SYRACUSE UNIVERSITY LIBRARY
The Alexander N. Charters
|
![]() |
Click on the name of a collection below for a brief description for that collection and a link to its detailed finding aid. Finding aids can also be accessed via Syracuse University's Special Collections Research Center list of collections here, under "Browse by subject: Adult eduction.")
AERC was originally the National Seminar on Adult Education Research, organized in 1960 as a forum for researchers. Part 1 contains records related to the 12th annual AERC conference held in New York in 1971. Part 2 includes correspondence, memoranda, programs, abstracts, and drafts.
Founded in 1961, ASPA was concerned with the problems of the adult evening student. Throughout most of its existence, ASPA maintained strong liaisons with the United States Association of Evening Students (USAES) and the CAEO.
See also: AUEC, CAEO.
Born in 1927, George F. Aker held faculty positions at the Universities of Missouri, Wisconsin, and Chicago. In 1963 he joined the faculty of Florida State University at Tallahassee.
An activist in national adult education organizations, Aker was a member of the AEA and its president from 1969 to 1970. He also was the author of several books, including the Handbook of Adult Education (1970). Aker's major professional interests were in the development of graduate study and research programs in adult education and in psychological research to improve efficiency of adult learning, especially among the disadvantaged and in developing countries.
See also: AEA, A. Charters, Hendrickson, Houle, Knowles, Liveright, Sheats, NAPSAE.
Drew Allbritten was involved in education and government at the local, state, and national levels. In education, he served as a secondary and postsecondary teacher, counselor, and administrator. In government, he served in elected and appointed positions at the state and federal levels, respectively. Papers in the collection relate for the most part to his positions as Executive Director of the American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (1991-1998), Executive Director of the Georgia Association of Educators (1998-2002), and Executive Director of the Council for Exceptional Children (2003-2005).
The Adult Education Association of the U.S.A. (AEA-USA) was formed in 1951 by the merger of the American Association for Adult Education (supported by the Carnegie Foundation) and the Department of Adult Education of the National Education Association. In 1982, the AEA-USA combined with the National Association of Public School Adult Educators (NAPSAE) to become the American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE). The collection contains material from all three organizations.
Subject areas within the records include Community College Education, Community Development, Liberal Adult Education, Mass Media in Education, and Training in Professional Development. There is much correspondence between important educators, including Andrew Hendrickson, Eugene Johnson, Malcolm Knowles, Paul Sheats, Cyril Houle, Herbert Hunsaker, Homer Kempfer, A. A. Liveright, and Howard McClusky.
As of June 2007, an additional 40 linear ft. of additions remain unprocessed.
Originally called the American Foundation for Political Education (AFPE), the AFCE was founded in 1947 to develop materials for liberal education in politics, law, and international affairs. From 1951 to 1965, with support from the Fund for Adult Education (FAE), its interests expanded to include economics, science, the arts, and the humanities. The cross-references contained in these records are far too numerous to summarize.
Originally founded in 1939 as the Association of University Evening Colleges (AUEC), the organization was renamed the Association for Continuing Higher Education (ACHE) in 1973. Initially, as AUEC, it focused on the needs of administrators and faculty of evening colleges, on the assumption that quality evening college professionals lead to quality evening collegiate programs. Today, in addition to evening programs, ACHE services influence all types of continuing higher education activities. The Association membership is divided into eleven regions, each of which conduct one or more regional meetings each year, and ACHE as a whole sponsors a general annual meeting.
Records include meeting minutes (annual meetings, board of directors, committees), correspondence, directories, financial records, institutional membership files, interassociational relationships, and publications.
See also: AEA, ASPA, AUEC, CAEO.
The Association of University Evening Colleges (AUEC) was previously -- until 1939 -- called the Association of Deans and Directors of University Evening Colleges; in 1973 it became the Association of Continuing Higher Education. AUEC's purpose was to study the problems of the evening college and to encourage mutual interchange and stimulation of ideas among members. The papers of the AUEC consist of minutes of committees, convention records; general correspondence; enrollment statistics; history, including six phono-tapes of oral interviews with staff members; newsletters, including press releases and copy; personnel records, including vitae and correspondence; regional meeting reports; and statistical reports of the AUEC. Major correspondents include members of the Executive Committee, editors of AUEC publications, and various education organizations. Correspondents whose letters are of significant depth and/or duration include: Gurth I. Abercrombie, E. Brandenburg, Alexander N. Charters, Richard T. Deters, Cortrell K. Holsapple, Ralph C. Kendall, Daniel R. Lang, A.A. Liveright, Robert A. Love, Howell McGee, Ernest E. McMahon, Richard A. Matre, Richard A. Mumma, Frank R. Neuffer, George A. Parkinson, Bernard W. Reed, Kenneth W. Riddle, and Edwin H. Spengler.
