continuing Education 1992  
Charters, Alexander N. Some Observations -- Early Years of Committee/Coalition of Adult Education Organizations (CAEO). Syracuse, NY: Syracuse University Publications in Continuing Education 1992 ED 351448
Charters, Alexander, N. Impressions of Adult Education 1968-1992. Convergence, v25 n4 p83-91 (25th Anniversary Issue) 1992 EJ456807
Charters, Alexander N.; and Others Adult Education: 21st Century. Let Me Dream a Little. A Look Back to the Future. PAACE/Journal of Lifelong Learning, v1 p3-7. Pennsylvania Association for Adult and Continuing Education, PO Box 3796, Harrisburg, PA 17105-3796 1992 EJ438789
Charters, Alexander N., Initiator Adult and Continuing Education Exhibit. Mental Athletes. Syracuse, NY: Onondaga Historical Society 1993  
Charters, Alexander N. Paper on Historical Background of CAEO. Anniversary Meeting of CAEO. Washington, DC 1994  
Charters, Alexander N. The Mainstreaming of Adult and Continuing Education into the Academic Life of Syracuse University. SUPCE    

Other publications on comparative adult education

Author Title Date ERIC document no.
Ziegler, Warren Essays on the Future of Continuing Education Worldwide. SUPCE. Notes and Essays #66 1970  
Charters, Alexander N.; Rivera, William M., Editors International Seminar on Publications in Continuing Education. Syracuse, NY: Syracuse University Publications Programs in Continuing Education 1972 ED 061491
  Agenda for Comparative Studies in Adult Education. Comparative Adult Education Expert Meeting. Nordberg, Norway. SUPCE 1972 ED 064564
Kidd, James Robbins. A Tale of Three Cities: Elsinore, Montreal, Tokyo. SUPCE 1974 ED 098394
Bennet, Clif (Editor); Kidd, J. Roby; Kulich, Jindra Comparative Studies in Adult Education. An Anthology. Occasional Paper 44. SUPCE 1975 ED 112133
Charters, Alexander N.; and Others Comparing Adult Education Worldwide. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass 1981 ED 200180
Charters, Alexander N.; Vaughn, Harold A. Adult Education Activity of Selected International Organizations. Programs/Activities, Subject Areas, Services, Interest in Accepting Proposals, and Geographical Areas of Operation. Syracuse, NY: Syracuse University Publications Programs in Continuing Education 1984 ED 252653
Lichtner, Maurizio, ed. Comparative Research in Adult Education -- Present Lines and Perspectives. Papers of a Study Seminar. CEDE, Frascati, Italy. Villa Falconieri, May 11-14, 1988 1988  
Charters, Alexander N.; Cassara, Beverly, Compilers Paper on Comparative Adult Education -- Background Papers. Washington, DC, VIIth World Congress on Comparative and International Education: Montreal 1989 ED 312430
Charters, Alexander N.; Hilton, Ronald J. , Editors. Landmarks in International Adult Education. A Comparative Analysis. London and NY: Routlege. 1989  
Charters, Alexander N.; Siddiqui, Dilnawaz N. Comparative Adult Education: State of the Art with Annotated Resources Guide. Monographs on Comparative and Area Studies in Adult Education. Vancouver: University of British Columbia, Centre for Continuing Education; Toronto, Ontario: International Council for Adult Education. 1989 ED 305487
Charters, Margaret A.; Charters, Alexander N. Research Model Emerges from International Conference. Paper submitted to International Seminar on Functional Illiteracy and Professional Incompetence as Risk Factors of Modern Civilization and the Role of Adult Continuing Education in Overcoming Them. Leningrad, USSR, June 25-29, 1990, Research Institute of Adult Continuing Education of the USSR Academy of Pedagogical Sciences. Xerox copy 1990 ED 336531
  A Summary Report by the International Standing Committee for the Conference held at University of Ibadan, Ibadan, Nigeria, 7-11 October 1991. Does not include papers or presentations. 1991  
Charters, Alexander N. Report of World Conference on Comparative Adult Education, University of Ibadan, Nigeria, October 7-11, 1991. Meeting on Committee for Study and Research in Comparative Adult Education (CSRCAE). Opening Ceremony Remarks by Dr. Alexander N. Charters, Chair, Committee for Study and Research in Comparative Education (CSRCAE), October 7, 1991. Xerox Copy 1991  
Charters, Alexander N.; Charters, Margaret. Report of the World Conference on Comparative Adult Education. (Ibadan, Nigeria, October 7-11, 1991). 1991 ED 337702
Charters, Margaret; Charters, Alexander N. "World Conference on Comparative Education, University of Ibadan, Nigeria, October 7-11, 1991" in Bulletin, a publication of ICUAE, Faculty of Education, University of Nottingham, UK, vol. 5, no. 1, pp. 8-12. ED 337782 1991  
Charters, Alexander N. Comparative Studies in Adult Education -- A Review. Presented at World Congress on Comparative and International Education, Prague. Syracuse, NY: Syracuse University Publications in Continuing Education 1992 ED 351449
Charters, Alexander N.; Charters, Margaret. World Conference in Nigeria on Comparative Adult Education, an edited report in Five Minutes with ACHE, Association for Continuing Higher Education, Indiana University-Purdue University at Indianapolis 1992  
Charters, Alexander N. A Review of Resources and Activities Related to Comparative Adult Education Organizations. VIIIth World Congress of Comparative Education. Prague, Czechoslovakia 1992 ED 351449
Bown, Lalage; Charters, Alexander, N.; Okedara, Joseph Taiwo Book ofAbstracts: 1991 International Conference on Comparative Adult Education, University of Ibadan, Ibadan, Nigeria (7-11-1991) by The Standing Committee for the Conference. Ibadan, Nigeria: Agoro Publicity Co. 1993  
Charters, Alexander N.; Metka Svetina (editor); Dr. Zoran Jelenc (co-editor) Observations on Adult Education in United States of America, in Rethinking Adult Education for Development. Compendium, Slovene Adult Edcuation Centre, Androgoski Center Republike Solvenije 1993 ED 351448
  Rethinking Adult Education for Development. Ljubljana, Slovenia. International Society of Continuing Adult Education 1994  
Charters, Alexander N. Standards for Comparative Adult Education Research. Presented at Experts Seminar, University of Bamberg, Germany 1995  
Charters, Margaret A. Methods of Comparative Androgogy. International ExpertsSeminar (ISCAE), University of Bamberg, Germany 1995  

Top Home