See also: AEA, Charters (Alexander N.), ACHE, CSLEA, Liveright, NUEA, Parkinson, Reed, Sheats, Thompson (Clarence).
Robert J. Blakely was a journalist, writer and professor of adult education (University of Iowa and Syracuse University). He was closely involved with the Fund for Adult Education (FAE), serving as Vice-President of the FAE and as Director of its Test Cities project. He also acted as liaison between the FAE and various education, labor, agriculture and government agencies. He is the author of numerous articles and several books on adult education and contributed chapters to several others, as well as writing a number of booklets for the Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults (CSLEA).
The majority of the collection consists of Blakely's writing and includes books, papers, speeches, presentations, articles and essays. There is also a small amount of correspondence and printed material, and the transcript of an interview.
See also: Fund for Adult Education, Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults (CSLEA).
Lalage J. Bown was born in Surrey, U.K. in 1927 and attended Oxford. She taught briefly at the University of Edinburgh but spent the majority of her professional career at various universities in Africa, where she was involved in either establishing or substantially enhancing Adult Education and extension programs and/or departments. In addition to her PhD from Oxford, she holds an honorary doctorate from Open University and an honorary Doctor of Letters (D.Litt.) from the University of Glasgow. She is the author of Two Centuries of African English,
The collection includes organizational materials, correspondence, papers, and printed material relating to adult education and adult education organizations in Africa, Hong Kong, India and the West Indies. There are also various issues of African adult education journals and newsletters, and a few photographs (unidentified).
Samuel C. Brightman spent much of his career as a journalist, working for the St. Louis Star-Times (1933-1935), the Cincinnati Post (1935-1940), and as Washington correspondent for the Louisville Courier-Journal (1940-1942). He served in the U.S. Army as a Public Relations Officer, earning a Bronze Star for his efforts during and after the Normandy Beach landing on D-Day. From 1947-1965 he worked in various capacities for the Democratic National Committee. After his retirement, Brightman became interested in adult education, particularly as it related to the political process and civic literacy. He edited a Washington, DC-based newsletter covering adult education, acted as consultant to the National Council of Senior Citizens (NCSC), served on the Board of Directors of the Coalition of Adult Education Organizations (CAEO), and was an active member of the American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE). The collection encompasses Brightman's journalistic and professional output over his career: correspondence, memorabilia, book proposals, articles, clippings, press releases, speeches, and notes.
Correspondence, writings, research material, personal papers, audiovisual material, printed material of the American adult educator. Includes extensive information on participatory research, volksschule (folk schools), and international and multicultural education. Organizations and institutions with a significant presence in the collection include the American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE), Association for Women in Development (AWID), the International Council for Adult Education (ICAE), Colby College, Highlander Research and Education Center, the University of Southern Maine, and the University of the District of Columbia. Notable individuals with a significant presence in the collection include Thelma Barer-Stein, Julius Seelye Bixler, Marcie Boucouvalas, Willard Callender, Paolo Freire, Martha Friedenthal-Haase, Peter Jarvis, Faustine Jones-Wilson, Malcolm Knowles, Volker Lühr, Helge Pross, and Matthias Wesseler.
Established in 1951 with a grant from the Fund for Adult Education (FAE), the CSLEA strove to help higher education develop a greater sense of responsibility toward the education of adults and to help universities initiate adult education programs. The center produced an experimental study discussion guide for use in evening colleges. Later it focused on the quality of administrative leadership, faculty performance, and the status of continuing education in universities. In 1956 the CSLEA's services were extended to include the member institutions of the National Education Association (NEA).
Correspondents include James Carey, Frieda Goldman, Morton Gordon, A. A. Liveright, and James B. Whipple. Important groups of material include the Carey Study, the Arts Project, the Evaluation Project, Liberal Education for Specialists, the Negro College Program, and the Leadership Conference.
James B. Whipple is the author of a history of the CSLEA, and the manuscripts of Whipple and A. A. Liveright are strongly represented.
Now professor emeritus of adult education, Charters was dean of University College (1952-64) and University vice president for continuing education (1964-73) at Syracuse University. He has been active in many national and international adult education organizations, including CSLEA and ICUAE. Charters started the Adult and Continuing Education Collections housed in the University Library. Papers deriving from his administrative roles for the University reside in the University Archives.
See also: AEA, AFCE, AUEC, NUEA, and the Galaxy Conference. In the University Archives see: University College, Division of Summer Sessions, Division of International Programs Abroad, East European Language Program, and Bureau of School Services.
As of October 2007, an additional 40+ feet remain unprocessed.
Jessie A. and Werrett Wallace Charters were leaders in adult education. Jessie Charters received her Ph.D. in psychology in 1904 from the University of Chicago, where she studied philosophy under John Dewey and James R. Angell. Mrs. Charters was the first female in the West to receive a Ph.D. Her primary areas of interest were parental education and working with girls and women.
W. W. Charters received degrees from MacMaster, Ontario Normal School, the University of Toronto, and his Ph.D. from the University of Chicago. He was founding editor of the Journal of Higher Education. His area of particular interest was the development of curricula from nursery school through the graduate level.
The papers in this collection were included in the personal material donated to Syracuse University by Alexander N. Charters. A larger collection of the Charters’ papers is housed at Ohio State University. Correspondence between W. W. Charters and his nephew, Alexander N. Charters, will be found in the Alexander N. Charters Papers.
See also: Alexander N. Charters Papers.
Margaret Charters' papers and archives are held by Syracuse University Archives. Please contact them for more information.
CREA operated from 1975 to 1981 as a grant-funded program based at Syracuse Unviversity. Its purpose was to acquire and catalog materials relating to the professional development of educators of adults, and make them available via mail-order loan to educators, administrators, teachers and other interested parties in New York State. CREA also published two newsletters, CREA-tivity in New York and the Federal Register Review, as well as a number of annotated bibliographies in subjects ranging from ESL to administration.
The collection includes administrative files, correspondence, financial information, printed material, promotional material, proposal forms and instructions, proposals, publications and reports both on and by CREA.
Related collections include the Alexander N. Charters Papers.
At the conclusion of the December 1969 Galaxy Conference, the CAEO ratified a constitution. The coalition included the AEA, ALA (American Library Association), AVA (American Vocational Association), AUEC, CSLEA, CPAE, and the NUEA. Its purposes were to identify major adult education issues, to facilitate joint planning and projects among members, to be an information source and consulting service, and to promote government support. The CAEO has been recognized for its impact on federal legislation. Its active international presence is reflected in materials from UNESCO and ICAE, of which CAEO is a founding member. The collection also contains material from the 1976 Wingspread Conference.
Founded in 1957, the CPAE was affiliated with the AEA and is now connected with the AEA's successor, AAACE. Its purpose is to strengthen graduate programs in adult education. It has been extensively concerned with the professionalization of the field. The collection includes organizational records (correspondence, financial papers, legal papers, documentation of conferences and other meetings, membership files, reports, task force and committee papers, and printed material) of the Commission of Professors of Adult Education. Correspondents whose letters are of greatest depth and duration include Robert A. Carlson, Mary Jane Even, William Griffith, Cyril Orvin Houle, Roy John Ingham, Malcolm Shepherd Knowles, Alan Boyd Knox, Howard McClusky, Wayne Schroeder and Wilson B. Thiede. Also present are subject files for organizations including the Adult Education Association, the American Association for Adult and Continuing Education, the Association of University Evening Colleges, the Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults, the National Association for Public and Continuing Education, and the National University Extension Association. There are also general and regional printed materials as well as some audio-visual materials (film, slides, and tape recordings).
The Continuing Education Pamphlet collection comprises 75 boxes of pamphlets from countries ranging from Finland to Thailand to Canada.
The photographs and slides in this collection have been collected from a number of individuals and organizations. Much of the material dates from the decade of the 1950s, best represented by the photographs pertaining to the programs of the Fund for Adult Education (FAE) which comprises the largest single group of materials.
Originally formed as a National Task Force on continuing education commissioned by the Bureau of Education (now the Department of Education) in 1968, the Council on the Continuing Education Unit (CCEU) gathered academic, business and education experts from around the country to define and promote the use of a single consistent unit of measurement for continuing education. Participants included representatives from health care, engineering, accounting, academia and many other professions. The result was the Continuing Education Unit, or CEU, defined as "ten contact hours of participation in an organized continuing education experience under responsible, qualified direction and instruction." The purpose of the CEU was to enable tracking and record-keeping of non-credit education undertaken by adult students. The CCEU formulated and disseminated guidelines on the use of the CEU and sponsored several conferences. The Council exists today (April 2006) as the International Association for Continuing Education and Training (IACET).
The collection contains operational and published material from the Council on the Continuing Education Unit, including papers, articles, meeting minutes, drafts, correspondence, and conference proceedings.
Dowling was on the faculty of the Ohio State University in the College of Education. He was also active in national organizations such as the CPAE. His interests include adult basic education and vocational and technical education for adults.
See also: CPAE, Hendrickson.
ERIC/AE, sponsored by the Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) of the United States Office of Education began at Syracuse University. A primary function of ERIC/AE was printing adult education materials, such as annotated bibliographies and reviews of literature. In 1972 ERIC/AE moved to Northern Illinois University and later to Ohio State University, where it is part of the ERIC Clearinghouse on Adult, Career, and Vocational Education.
The Ford Foundation established the FAE as a subsidiary in 1951. Its purpose was to encourage liberal adult education in political, economic, and international affairs. The Fund also helped establish the Educational Television Network (ETV) in the United States. The FAE financed the Test Cities Experiment, which was an effort to stimulate adult education community by community.
There are materials on urban development, civil rights, women in the workplace, the Peace Corps, VISTA, and science education after Sputnik, and considerable data on the following projects: "Great Men, Great Issues," "Meet the Humanities," "Ways of Mankind," and the "Experimental Discussion Project." An overview of FAE activities is in Box 97 and is entitled "The Challenge of Lifetime Learning: Continuing Liberal Education, Report 1955-1957."
See also: AEA, AFCE, AUEC, CSLEA, NAPSAE, NUEA, Hendrickson, Jacques, Liveright, Sheats.
The Galaxy Conference of adult education organizations was held in Washington, D.C. in 1969. It was the outgrowth of the Conference of Adult Education Organizations, convened in 1964. The Galaxy Conference brought together major professional associations in the field to focus on common concerns. By 1969 19 organizations were participating.
See also: AEA, AUEC, CAEO, A. Charters, CPAE, ICUAE, NAPCAE (NAPSAE), NUEA, UCPER.
Papers of the adult education professor and researcher. Includes Griffith's correspondence and his own writings (articles, book chapters, reports, speeches) as well as an extensive amount of relevant material by others including articles and clippings, conference proceedings, papers, reports and studies, speeches, and printed material. The collection reflects Griffith's interest in international education (material from countries ranging from Africa and Asia to Scotland and Sweden), correctional education (particularly for sex offenders), and population education (Planned Parenthood, population education in Egypt). There is also a considerable amount of material from organizations with which Griffith was closely involved, including the American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE), the Commission of Professors of Adult Education (CPAE), the Northwest Adult Education Association, and the Universities of Chicago and of British Columbia.
Hallenbeck began his career as a Presbyterian minister, later becoming a professor of adult education and sociology in 1932. He was also a consultant to the United States Military in Korea and for the University of Natal in Durban, South Africa. After his retirement in 1958, Hallenbeck held visiting professorships at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver, at the University of Michigan and at the University of Wisconsin.
Cyril Houle has been a major figure in the history of continuing education as teacher, writer, and researcher. He has received numerous honorary degrees and was the first recipient of Syracuse University's William Pearson Tolley Medal for Distinguished Leadership in Adult Education. A faculty member at the University of Chicago, he has been a visiting instructor and advisor throughout the world. He was twice appointed to the National Advisory Council of Extension and Continuing Education by Lyndon B. Johnson.
See also: AEA, AUEC, Knowles, NAPSAE.
Hunsaker's involvement with adult education spanned more than 60 years. He was active in many professional organizations and civic groups. In 1967 he was president of AEA. As a well-known speaker, his interests and concerns centered on three themes: internationalism, school and community relations, and continuing education. His international activities began with UNESCO while he was at Cleveland College. Later he was a United States Agency for International Development (U.S. AID) adult education advisor, stationed in Turkey and Afghanistan. In 1965 U.S. AID loaned him to UNESCO to help plan a pilot project in functional literacy for Pakistan.
See also: AAACE, AEA, AUEC, CAEO, CPAE, NUEA.
The Institute for the Management of Lifelong Education, a product of Harvard University's School of Education, began in 1979. IMLE is a summer leadership seminar designed to provide experienced education administrators an intensive immersion in strategies for and management of change in their field. Techniques include classes, case studies, presentations, discussion, videos, and role plays. It has since been renamed the Institute for Management and Leadership in Education. Records consists of Program information (a directory and some general introductory information on the case study method) and Case studies (material from four case studies used in the program). The majority of the material comes from a single case study entitled "Davis College."
The ICUAE was organized by a group of 35 adult educators from universities in 14 countries. They met in September 1960 in Syracuse after the UNESCO World Conference on Adult Education in Montreal. The papers reflect the association's concern with all aspects of university adult education.
See also: Charters (Alexander), CSLEA, Liveright, Sheats.
Established in 1973, the International Council for Adult Education (ICAE) is a global partnership of adult learners and adult educators and their organizations, and others who promote the use of adult learning as a tool for informed participation of people and sustainable development. The collection consists of reports, an agenda, a directory and a photograph.
The bulk of the records of this organization have been designated for the National Archives of Canada.
See also: Cassara, Charters (Alexander), CAEO.
The International Society for Comparative Adult Education (originally the Committee for Study and Research in Comparative Adult Education or CSRCAE) is a network of adult education professionals from some 30 countries. The society originated in 1960 at the World Council for Comparative Education, when Dr. Alexander Charters and J. Roby Kidd formed a working group on comparative adult education. This group eventually became CSRCAE and then in 1992 was rechristened the ISCAE. The society's mission is to connect experts in the field and enhance communication between them; ISCAE achieves this through its newsletter, annual conferences, and mailing list.
There are 21 taped interviews with leading adult educators, including Mary Armstrong, Bradford Leland, Mary Louise Collings, Wilbur Hallenbeck, Andrew Hendrickson, and Howard McCluskey. The discussions touch on formative education experiences, the educators' philosophies of living, and their beliefs concerning current trends in adult education in the United States.
Early in his career, Knowles held administrative positions with the National Youth Administration of Massachusetts, and with YMCAs in Boston, Detroit, and Chicago. From 1951 to 1959 he was executive director of the AEA. He helped establish the CPEA, and from 1960 to 1974 he was professor of education at Boston University. From 1974 to 1979 he was professor of adult and community education at North Carolina State University in Raleigh.
This collection includes Knowles' own papers and papers from various individuals, associations, organizations, and corporations with which he was affiliated in his long career, including AEA, AAACE, ALA, CPAE, NUEA, UNESCO, YMCA, Boston University, General Electric, Girl Scouts of America, Ontario Institute for Studies in Education, George Aker, Cyril Houle, Alan Knox, Imogene Okes, and Betty Wiser. The correspondence is extensive, touching most major figures in the field, and it is rich with Knowles' ideas on education.
Jean Kordalewski's focus was on connecting people with educational information and services, and widening their options through education, career and job counseling. She was a consultant for and later the first executive director of the Regional Learning Service (RLS), which today (2006) is the RLS Career Center and which provides assistance and information to adults wishing to find, change or improve their employment. She also worked on various projects aiming to recognize non-traditional learning such as the External High School Diploma program and the External Degree Program. The collection includes Correspondence, conference material, proposals, reports.
William Langner was only 18 when a car accident left him a paraplegic confined to a wheelchair. Despite this he travelled the world, ran a tutoring service and school, and worked for the Department of Education's Division of Adult Education and Literacy for many years. He was particularly interested in the education of disabled adults.
A. A. Liveright was director of CSLEA from 1956 until its dissolution in 1968. From 1967 to 1969 he was also an associate professor of adult education at Syracuse University. Liveright was involved in a wide range of adult education issues and programs. He was a leader in such international organizations as the ICUAE.
See also: AUEC, CSLEA, CPAE, ERIC, FAE, ICUAE, NUEA, Galaxy Conference, A. Charters, Sheats.
Robert A. Luke was Chair of the Community Organization Committee of the American Association for Adult Education (AAAE), Associate Executive Secretary of the Department of Adult Education of the National Education Association (NEA), and a member of the joint committee that in 1950 laid out the structure for what would become the Adult Education Association of the United States (AEA/USA). From 1964 to 1975, Dr. Luke served as International Secretary of the Adult Education Committee of the World Confederation of Organizations of the Teaching Profession. He was member (1984-1986) and then Chair (1986-1988) of the AAACE Publications Standing Service Unit.
In 1987, the AAACE awarded him its Outstanding Service Medallion and in 1988 he received the AAACE President's Award for his exceptional leadership in adult and continuing education. He was inducted into the International Adult and Continuing Education Hall of Fame in 2000.
His papers consist primarily of his writings - articles, speeches, newsletters, workshop outlines, books, and monographs. Included in the collection are the drafts of his The NEA and Adult Education: A Historical Review 1921-1972.
Founded in 1952 to provide leadership for the development of adult education in public schools, NAPSAE was a department of the NEA. It assisted local adult education directors in developing and improving their programs.
There are three sections to the papers: States Projects, Workshops, and Other NEA Affiliates, the latter primarily being the American Association of School Administrators (AASA) and the American Labor Education Service (ALES). NAPSAE is now known as National Association of Public and Continuing Educators (NAPCAE).
The NUEA, founded in 1915, is an organization of universities and colleges engaged in extension programs. Since moving to Washington, D.C. in the late 1960s, it has become known as the National University Continuing Education Association (NUCEA). Its purpose is developing and advancing ideals, methods, and standards in continuing education. Fifteen boxes of the papers deal with the Project Head Start Training Program, which was funded by the Office of Education and directed by the Association (1965-66).
John Niemi spent more than fifty years in the field of adult education, most of it at Northern Illinois University (NIU). His early experience teaching functionally illiterate Army enlistees in Alaska began a lifelong interest in adult education for military personnel, and led to a 25-year partnership between NIU and the Great Lakes Naval Training Center. He was a constant advocate and inspiration to students, and was recognized numerous times for his deep dedication to both the field of adult education and the individual students whom he encountered over his career.
Parkinson was a member of the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Extension and director of the Milwaukee Teachers College. He served many posts as board member and officer of AUEC. He was instrumental in bringing ETV to Milwaukee, and was vice president of the Midwest ETV Association.
This is a collection of Parkinson's speeches, such as "The Role of the Evening College in Community Education."
At the University of Cincinnati, Reed was assistant professor in the Evening College and director of Informal Programs. From 1960 he was dean of the School of Continuing Professional Studies at the Pratt Institute. He was also editor of "Who's Who in the AUEC."
The collection contains much primary material on the origins and history of the AUEC, along with some on the NUEA and the CSLEA for the years 1955 to 1962. It also contains course materials dating from Reed's years at the University of Chicago. There are published reprints, news clippings, extensive typed excerpts, dittos, photocopies, and Reed's own notes.
See also: AUEC, CSLEA, Parkinson.
In the 1940s Sharer was chief of a division of the Michigan Department of Experimental Adult Education. Later he was director of the Office of Adult Education Programs in Continuing Education and director of the Evening College at Michigan State University. From 1968 to 1970 he was executive director of the AEA. Among his several other posts, he was vice president of the NEA. These papers derive from Michigan State adult education programs and some other writings.
After a long career in education, Sheats joined the University of California as associate director of extension in 1946, and in 1958 was named dean of extension. He was president of both the NEA and the AEA. He served as University Extension representative on the executive committee of the National Association of State Universities and Land-Grant Colleges. For six years he served on UNESCO's National Commission.
The Sheats papers are particularly strong in the periods immediately preceding and during World War II. There are extensive notes on a visit to Nazi Germany, as well as correspondence between Sheats and Dr. Theodor Wilhelm, director of the Institute of International Education there. Sheats later helped develop public forums designed to foster greater civic awareness throughout the country.
Per Stensland was a native of Sweden, where he studied with Gunnar Myrdal and Dag Hammerskjold. He was on the faculty of several United States institutions, including Kansas State University, Texas Technological College, New York University, and Hunter College. He consulted for the World Health Organization, the World Bank, and the Kellogg Foundation, among others. His areas of interest and expertise were community medicine, community development, educational sociology, nursing education, and teaching strategies.
David W. Stewart is a consultant, columnist and author, university instructor, policy analyst, workshop leader, and public speaker in adult education. He was Director of Program Development at the Center for Adult Learning and Educational Credentials at the American Council on Education and President of the Coalition of Adult Education Organizations (CAEO) in 1988-1989. He is widely published and the recipient of the Imogene Okes Award for Outstanding Research in Adult Education in 1987 and the Philip Frandson Award for Literature in 1988. He is the principal author of the "Bill of Rights for the Adult Learner" and "Guidelines for Developing and Implementing a Code of Ethics for Adult Educators," and the author of Adult Learning in America: Eduard Lindeman and His Agenda for Lifelong Education.
The bulk of the collection consists of Stewart's voluminous notes and research materials for his book on Eduard Lindeman, a pioneering adult educator and social philosopher.
Syracuse University Publications in Continuing Education (SUPCE) was founded in 1969 under a five-year grant from the Ford Foundation, to help meet the demand for quality studies in the field of higher adult education and to ensure the continued availability, distribution, and servicing of materials developed by the American Foundation for Continuing Education and the Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults, both former grantees of the Ford Foundation's Fund for Adult Education. In addition, University College of Syracuse University had published a series of "blue books" in the field; the Library of Continuing Education developed publications in the 1960s; ERIC initiated documents, which the University had published alone or in cooperation with other institutions. All these were collected under the general rubric of SUPCE.
As of 2003, current SUPCE publications were housed within the regular library system at Syracuse University and were under the auspices of the Academic Institute for Educators of Adults (AIEA) within the school of education.
The collection contains some drafts of books and anthologies, but the bulk consists of material published or collected by SUPCE. Publications include Essays on the Future of Continuing Education (1970) developed by the International Seminar on Adult Education; the "Essays and Notes" and "Occasional Papers" series (CSLEA); "Readings for Peace Corps Trainees" nos. 1-10 and "Science and Public Policy" Parts 1-6 (American Foundation for Continuing Education works); and miscellaneous publications by notable adult educators including Alexander N. Charters, Cyril O. Houle, J. Roby Kidd, A.A. Liveright, John Ohliger, James B. Whipple, et al. The collection also includes administrative and correspondence files for both SUPCE and SUREA (Syracuse University Resources for Educators of Adults).
Thompson has been successively director of the Evening Liberal Arts Program, assistant dean, and later dean of University College at Northwestern University. He has served on the board of AUEC and was president from 1969 to 1970. He also served as president of the CAEO. These papers concern the regional and national affairs of the AUEC from 1966 to 1972.
Thompson was associated with the Department of Journalism at the University of Minnesota and served as dean of the General Extension Division and Summer Sessions.
These papers concern the Wingspread Conference and the Galaxy Conference. They include papers from the Central Planning Group, the Advisory Committee, and the Public Relations Committee.
See also: AEA, CAEO, NUEA, Galaxy Conference, A. Charters.
The University Council on Education for Public Responsibility (UCEPR) was founded in 1961 by the presidents of eleven institutions to facilitate inter-university cooperation in promoting more responsible citizenship. Records include correspondence (Henry G. Alter, Alexander Charters, Granville Davis, C. Fletcher Scott, A.A. Liveright, and Carl Tjerandsen); organization records including bylaws, financial reports, lists of officers, meeting papers, minutes, and notes; and records of various projects undertaken by the organization, including urbanization, automation, and leadership programs at universities.
Verner was professor of adult education at Florida State University from 1953 to 1961. Later he taught as a professor at the University of British Columbia.
This collection contains a wide variety of correspondence involving FSU, Washington State University, UBC, the Canadian Association for Adult Education, and the ICUE.
Whipple was assistant and then associate director of the CSLEA from 1953 until it ended in 1968. At that time he joined with Peter E. Siegle and Freda H. Goldman to form the consulting partnership New Directions for Education, which lasted until 1973. In that role he became involved in major planning projects for higher education, including state plans for Massachusetts and Rhode Island.
See also: CSLEA, NUEA.
|
|
|
|
|
|